We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sour Taste...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of FireLight Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver Star
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
FireLight Lodge
Save
You added FireLight Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   30 Monashee Road | Silver Star Mountain, Silver Star, British Columbia V1B 3M1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Silver Star B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penticton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sour Taste...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent a fabulous week at Silver Star and slept 6 nights in a quiet private accomodation. We travel every year to a different BC ski resort for our winter family holidays and Silver Star offered us by far the best experience to our entire family.

We decided to extend our stay by one night and book a two bedroom appartement at The Fire Light Lodge. It is a new accomodation at Silverstar located not far away from the village. It is not quite a ski in ski out hotel but it is still centrally located.

The room was very spacious, modern design with nice furniture and appliances. The room didn't have a hot tube but we used the communal hot tube. The hot tube was clean but it's design was less than perfect as too much of the upper body was exposed to the element when sitting in it.

Avoid a room with a view to the parking lot. We had a view on the pond and it offer a much better visual experience.

The bad:
Poor sleep experience. The mattress was not very comfortable and the pillows were too soft to offer any support. The curtains in the room didn't block enough the outside lights. Walls and ceiling have very poor sound insulation: we could hear the family above us talking and walking and that family was not doing any excessive behavior. We didn't have darkness in the room for the entire night. Finally the radio alarm in the kitchen went off around midnight...

The very sour taste:
When I mention that the radio went off in the middle of the night to the manager, he was unapologetic and told me that it was our fault if we didn't check the setting of our two alarms ( first time it ever happen to me that an alarm is set on when I checked in).
I also happen to use the iron supplied in my room. Within second of using it I saw a small amount of wax residued ruining an expensive shirt. My guess is someone previously use the iron to hot wax their skis!? I brought it promptly to the attention of an employee and went to discuss it with the manager. Richard is the first name of the manager and he told me that it wasn't the hotel responsibility if I made my shirt melt... He offered no apology and they were no room to negotiate a compensation. Sadly Richard lacked both in conflict management or chemistry knowledge.... as I am not sure how you can melt a cotton shirt into wax... Cotton can burn but not melt. Maybe alchemy can explain this phenomenon but I must admit my lack of knowledge in that field!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse C, Manager at FireLight Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your comments are certainly not common and we strive to provide great customer service. We are typically able to reach amicable solutions to most problems. I would be happy to discuss further with you directly if you wish. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silver Star Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We travelled to Canada for the first time in February 2013 and spent a week at Firelight lodge in Silverstar. Our adult daughter travelled with us and so we booked a 2 bedroom apartment which had 1 bathroom and a kitchen. The apartment was spacious and contained all the necessary requirements for a comfortable stay. The balcony did look straight into next door and so we rarely used this. The apartment was always very warm - in fact we had the bedroom window open the whole time despite the -11 temps. It did tend to get a bit warm during the night which affected sleep quality. The view from our apartment was just beautiful. My daughter and I are skiers but my husband is not. He worked in the apartment (which included free wifi) during the day. There was also a washer/dryer which meant you didn't have to transport so much clothing with us. The staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The communal hot tub was just below our apartment and this did tend to get a bit noisy, however it never went beyond 10 o clock.
The mountain itself is very family orientated. We found this a very relaxing experience (which is what we were seeking) rather than a place to go out partying. The skiing was great with a good variety of runs and people were friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
There are a number of eating outlets on the mountain which caters to a number of tastes - food is not michelin chef standard but we were not there for that anyway. A limited range of fresh food is available at the grocery shop but it does tend to be expensive. During the ski season there is a shopping bus that travels into Vernon twice per day (we did not have a car) and picks you up 2 hours later. This gave us a chance to grab some groceries to take back. The trip to Vernon is about 1/2 an hour, is pleasant and I would certainly recommend picking up supplies there (particularly fruit and veg) and using the local shop for necessities.
All in all, this was a lovely destination that caters for young and old alike. It is not the party hotspot that some people may be looking for but that suited us just fine - loutish behaviour was not really seen. People were friendly, helpful and well mannered. Next time I would probably seek an apartment away from the hot tub but all things considered I would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's birthday weekend and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We spent two nights in a one bedroom unit with a kitchen. Amenities in the room were excellent. We missed having a private hot tub, however. The shared hot tub downstairs was average--a bit too chemically for my taste, and often busy. My husband and I don't ski but we rented snowshoes and did some skating. The pubs and restaurants are excellent at Silver Star, as is the staff. We took a snowcat ride over to the back of the mountain to the hilltop restaurant and this was one of the highlights of our trip. There were alot of families on the mountain, as well as couples and large groups. Something for everyone and nice to get some sun after a winter of clouds at the valley bottom.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in January 2013 as part of a road trip along the Powder Highway. The Firelight Lodge is apparently the newest accommodation in Silver Star and it shows, with both the room and common areas looking spotless. We stayed in room 102B which was a studio with a massive bed, kitchenette (sink, fridge, coffee machine, kettle, toaster and microwave) and a bathroom with a shower over the bath.

No complaints at all, the service from the receptionist was very friendly, the room was great and the out door hot tub was excellent.

Couple of tips if you're a light sleeper (or suffering from jet lag as we were) are to unplug the fridge and to take the battery out of the clock on the wall. Neither are particularly loud, but we found that helped.

Location-wise, it's not in the centre of the village, being across a car park from the main area. However, it is by the tubing centre and ice rink which could be handy for some. The walk to the centre takes about 5mins.

Would definitely stay here again if we came back to Silver Star!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom unit at the Firelight. We simply could not have asked for more a great accommodation at Silverstar. The complex is right beside the ice skating rink, which affords an excellent opportunity to play hockey apres ski. We really enjoyed being able to ski in and ski out with ease.

While we were there a few of our friends stayed in other places on the mountain, and generally everyone enjoyed our spot the most. It is not located in the village center, however we were more interested in the proximity to the skating rink, which is outstanding. The mountain itself was awesome. I have skied numerous other locations, and although Silverstar may not be the largest mountain, the runs, staff, and snow make it a destination worth visiting.

Also, if you cross country ski, the ski in/ski out for the hotel also serves the extensive nordic trail network.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel definitely deserves more reviews, so I decided to write one :) We stayed in 1 bedroom suite for 10 nights over Xmas and New Year in 2011/2012. It's a great new hotel with nice facilities and friendly staff. We didn't get the room with private hot tub, but we used the communal one nearly every day and a lot of the time we were the only ones there. The only drawback is that the hotel is not located in the village centre and if you have small children that you want to take to the ski school you need to walk a bit. In normal shoes the walk probably only takes 2 mins, but in your ski boots could be more like 10 mins. However, you don't pay nearly as much here as in the village centre and also you're right next to the ice skating rink and tube town, so it's a personal preference really. We are going back to Silver Star again this year and will be staying in the village centre just to see what it’s like, but if we couldn’t get the accommodation of a similar standard there we would definitely stay at Firelight lodge again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for private hot tub, the communal one was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We love this place! Staff is so helpful, accommodating. First visited in 2010. Rented a 1 bedroom unit, living room, full bath, full kitchen - for me extremely important. Patio with private hut tub (optional) - extremely important for my husband after doing his own stunts on the mountain :) Patio is also equipped with BBQ.
This year we didn't make reservations, we just walked-in. They had a Bachelor unit available with hut tub, but unit was not clean at the time of our arrival. Front staff was very accommodating. Housekeeping staff agreed to stay behind to clean us the unit. Pots and pans were mostly clean and well kept, the only thing that was dirty/worn was the kettle. But so much better than other places we have stayed at in the past. This is one of the reasons we returned. Also, washer/dryer in our unit was not working, so we were given an empty unit's key so we could do our laundry while staying at the lodge. How nice!
We like it up there a lot. Like the other advisor said, it's like a tiny, tiny Whistler at Silver Star.
Tip: If you gonna cook for yourself up there, it's ideal to get your groceries at the bottom of the mountain as the little shop in the Village is horribly expensive. The employees are extremely nice and helpful though. The village is adorable, locals are friendly. More people should visit in the summer. My husband is not about to give up riding, so we are planning to go next year again. The place is worth every penny. Price is excellent!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FireLight Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FireLight Lodge

Address: 30 Monashee Road | Silver Star Mountain, Silver Star, British Columbia V1B 3M1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Silver Star
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Silver Star
Hotel Class:4 star — FireLight Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest resort property at Silver Star. Smartly decorated condos located right next to the fun at the skating pond and Tube Town Adventure Park. Also featuring a bowling alley and restaurant on the lower level of the hotel. This is a perfect base for access to the Silver Queen Chair. Underground parking available at an extra fee. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FireLight Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.