We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NH Geneva - Geneva - Honest FACTUAL review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Geneva Airport

Save Saved
You added NH Geneva Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Geneva Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Ave de Mategnin, Meyrin, Geneva 1217, Switzerland (Formerly Movenpick / Tulip Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Meyrin
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“NH Geneva - Geneva - Honest FACTUAL review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hello everyone.

If you have read any of my reviews you will know that i am a logical, factual sort of bloke and my reviews should be read literally.

Stopped July 2012

First off let me put this (as i always do) into context. Geneva is the most expensive city in the world, fact! If you can afford to stop in the city centre in a " nice 4* " hotel then congratulations, you have clearly done well in life ;-)

We went there for one reason which was for me to visit CERN. this hotel was halfway between the city centre and CERN, so that would be 10 mins tube ride to the city or 10 mins tube to CERN both in absolute opposite directions (number 14 train).

Good points:

1, the hotel is extremely clean, and i mean clean, not a single mark anywhere, the cleaners came every day (approx 11am) and the room was cleaned to high calibre each time.

2, The receptionist (s) speak perfect English (all of them,i spoke to which was at least 4 different people while there)

3, Free WiFi in the lobby area (costs money in your room) try and get the first floor as this may still be in reach.

4, Great room, spacious, excellent shower, good facilities inc tea & coffee, table, ethernet, TV only found one English channel though ((others available for extra money))

5, 3-4 min walk from the train stop that takes you directly into town.

Bad points;

1, Ok, and this is a pretty big one, its only about 2 miles (as the crow flies) from the Airport (hence the name of the hotel). Now this does mean that you can hear the planes taking off. for me this was not a problem, i sleep through anything. For my Mrs, she is a pretty light sleeper and she also did NOT wake up because of this, but you can hear them so be warned, if you wake up to a pin drop then this not the hotel for you.

2, Location.......perhaps you would like to be a little closer to town, Well this will seriously increase the cost of your holiday/trip and to be honest i wouldn't bother, as said, the train stop is 3-4 mins away and the trains are every 10 mins and they are like clockwork, never late by evern a few seconds, you can set your watch by them. AND THEY ARE FREE!! the hotel provide you with free travel cards, so not only can you get to town, you can use them to get all over (which we did, including the boat taxis they have).

3, The mini bar in your room prices itself out of reality, no one should pay £3 for a can of coke!

COSTS & Tips

Hold on to your hats!

McDonald's meal - England £4 Geneva £12
Pint England £3 Geneva £7
Cocktail England £6 Geneva £9
Coffee England £2 Geneva £5
Ice Cream England £1.5 Geneva £3
Fridge Magnets England £1 for 3 Geneva £20 for 3 (wow!)

We had a meal out in town (lasagne, calzone pizza, 2 glasses of wine) £85! the restaurant was what i would call reasonably posh, but by no means Michelin star.

Seriously, everything is expensive, to the point i had to Google their average salary as i couldn't believe that people could afford to live here, it turns up that they also have just about the highest salaries in the world too, and the best quality of life too, so they must be doing something right!

You will be charged 24 CHF (Swiss Francs) city tax on departure of the hotel (this happens at every hotel not just this one).

All in all this is an excellent hotel, and can only be faulted by the close proximity to the airport (however this does have its obvious advantages too ((no massive transfers after your holiday has finished)) which you actually get a free shuttle bus which leaves every 20 mins from the hotel and vice versa).

The people of Geneva are very polite, very courtious, things like road rage and not stopping to let someone cross the road do not happen here, we could learn from them!

Anyway. I hope that you found this useful for your trip :-)

Room Tip: First floor, you may be able to still pick up the free WiFi in the lobby area ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    134
    99
    20
    19
See reviews for
33
77
32
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a great little hotel to spend a night arriving or leaving Geneva/Switzerland. Train goes right to airport and free shuttle picks you up from arrivals area to hotel. Tram is only 5 minute walk from hotel to take you into town. Hotel gave us a free 24 hr pass for public transport in Geneva which was excellent and also gave us great map and directions and help before we set off to explore. Rooms smallish and a little dated but perfectly adequate, quiet and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was a late booking as all the hotels near my head office were full. But that said, it was clean, quiet, good breakfast (in a rather souless room) and not over-priced.Qucik check in and check. Would stay again if I had too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I am not convinced this hotel realises that people staying in an airport hotel are often looking for different things, compared to when they are staying in other hotels.

They are often tired,hungry, want to rest, and often arrive/depart early or late, depending upon their flights.

What they are NOT looking for is;

1. Waiting an age for the shuttle to turn up to collect them upon arrival at the airport
2. Having all food service cease at 11pm, and having to plead for some food after arriving on a late flight
3. Having windows that don't close properly (especially when jets start landing at 6am).

I gave this hotel 3 stars out of 5 - but would have given 2.5 if you I could have ....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans, Valais, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

NH is a good hotel if you are looking for an airport hotel but pricey for what you get. The rooms are of average design but very clean. I only stayed there with a friend for one night because we needed a place after celebrating the Swiss national day in Geneva. Since all hotels in the city center are overpriced it is a good solution for the not so wealthy student population. You will need a car or taxi though because no public transportation stops near the hotel. But I recommend it for people needing a hotel located near the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Clean functional but rather dated with expensive WIFI that not possible to add as a room charge on the night of my stay. I was fortunate to get a mini suite which was well appointed and comfortable but aircraft noise was loud although flights stop early. However rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful in trying to resolve wifi problems. Food was good with fast service

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Its well connected to the Airport. Within the city center. Convenient for traveling as located close to the business area. The rooms are big, well maintained and clean. I have stayed in for two nights, in this hotel, in June 2012. It was a very pleasant stay and accommodation. First of all the receptionist on duty in this afternoon was very carefully to accommodate us quickly. Quality of the room and toilet was above other similar four stars hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Geneva Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Geneva Airport

Address: 21 Ave de Mategnin, Meyrin, Geneva 1217, Switzerland (Formerly Movenpick / Tulip Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Meyrin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Meyrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Geneva Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Business Hotel located near suburban corporate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH Geneva Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Geneva Airport Hotel Geneva
Nh Hotel Geneva
Nh Hotels Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Geneva Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.