We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Aberdeen Hotel

Lord Aberdeen Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lord Aberdeen Hotel to your Saves list
Lord Aberdeen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   139 Main Street | Silver Star Mountain Resort, Silver Star, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Silver Star B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed here many times. Full apartment. Close to all amenities - several restaurants, grocery store, many ski retailer, chair lift, x-c ski trails - all within walking distance.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

The checkin staff are completely disengaged, they could care less if you stayed there or not. We booked three months in advanced, confirmed 48 hours before, a deposit was taken a month before and when we arrived we were told the room isn't ready but you checkin in yesterday?????

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

The experience at the Lord Aberdeen was OK. We arrived late so front desk left our key at the front desk and instructions to the room. Dont know whether it was because we were young but we had a big list of do nots and the prices we would be charged if they were. We had a one bedroom, with a bunk nook off the living and spa on the deck. The room was neat and well kept, a little dated and could of used with a paint touch up but we weren't there to hang out in the room! Like the previous review there was no basic amenities in the room for tea or coffee so it is best that you bring enough of your own stocked up for the trip.
We did however have to ring the night number at 10:30pm because the shower wouldn't work! We were told the next day by the old man on the front desk that it was not appropriate to ring at that time for something so trivial, where i responded that if they are going to have a completely different shower handle to anywhere else in Canada then maybe it was not so trivial and questioned the point of providing a night time number.
Overall the service wasn't great when we asked for information about the resort i.e. Lord Aberdeen or Silverstar.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We arrived at the Lord Aberdeen Hotel after flying from Honolulu to Vancouver and then Vancouver to Kolowna and then an hours trip on a mini bus. When we arrived it was -9 deg. and our apartment was like a fridge. Someone had left the bedroom window open and there was ice on the window sill. We had to ask the girl how to turn on the heating and it took quite a while to heat up. The kitchen area had no complimentary tea bags or milk -- nothing -- and a cup of tea would have made such a difference to how we felt. This would not cost much and would make a huge difference. It would have been nice if management had made sure our room was heated before our arrival.

There is a small grocery store under the Hotel but a shopping shuttle operates from Silver Star 3 times a week at a cost of $15.00 return. Most people travel to Vernon for supplies because the grocery shop becomes quite costly.

There was no Hotel info. sheet in our room and we had to ask for one. We then found out that lockers were provided for our skis while staying there.

The best thing the Hotel has going for it is that it is right on the snowfield and has a good coffee shop below and close to all shops and restaurants.

The stove fan was not operating and some lights were not working.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Aberdeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Aberdeen Hotel

Address: 139 Main Street | Silver Star Mountain Resort, Silver Star, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Silver Star
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Silver Star
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Aberdeen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lord Aberdeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Aberdeen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.