We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy hotel with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, Route de Pre-Bois, Meyrin, Geneva 1215, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Meyrin
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“handy hotel with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We used the Movenpick for a trip to the Motorshow for which the location and shuttle bus service were great. The rooms were smart, clean and well presented but you can't get away from the fact that it is close to the airport in terms of noise. While the shuttle bus service was very handy, it did feel at times as though one was hanging around waiting for it quite a bit.

Our only surprise was the average quality of the main restaurant (we had to send two meals back) and the high price for the breakfast buffet (CHF35 per person).

Overall very handy location, good service and highy quality rooms, price and some aspects of service take the edge off.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Nick C.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments further to your stay with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva.

I was sorry to read your comment relative to the bad experience in our restaurant and rest assured that this will be discussed with the kitchen team

Thanking you again for your feedback

YOur Sincerely

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    209
    82
    30
    12
See reviews for
59
88
46
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Upon arrival at Geneva airport, we made for the hotel shuttle bus exit doors, where unfortunately we waited for a good 5/10 minutes for Movenpicks dedicated shuttle bus to arrive. The shuttle runs every 20 mins which can feel lengthy, when standing around. When it arrived, the driver was very smartly dressed and helped guests with putting their luggage into the dedicated trailer attached to the bus. The hotel is a very short trip around 2-3 minutes from the airport itself.
As soon as you walk into the hotel, via the red carpet and large turning rotating doors, you can't help but feel a sense of luxury. The reception area is huge and there's no missing the grand staircases and chandellier in front of you as you enter. The attention to detail through out the hotel is top notch, cleanliness is very impressive also, everything looks and feels new.
Staff were again all smartly dressed and conscious of waiting guests at check in. We were extremely impressed as we had our room upgraded at no extra cost due to wanting 2 separate beds, instead of 1, that we'd mistakingly booked online. We were also offered Wifi, which we took up, due to it being free (unlike many hotels that charge).
It's worth noting here that I'd already had the room rate reduced, as after pre-booking online (to gain discount) I discovered a big drop in online prices for the same room and length of stay to mine. I instantly emailed the hotel which kindly agreed to match the new current rate and throw in free buffet breakfasts for the 2 days we were there. Excellent customer service!!!
Myself and a friend were attending the Motor Show in Geneva, so the specially organised shuttle to the expo came in very handy. This runs separate to the airport shuttle and goes right to the front entrance of the Palexpo building. However on returning from the show a lot of guests had gathered for the shuttle bus and as a result not everyone could fit in, so had to wait for the next run.
We tried the Latitude restaurant for dinner on the first night, as the Japanese restaurant was full. There wasn't a lot of choice and we weren't overly impressed with the quality on offer, pretty expensive, but Geneva is in general, however the Movenpick ice cream is a MUST, very tasty indeed. Until coming home to England, we weren't aware that one of the mentioned restaurants was actually in the building next door, shame it's not mentioned in any leaflets in the room.
There were no complaints with the room at all, even had a handy electronic safe to use, as well as speakers in the bathroom linked up to the TV. If I had to pick one negative it would be the lack of effectiveness of the air con and the fact there's no remote control for it, but that's only a minimal niggle. We used room service once which was hassle free and speedy. A security touch that impressed me, was having to use your room swipe card to activate the lift. Although I guess a random member of the public could hop into a lift that's been activated by a genuine guest.
We visited the casino located underground, which felt alive with atmosphere (also featured show girls performing around the floor) and was pretty busy.
The buffet breakfast was full of choice, couldn't ask for more. However I don't think I would have spent the money on booking it, as it's too pricey.
The second night we took the tram (free when you ask for a travel card upon check in to the hotel) into Geneva and ate in one of the many local restaurants dotted around the old town of Geneva, this was a better bet. Again prices are high, but you never feel short changed, portions and quality of most restaurants and cafés are top notch. The tram stop is located about a 5 minute walk from the Movenpick Hotel.
We frequented the drinks bar at the hotel both nights. The atmosphere was very chilled and calm, with a fantastic singing pianist accompanied by a female vocalist and trumpet player. They were really good to listen to, my only complaint being there didn't seem to be enough of a main seating area, to enjoy the music.
Would definitely stay here again and try the other restaurant located next door and maybe even book the Japanese restaurant to try out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear TP_ 882014,

Many thank for taking the time to post your very detailed feedback further to your stay with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva. Your comments are a true encouragement for the whole team here; espacially they are very detailed and praising our services.

As you mention, I hope you will have time to taste our Japanese restaurant upon your stay with us

Thanking you again and looking forward to welcoming you back

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The AirPort shuttle was quick and efficient.
The problem started at check-in. They asked for a credit card, this is alright, but they did charge the credit card in advance so it got blocked. This caused me a lot of problems, telephone calls etc. When entered the room there were was not a cover on the bed, just sheets. When complaining they just said it was their standard! So it wasn't possible to lie down om the bed with your clothes on. There where broschures, wash bag, flyers, and all sort of stuff lying on every surface in the room, couldn't put my things down, had to clean off the entire room from all of it. Complained that the carpet was dirty, but they did never clean it. Breakfast was ok, but took unnecciarily long time, first stand in line to give out your room number, then there where no coffee, this was later served manually at the tables, completely wrong, want to fetch my own coffee in the morning, goes much quicker. Then wanted to see a friend om another floor, but could not get there by elevator. The access through my card didn't work, at reception they could not fix, something with policy. I don't care! I want to see take the elevator to another floor. Payed CHF 245/night for this untidy and poor service hotel. Will never go here again. Choose another hotel

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Freddan 1,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback further to your stay with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva.

Obviously we did not do well durig your stay and I feel sorry for that; your comments on poor check in experience, room cleanliness, service in the restaurant for breakfast are true concerns for me and the team and rest assured that they are discussed.

we hope you would however give us another chance to serve you so can redeem ourselves; to that extent let us know in advance when ou come back to Geneva

Kind Regards

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very good business hotell next to Geneva Airport. Spacious, modern, and clean rooms with good standard. Shuttle takes 5 min to the Airport. Friendly and very helpful staff when checking in. Free wifi. Ok bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Anton SK,

Many thanks for taking the ime to post your comments further to your saty with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva.

I was to happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your comments are shared with the team

Looking forward to welcoming you back

YOur Sincerely

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

A three night stay at the Moevenpick for a small conference meeting was just perfect. Accommodation was spotless, spacious and comfortable. Food - from the breakfast buffet to the decadent catering - was delicious. Service was infallibly charming. In terms of conference organization, the service was impeccable with an exceptionally high level of attention to detail, support and anticipation of all possible needs and requirements. I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comment further to your stay with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva.

It is always a pleasure to read that our clients are happy with the servce we are providing and rest assured that this is shared with the team

Kind Regards

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I spent 3 nites here and loved the food, and the friendliness of the staff. Everyone was so polite and kind. The rooms are nice and the bedding is very lovely. Also I had free wi fi with great connectivity. The only problem I had was a very strange musty/sulpherous odor in the bathroom. I could not get rid of the smell and could not determine where it was coming from (shower? toilet? sink?) I asked the maid to reclean the bathroom with bleach but this did not remove the odor. I had to keep the bathroom door shut all the time. I informed the front desk about the matter.
Don't let this deter you from staying here, i am sure it was just an odd event. The hotel is really nice and I would stay here again without a doubt. PS-- also love the free airport shuttle.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the airport so you can see the Alps. there is NO noise from the airport. very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,

Many thanks fro taking the time to post your comments further to your stay with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva. I was happy to read that in general you enjoyed your stay with us. I was however sorry to read your comment relative to the odor in your bedroom and rest assured that thid will be shared with the housekeeping team

Lookig forward to welcoming you back

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Love the comfortable bed and wonderful pillows. Staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel has everything a business traveler needs. The only slight negative I could find was that wifi was running a little slowly.

Loved it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Rebecca S,

MAny thanks for taking the time to post your comments further to your stay with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva. Your feddback is a true encouragement for us to continue to provide the level of service our guests enjoy. I have also taken good note of your comment on the internet

Thanking you again

Nicolas Meyylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva

Address: 20, Route de Pre-Bois, Meyrin, Geneva 1215, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Meyrin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Meyrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Geneva in the French part of Switzerland , close to the airport and Palexpo, the 5 stars upscale moevenpick hotel and casino Geneva has recently renovated his 350 Privilege bedrooms. Offering a Japanese and an international restaurant, bars, a large conference centre for seminars and congress and an in-building parking, this hotel is ideal for business as well as for leisure, with attractive prices and packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Casino Geneva
Geneva Moevenpick Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.