We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok, Morning reception staff terrible.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH Geneva Airport

Save Saved
You added NH Geneva Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Geneva Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Ave de Mategnin, Meyrin, Geneva 1217, Switzerland (Formerly Movenpick / Tulip Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Meyrin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel ok, Morning reception staff terrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent one night here on 09/12/12. Check in was fast and trouble free. Had a late dinner in the restaurant which was plesent. A special mention to the waiter who was friendly and efficient and made us feel welcome.
Room was basic but comfortable however as previously mentioned noisy in the morning when the flights begin landing.

My main comlaint with this hotel was the two reception staff present the morning I checked out. While awaiting a friend i sat in the reception area on my computer. I inadvertently let my passport fall from my pocket onto the chair. I then proceeded to the airport where I realised I had lost my passport. I immediately retraced my steps and having checked everywhere else I concluded it could oly be in the hotel. I immediately called the hotel reception ad described to the receptionist where I had been sitting and asked her to look stressing that I was rushing for flight. She put me on hold and returned saying she had checked all over the reception area and found nothing but if she found it would send it to me. I called agai twice to ask her to double check and she proceeded to become surly on the phone

I then decided to get a taxi back to look for myself. Within 10 seconds of entering the reception area I had spotted the passport sitting in the same place it had fallen from my pocket. It was in no way concealed. It was sitting in plain sight in the chair. All i could conclude was that the reception staff had lied about looking for the passport because if they had they would have found it immediately. This would have saved me innumerable amounts of stress and anxiety but instead they lied.

I understand that it is my fault for losing the passport in the first instance however the terrible reception staff where worse than no help. If i hadn't of taken the chance to return to the hotel I would have missed my flight and been stuck in geneva.

I welcome comment from a member of staff from the hotel should they dispute this.

For the record I was resident in the hotel for 1night in room 408 on 09/12/12.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    136
    99
    21
    19
See reviews for
33
78
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Was there for a 3 night business trip. Hotel is a hop from the airport with a free shuttle service. It's also a 10 min walk away from the tpg station ( public transport system that includes buses, trams and trolley buses covering literally all of the city). Breakfast buffet is nice, rooms have the basic stuff expected from a 4 star hotel- shower cabins need to be widened though!...also, the bathroom amenities aren't that great.

The major set-back are the beds.....terrible sleep quality....beds are 2 separate beds pushed together to form a king bed. Cool ! noooooooooo , they move! and I mean move every time you left your arm or leg ! mattresses are hard and pillows are very thin that I had to use 3.....to sum it.....worst sleeping quality I've ever encountered in a hotel ever!.

What made me like the whole experience despite the other drawbacks was the excellent service by the staff...they surpassed my expectations by far. They always did their utmost best to satisfy my demands up to the point that the reception lady had to fix the public reception printer by herself and made multiple runs back and forth to amend the problem. Their attitude was so friendly and welcoming and made my stay pleasurable at all times......I will definitely come back again when in Geneva just because of the friendly attitude of the staff there ( despite the low quality beds).

Overall, not a bad choice, good value and practical.....

Room Tip: if you like your quietness, choose a room with a window overlooking the central garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Many of the other reviews capture the sense of the hotel accurately - the positives are a friendly team at reception and in the restaurant/bar and the hotel is close to the airport, well connected by travel links and offers a frequent shuttle bus free of charge. The reception is littered with upsell opportunities - better rooms, breakfast etc. Wifi was available in my room but only because it was close enough to reception to pick up on the public service and they offered a voucher to extend coverage beyond the free period at no charge. The room was Ok - frustrating to have to ask for an iron to prepare a shirt though. My main gripe was the lack of sound insulation when flights started to arrive into Geneva airport in the morning.

There was nothing really bad about the hotel but at the same time it isn't somewhere I plan to rush back to try again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a few days on business, had a twin room which was very modern and spacious.
The bathroom was a fair size, following a few reviews on here I thought that it might be small but was just right.
If you like, you can have a housecoat from reception and also a handle to open the window in the room.
The hotel is a circle, with rooms either internal looking over the restaurant or external. If you like the airport, ask for a third floor room with views of the runway, or if you want quiet then stay on the 1st floor.
There is free wifi in the public areas which is fine, the bar and restaurant are downstairs and ok, but very expensive - a burger and chips was 32CHF and a beer about 9CHF.
Breakfast is a buffet, with some hot food but not the best sausage or bacon.
There is also a complimentary shuttle to the airport - about an 8 minute drive. This starts at 5am so should be ok for most flights

Room Tip: ask for a first floor for peace and quiet - or third floor for views of the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice hotel close to the airport. The shuttle pick up is regular and takes 10 mins. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful directing us into the town, a tram stop is an easy walk away. The tram runs straight into Geneva old town and takes about 20mins. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. WiFi is only free in the public areas which is not so good but served it's purpose well. Breakfast was no more expensive than a terrible hotel we stayed at near Gatwick, £15pp upwards seems to be the norm now. Not good value in my book which is why we don't bother, we use the airport lounges instead. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This time I stayed in NH hotel - Geneva Airport. I booked standard room. Generally speeking it is good hotel, close tram station, close airpoort with free shuttle, moving each 20 min. Hotel is clean, hotels staff very kindly and helpful (exept driver).
But WiFi is free only in public spaces, not in the rooms. Breakfast is expensive, other meal also, I decide not take it. On airport you have good choice, and cheaper food. Advance is in-room safe, bathroom have enough spaces, but shower cabin is very small. And at least, for smoker good news- hotel have smoking rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get room on 2th floor, you can maybe cach free wifi from loby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

You walk in,reception is very poor,lack of hospitality ,try to sell to upgrade room by paying CHF 30,breakfast is expensive.Asked for local yellow pages,receptionist said they have not got it,asked another guy from restaurant,then we get it.Wi Fi is allowed for one hour near lobby

Room Tip: Pay extra chf 30 to get double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Geneva Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Geneva Airport

Address: 21 Ave de Mategnin, Meyrin, Geneva 1217, Switzerland (Formerly Movenpick / Tulip Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Meyrin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Meyrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Geneva Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Business Hotel located near suburban corporate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your NH Geneva Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Geneva Airport Hotel Geneva
Nh Hotel Geneva
Nh Hotels Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Geneva Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.