We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Crystal Inn

Save Saved
You added White Crystal Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Crystal Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5275 Big White Road Big White, Big White, British Columbia VIP IP3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Big White
Richmond
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location and comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, taking advantage of a pay for 3 stay for 4 nights promo. We had a unit on the second floor, superior kitchenette.
We arrived at 3:30, check-in was at 4pm. Unfortunatley our room and the room of ther firends we were travelling with was not available until 4:30, so things did not start out well as we just had to sit around and wait after a long drive from Vancouver.
Once we got into the room, it was layed out well, one queen bed and a pull out sofa. Kitchette was a cook top, large fridge, microwave and all the utensils, dishes and pot and pans you could need. Room looked over the village, which was nice. There was a fireplace that threw out more than enough heat, which compensated for the heat register in the bathroom that did not work.
Room was quiet excpet for the nighty visit by the grooming machine at 2am that shook the whole building, but that is out of the hotels control, just a bit frightneing the first night.
Ski in and ski out is outstanding, you are right on the runs, with access to 2 lifts, kids ski school, rental bulding, ticketing and gondola.
There is a huge variety of accomidations in Big White, I would suggest this is a good choice for families for price and location, we would here stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello Jay_&_Barb,

Thank you for providing such thoughtful and thorough feedback regarding your recent stay at Big White Ski Resort.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
I'm sorry to hear that your units were not ready for our advertised check-in time, we do strive to ensure our units are ready by 4pm for all check-ins and I will look into why both you and your friends units were not ready for this time.

Hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stay in a two bedrooms two bathroom unit on the second floor for five nights till Christmas eve. The unit is very spacious with a good functioning kitchen that is equipped to do basic cooking. Laundry room is where the underground car park is, it is coin operated. It is like a self contained vacation rental yet with daily cleaning service. The unit is warm, cozy, comfortable. The location is great, truly ski in ski out. We can see and film the children from our windows when they ski in, fantastic!
The flat screen TV did not work and we were given a old very small TV. We bought two DVD from the grocery store and for two nights struggle to watch them having to sit on the floor to be closer to the small TV as neither the TV nor the sofa could be easily moved closer to each other. On the last day they replaced us with the big flat screen but we were leaving the next day.
Big White is a great ski resort, definitely for family with children who are beginners. White crystal inn is in perfect location for beginners trail. Also close to grocery stores, village central etc.
Will definite visit again and stay in the same unit, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose unit 209!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Anaest,

Thank you for the review of your recent vacation at the White Crystal Inn. I am glad to hear that you and your family had such a great stay. I'm sorry to hear that we had a slight issue with the TV in your unit and that it took a couple of days to rectify. I hope to see you and your family at Big White again soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is located next to the piste, next to the main day lodge (ticket office, ski hire etc). We had a lovely family room, with a loft, and a amazing view over the pistes and mountainside. There is a fre car park on the ground floor and a ski locker room. On the down side, when we checked in the receptionist kept telling me about potential fines I would incur if I lost my key or smoked in my room (we are non-smokers), which was not the holiday welocme I would have expected. Also breakdast did not begin until 9.00! When you go sking you need breaskfast at 7.00 so you can be on the slopes when the lifts open (and when you have a family it takes ages for everyone to get ready). So we took the Gondola down to the base of the Village (Happy Valley lodge) and had breakfast everyday in the Moose Lounge - excellent breakfasts for $10.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear OwlNewforest,

Thank you for providing such thoughtful and thorough feedback regarding your recent stay at Big White Ski Resort.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The restaurant at the White Crystal Inn is privately owned and operated, unfortunately during some periods of the season they have reduced hours of service. I'm glad however that you did find breakfast at the Moose Lounge, they have some really great options for a great price.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, centrally located. Park your car underground and leave it there. Restaurant in the hotel is very good and very convenient for breakfast before heading out to ski.
Well soundproofed room, well furnished with little fridge and microwave, and good heating system; beautiful view from room!
Downside: Wi-Fi does not always work, cannot stream YouTube videos even when Wi-Fi is working. Only ten TV stations available on tiny TV set, no DVD player provided. Hot tub not working this week.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Guliverstravels,

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to here you enjoyed your stay at the White Crystal Inn and your meals at Sante Bar and Grill.
I will also be looking into ways of improving on the few negative points of your stay as I understand that these minor issues can deter from an otherwise great vacation.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I travelled with my 11 yr old son and it was perfect for us.
I would return in a heartbeat. Excellent location for ski in and out as well as 50 yards to ski school and guest services. We faced the valley and had awesome views. Spacious and very clean with bonuses like fireplace and what we really appreciated: a mini kitchenette. Not high end but excellent value: we are coming back!

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd floor facing the valley. Bonus: the whole hotel is non smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Ann K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort. We are pleased to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is very convenient- right near the lifts and centrally located- truly ski in and ski out. The garage doesn't allow for cars higher than 6 foot 8, so with a Thule one we had to park outside.
The staff were friendly and helpful- we had a TV that wasn't working and they replaced it. The cleaning service didn't vacuum the room every day, and we had to ask for shampoo and coffee replacements each day. We stayed in room 102- near the elevator, and the exit and ski locker- very noisy especially on the weekends when party goers are in and out at all hours of the night.
the hot tub really needed a clean!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We've always stayed at the Inn at Big White and thought would be nice to try a true ski-in/out resort like this one. We specifically requested a room facing the village for a better view and to avoid the road noise. Unfortunately, we forgot about being on the slope meant being right next to the grooming machine, which came at 2:00 am and then back at 3:00 am the very first night. Not only that the machine was noisy, it practically shook the entire building like an earthquake. We didn't sleep at all for the first night and had to request to move back to the Inn the next day. We were exhausted and it wasn't a good way to start a ski vacation.

We also found the room at White Crystal not very functional, the bathroom is huge but there is absolutely no counterspace in the little kitchen. There is no dining table, only a counter with two wooden bar stool. All the chairs are not comfortable. There is no luggage stand AND the hot tub was not opened during our stay. We stayed at #315. So comparing to what we get at the Inn, we personally find the Inn more comfortable if you don't mind a short walk to the Hummingbird run and walking across the road to ski back to the hotel.

As usual, the staff members at both hotels are exceptional. Will definitely revisit Big White but will not stay near the slopes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Crystal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Crystal Inn

Address: 5275 Big White Road Big White, Big White, British Columbia VIP IP3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Big White
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Big White
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Crystal Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your White Crystal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Crystal Hotel Big White

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Crystal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.