We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unbelievable Collection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snowshill Manor and Gardens

Snowshill Manor and Gardens
Snowshill WR12 7JU, England
01386 842814
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Attractions in Snowshill
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Euless, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An Unbelievable Collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Snowshill Manor is set in a perfect little village, not too far from the Cotswold Way. The large garden areas ("rooms") are a delight to explore. I saw my first white fuchsias ever here. Charles Paget Wade left behind a house full of his collections of all kinds of strange and wonderful objects and it has been left as it was when he died. The guides in each room are very knowledgeable about the collections and about Wade's life and happy to answer any questions. There is also a very good tea room on the grounds.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    42
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shenfield
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Quirky Attraction, Interesting history, but gardens not in flower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited Snowshill Manor and Gardens on our last day in the Cotswolds. Unfortunately the gardens were not in flower as we visited in late October, nevertheless we found the accommodation of Charles Wade and his wife to be interesting with his many unusual possessions. We didn't go into the Manor House as time was limited.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something for everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A cracking half day out. Beautiful garden set up, not full of flowers but very interesting. The collection is very mixed and the type of place you could visit time & time again and always see new things. My 9 year old daughter enjoyed it as much as we did. As usual the restaurant was only OK.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding Collection, Beautiful Gardens!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wow, we jumped in before the rain fell and came out into the sunshine to the most stunning gardens!! Inside the house is the most amazing collection of sooo many varied things, in particular I loved the Samurai outfits and weaponry. We were on a long weekend trip to the Cotswolds and I am so glad we fitted this visit in!!! We arrived on Apple Festival day so there were loads of activities and stalls in the gardens with apples, honey etc.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited this national trust venue as part of a group of gardeners. An interesting and unique experience. The guides are so informative and it is a must to listen to the history surrounding the house and its collection. Once inside the house you are over whelmed by the enormous collection of oddities. You really can't take it all in. You come away knowing this must be a totally unique house. An interesting and thought provoking day out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowshill Manor and Gardens also viewed

Snowshill, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Castle Combe, Cotswolds
 

Been to Snowshill Manor and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowshill Manor and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.