We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Therapeutic, joyful and entirely civilised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taiwana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Taiwana to your Saves list
Hotel Taiwana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Therapeutic, joyful and entirely civilised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was our 23rd year on St Barths, where, virtually every year since 1992, we have previously taken an annual fortnight's vacation at Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France, situated on the beautiful beach of Baie des Flamands. New owners there saw our rates rise by 54% from last year, so, despite the staff and management at Isle de France remaining utterly charming and friendly, chose this year to stay at the newly refurbished and rather lovely Taiwana Hotel next door, where we were afforded a wonderful welcome and made to feel very much at home. Indeed, as we began our first ever stay at the uniquely designed Taiwana, we had the same sensation of our first moments at Isle de France 23 years ago, one of finding a place where we knew we could be happy and when, then as now, we looked at each other and said "this is for us". And so it proved. Firstly the management, Claire, Felipe and Octavio were a joy, making us feel as though this was our home, and deserve enormous credit for the hotel's recent transformation, whilst the staff are brilliant – nothing is too much, nothing too small – and the whole experience was a true pleasure. Food and the restaurant and bar were all excellent. The hotel is bedecked with palms, banana trees and full walls of flowers, bursting with tropical colours and planted in moss banks cleverly suspended around the open areas - the effect is lovely. Taiwana also has a relaxing and generally quiet pool just steps from the stunning sandy beach of Flamands. Our room, which was pure understated luxury, had a gorgeous view from its terrace and our every need was cared for. Minor criticisms are not worth mentioning – this was altogether, a therapeutic, joyful and entirely civilised experience, which we hope to repeat many, more times over the forthcoming years. Taiwana really is paradise on a paradise island. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have been in the hotel for 11 days and we have spend one of our best vacations. The hotel is located in the best and beautiful beach , Flamand . It was wonderful, with a very kindly staff . The restaurant is excelent, one of the best in the island. The rooms and the service was perfect. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

With all of the glowing reviews, I was worried we may be setting our expectations a bit too high for this trip. But from start to finish we were never dissapointed once during our stay. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and we were treated marvelously all week. Everything about this hotel from the staff to the room, the beach and the food was top notch.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel was wonderful and peaceful, it felt like we were on a most perfect vacation ever until a family with a good number of kids moved in, reserved all the front beach chairs and allowed their kids run around screaming all day. That's when we gave up on the beautiful Flamand beach and permanently rellocated to Saline, where it was tranquil and quiet and had no children (god bless the nudists). Everything was very nice but be warned a group of barracudas has been spotted in the waters near the hotel, so it's advised not to wear shiny jewelry or splash too much or swim at night as to avoid an attack. Having said that, historically speaking barracudas are ubiquitous in the Caribbean yet attack very rarely and generally do so when provoked so I wouldn't worry too much about this, just leave your diamonds in the safe. Back to the hotel: the food at the hotel restaurant was yummy and well presented, the staff overall were very nice and accommodating, it's located, maybe a 5 min ride from Gustavia where the majority of nice restaurants and shopping is located and maybe a 15-20 min drive from the Gouverneur and Saline beaches, so it's a fairly convenient location. The rooms are large and feel more like apartments or villas; essentially every guest is in their own building so you won't hear other people much, sometimes it felt like we were the only guests there, it was an amazing feeling. I do wish they offered red wines at proper temperatures - like everywhere else on the island they chill the red wine and I find that abhorrent - I wish there was an option to have it chilled or at 50-60F.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

great little secret hotel with fantastic staff from the GM all the way down to the team in the restaurant.
stayed in the hotel last month for a quick visit and thoroughly enjoyed it and thinks its one of the best on the island. they understand subtle and personal service which is hard to get right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were extremely happy with our week stay at Hotel Taiwana. The room was very large with a balcony and plunge pool and great view of the ocean. The room was very clean, modern (shower in the middle of the room), open and breezy. We could not have been happier with the staff. They were over the top helpful with all of our inquiries. More importantly there is a family feel there and you are left alone to take it all in and enjoy the hotel and island. It was an incredibly wonderful experience and we have plans to go back.

Room Tip: Room #15 is large with a plunge pool on the balcony. It's one flight up, very close to the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We arrived on St Barts at the beginning of January 2014,and as soon as we arrived at the hotel we immediately had that "oh yes" feeling.
The vibe is understated luxury with the most friendly and helpful staff.
The food was excellent and the service exceptional.
We had a suite,beautifully fitted out, with two bedrooms,two bathrooms and two living rooms,and the most fabulous terrace,overlooking the sea,and it really was perfect with two teenage children.
This is one of the most charming relaxed hotels I have stayed in,and they understand exactly how to take care of their guests,in the best possible way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Taiwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taiwana

Address: Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Taiwana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue au Taiwana situe sur la partie la plus confidentielle de l'anse des flamands, une des plus belles plages de Saint Barthelemey. L'hotel propose 22 chambres et suites, une villa donnant sur la plage ainsi qu'un penthouse compose de 4 chambres, tous dotes d'une vue exceptionnelle sur la mer. Certaines chambres disposent de piscines privees, jacuzzi, balcons et terrasses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Taiwana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taiwana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.