We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Honegg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Honegg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Honegg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Honegg, Ennetbuergen 6373, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ennetbuergen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Only superlatives for this hotel with a privileged position overlooking the Lac de 4 Cantons. Superior services always with a smile. High quality equipment in rooms, spa and gym. Spotless. The restaurant has a short menu list - as it should be - and the food is exquisite. Extensive wine menu.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
86
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just came back from a road trip around swiss and French alps also went along the great St. Bernard pass. Wile in Switzerland i stayed in the villa honegg which is absolutely amazing we had alpine view but as the weather was foggy we didn't really get to see the view in the day time but once the clouds had cleared of a night the views were amazing. Staff speak really good english and couldn't be more helpful the hotel has a real luxurious feel to it the rooms are finished to a high standard ours having a large balcony was peaceful to sit outside an listen to the soothing noise from the near by cows wearing their famous swiss bells. Their are also hated floors in the bathroom. The Breakfast menu has variety of choices and is really nice. The spa was amazing having a good size sauna an steam room also a ice bath and large shower area.

The real reason for visiting this hotel was for its outdoor pool overlooking lake lucerne. Having received e mail from trip adviser about two weeks ago with the ten best hotel pools as the title i quickly looked through the e mail with one pool really catching my eye it was a pool overlooking a lake surrounded by alps it looked spectacular i just wanted to jump in the photograph having looked at the hotel in more depth i realised it was it was in Switzerland and having always wanted to visit the swiss alps an take in the scenery, breath in the freshest Alpine air, sample the famous swiss chocolate, taste the freshest milk from the milking cows and having received Trip advisers e mail had really give me the inspiration to want to be at this secluded beautiful place so I decided right their and then that I would plan a trip an stay in hotel villa honegg i am so happy I did and less than a week later I was relaxing in The pool and it lived up to every expectation from the pictures it was a real experience being in a heated pool 800meters above sea level looking over lake lucerne and the surrounding alps breathing in the crisp air with picture perfect scenery.
But for us it was the little finishing touches that made big difference and set villa honegg apart from other hotels. For instance Everyday their would be fresh Alpine chocolates left in the room, binoculars are provided in each room wich I thought was good idea, the hotel provides really thick fax coats for guests to wear wile wondering around the building which I thought was a great idea, also the hotel has approximately 10 electric bikes for guests to use an get a more outdoor feel and exercise at the same time and if your legs need a rest you simply switch to electric power mode. I feel the little touches combined with really helpful staff and amazing location make villa honegg a must place to for any one thinking of visiting Switzerland or even just looking for a really special retreat this place will not fail to amaze you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel newly renovated. Excellent service by staff. Setting is beautiful. A vigorous hike to Newendschwandt Lift. Within 15 minutes of Lucerne. Park at the train station then walk to shops and restaurants in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The position of the Villa Honegg is worth a visit in its own right - more than 800 metres (2600 feet) above sea level with an outstanding panorama over Luke Lucerne and the alps. The villa hotel has been in existence since 1905 and, most recently, given a massive rejuvenation and upgrade by a wealthy Qatari investor. Luxury (with a light Arabian touch and taste) is everywhere - from the plush fixtures and fittings to a wellness area (open 6 am to 10 pm) which features an infinity outdoor pool heated to 34°C (93 °F), seemingly suspended between heaven and earth and featuring massage gadgetry that leaves nothing to the imagination. The hotel restaurant features a light cuisine with an Arabian (Lebanese) accent and, a welcome innovation for people sleeping in, serves breakfast until 2pm. The hotel staff enforce the hotel's rejuvenation with a genuinely welcoming, youthful team that seems equal to (and even relishes) a challenge.
Why not the maximum rating? The bedrooms are relatively small (25 - 36 square metres) for the price and, although the wellness area is fully equipped (fitness room, sauna, steam bath, massage facilities, indoor and outdoor pools), neither of the pools permit real swimming - the indoor pool is too small and the in-built gadgetry of the outdoor pool is an exercise handicap. The dog surcharge (40 Swiss Francs per night with zero canine services/ goodies) is also unrealistic.
One word of advice: our in-car navigation system took us to a private, back road to the hotel which almost caused an altercation with a (very) local Swiss. The hassle-free route is via the town of Ennetbürgen (after Stans) from where the hotel is signposted. Viator/Canis Coloniae

Room Tip: Choose the lake view - you'll dream better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just came back from a two week trip with the family to Switzerland and out of the many 4 & 5 star hotels we had the pleasure of enjoying, this was the best. Location is exceptional, rooms are delicately decorated, food is very good and most importantly service was the best I have ever experienced anywhere. Nothing was too much for the amazing staff in the hotel who have done their best to make our four nights stay with our children most enjoyable. We will definitely return, please keep up the great work!..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Where to start? Villa Honnegg is to become our favourite hotel. Outstanding location overlooking the lake and mountains, fantastic restaurant, beautiful pool and gorgeous bedrooms, as well an outstanding personnel, from reception to the restaurant. We very much appreciated being able to have breakfast until 2 pm. It was like being in paradise for two days and we very much regretted having to leave. Definitively, a little jewel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in Villa Honegg with our 9 months old baby last week, for 2 nights. Already having read the raving reviews here, we thoughts the only disadvantage of the place might be that it would disappoint. But it did not. From the moment we arrived and we greeted till the moment we departed after 2 nights, we enjoyed every minute. From the great views (yes, the views are as great as the website shows), to the convenience of the room and balcony, as well as the food, friendliness of the personnel.

Actually, we were a bit worried to stay in a hotel with our 9 months old daughter, who occassionally can produce singificant volume, but Honegg did everything to make our stay comfortable. Baby cot in the room, vacuum diaper disposal and small gifts for the little one.

Breakfast...loved it!

Yes, not inexpensive this locdation, but one needs to enjoy now, and we definately feel it is worth it.

Till next time!

Best, Erik

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Honegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Honegg

Address: Honegg, Ennetbuergen 6373, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Unterwalden > Nidwalden > Ennetbuergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ennetbuergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Honegg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Honegg is a unique superior establishment in the heart of Switzerland. This long-established hotel was built in 1905 and reopened for business in May 2011 following a major refit. For its size, it is unique in Switzerland in terms of what it offers. As a haven of peace and privacy, it enjoys an incomparable setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Hotel Villa Honegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Honegg Switzerland/Ennetbuergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Honegg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.