We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For those who love authentic, off-the-beaten path places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurt's Corner

Kurt's Corner
Northside, Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman
345-947-8899
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
St. Louis
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“For those who love authentic, off-the-beaten path places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is a long drive (45 minutes) from the Seven Mile Beach resorts and hotels. It is also not for those who seek elegance and comfort. However, if you like to experience local cuisine, and mix with the locals, this is one place to check out for sure. Service was very slow, on "island time" as they call it. Just go with it. No alcohol in the restaurant, but there is a bar next door, and someone from there comes by your table to see if you want a drink. Different for sure, and no wine of any mention, but the rum cocktails were very good. The best part by far was the West Indian cuisine fish dishes, among the best on Grand Cayman. We would go back for sure the next time we visit the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    81
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Real island style food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you are not in North Side, it is worth the drive! Try the conch fritters and chicken strips. Excellent! Great friendly, service! Worthy of a good tip! Too many places on the island add gratutity! Service and food here are worth it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great local dining with reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is an outside deck with a tent covering. We ate here twice the fresh fish was amazing, loved the conch and the crab cakes. Will go again when we return to the east end.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

All the great food fresh fish and conch steak without the fuss
friendly service on island time
from monster burgers kids menu, plus killer mojitos
at 1/3 of resort price and much less than of over the edge
the spot is not scenic and after dark the bugs can be trouble but bug spray provided and sit under a overhead fan
i could eat there every day for a week
dont pass on the cheese cake

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were told about this place by a couple at the beach. We would not have stumbled across this place if we weren't told about it. Its behind a bar/liquor store. they don't have a liquor license so you get two bills. One for your food and one from the bar. Excellent food. A must do if your there. They are on the east end of the Island.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kurt's Corner also viewed

East End, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
East End, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Kurt's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurt's Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.