We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star

Save Saved
You added The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   142 Main Street, Silver Star, British Columbia V1B 3M1, Canada (Formerly Putnam Station Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Silver Star B&B and Inns
Nelson, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This iwas mu 2nd time at this very funky little hotel very conveniently located in the heart of the Silver Star village with easy access to the lifts and conveneint parking. It has good sized rooms with King beds and full sized sofa. The rates are reasonable, the staff is friendly. The included breakfast is limited to cereal, yogurt, toast, coffe and juice, but everything else is avalaible for an extra charge. No elevator for those staying on second floor, but if you are skier that should not be a problem. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakebay, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The shower heads and the flat screens TV's are new. Our shower drain was very slow. We told the front desk on Friday & was not fixed when we left on Tuesday. The staff seemed to be acting as if we were putting them out by asking questions. This certainly is NOT the Marriott regarding service and cleanliness. We had to ask each day for our room to be cleaned. We were lucky to receive clean towels and our beds made! I would send this young staff to some customer service training!
We asked about the shopping shuttle to Vernon. We were giving the wring information but found that Guest Services on the mountain was very helpful. The pictures displayed on this website are not as they are actually. The beds are ok-Not great. The heat was turned off but was still a hot room.
Things we liked:
1.) Great location-Right on the ski area
2.) Free calls to the US & Canada
3.) Free simple breakfast/Coffee, toast, muffins & cereal (Home made breads)

I would think about other hotel options next trip!

Room Tip: Try to arrange for room #31-It's the only room that is 2 bedrooms, living room and a kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My experience at the Bulldog Hotel was a fantastic one. All there staff are very pleasent and helpful with a great knowledge of the mountain, As far as I'm concerned they have the BEST FOOD on the mountain, Everything on there menu is gourmet. They have an amazing breakfast buffet,You couldn't ask for a better location in the Village, the village market is right accross the way, everything is right outside the door. The view from the hot tub over looks the village which is awesome! My room was very clean and was everything I asked for.I was there on business and for a day of skiing and it was super fun and relaxing. I would highly recommend The Bulldog Hotel to anyone. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

On a whim, we decided to stay on Silver Star. By chance, the first and only call we made was to the Bulldog. Found it online... just don't let the lousy (mobile) website dissuade you.

Overall, it's a great place. Fun, colourful, right in the action. Ill be staying here again for sure.

And a quick shout out to Jason and Ryland for there hospitality. It's nice to see that economics doesn't trump great service.

Bulldog!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were impressed with the overall cleanliness and great location of the Bulldog. We arrived after the front desk staff had gone home for the day to find our room key and letter in an envelope on the reception counter.

Our bed was large, though a little sinky in the middle. The decor is strange at best, but for one night it was bearable. We'd definitely stay again. It sure beats the alternative we were considering--camping in the gravel parking lot at SilverStar!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I and three children aged 11, 13 & 15 had a good ski holiday early spring 2012. Price was right and location great. Didn't eat in the hotel this time as on a previous occasion the restaurant menue was limited and the portions too big for kids.

The hot tub was out of service all our days except the first one - this was a big downer.

Room Tip: This IS a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My friend and I spent the Canada Day weekend riding the bike park and stayed at the Bulldog. The manager Mike was very friendly and helpful, the room was great. Comfy beds, handy kitchenette and everything was very clean. The bike lock-up worked out great as well. We ate a couple of times at the Grand Cafe. Delicious food and friendly, prompt service. I'll go back to the Bulldog for sure.

Room Tip: We had a room at the very end but was woken up quite early with the people above me....not so bad co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star

Address: 142 Main Street, Silver Star, British Columbia V1B 3M1, Canada (Formerly Putnam Station Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Silver Star
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Silver Star
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bulldog Hotel (formerly known as Putnam Station) is located right in the center of Silver Star's Victorian inspired village, only steps away from all the wonderful amenities that Silver Star has to offer. The hotel offer a mix of accommodation options, including standard hotel rooms, kitchenettes and full suites. Our rooms have been recently renovated and are well suited for those looking for well priced basic accommodation that is both clean and cozy. The hotel has two onsite restaurants - The Bulldog Grand Cafe and Allora.. Wine & Tapas bar. A complimentary continental breakfast is included in your stay (winter only). Guests have access to free wireless internet and can enjoy our outdoor hot tub which overlooks the main village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.