We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Langouste

La Langouste
Main Road, Anse des Flamands, St Barthelemy
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a nice lobster lunch @ La Langouste and the service and food were both very good. Charming small hotel, just wish there was a nicer view of the beach and not the little kiddie pool.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lunch here is always a delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The best Onion Soup this side of heaven. Lobsters are a bit overcooked but the scene is one not to miss and than take a walk on the sand of Flamand

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Anyone can cook...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

So, while the food is delicious, seeing rats the size of lobsters scurry across the top of the lobster tanks makes one ask who is really cooking here. We have eaten here many times! And he service and food are always spot on... Just can't get past the rat sighting. Less than appetizing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendesrouss, Responsable relations clients at La Langouste, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear JAw77,

thank you for posting a review about our restaurant we are sad to learn that in spite of the fact that you like our cooking, you won't be back.
We are sorry for this incident however the restaurant is located on a beach with coconut tree and unfortunately those rodents like these trees.
It is exceptional but possible that furtively a rodent is make a passage in room.
It would be a pity to skip as you said " a spot on" of the island.
Looking forward seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Simple food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Sometimes the simple meals are the best ones. This restaurant serves traditional creole food. The setting us in a small hotel next to a pool. My husband and I ordered crabs farci and cod fritters served with hot creole sauce. I had a Caribbean grilled lobster and he had grouper. Simply prepared food but so delicious. The service was spot on.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
778 helpful votes 778 helpful votes
“Perhaps Should Have Tried The Lobster ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went for lunch at La Langouste after spending the morning at Colombier beach. It was not busy, only two other tables were taken so we were able to get a table by the small swimming pool ( although a group of 6 arrived later ). There was a nice breeze to keep us cool, although at times the tablecloth was blown back over the table – some clips to hold it place would be handy !

We also had a great view of a bird’s nest in the nearby roofing so could watch the busy parents frequent arrivals to feed their chicks !

Mrs FB2000 started with L’Escargot in Garlic Butter ( 6 for 10 Euro ) which she declared to be as good as those at Au Regal. I had the French Onion soup ( 10 Euro ) which was fine, but I have had better.

For the main choice I chose the Lamb Shank cooked for 8 hours ( 25 Euro ), but as our waiter pointed out, I didn’t have to wait for 8 hours ! When it arrived it was excellent. Mrs FB2000 ordered the Brochette St Jacques ( 26 Euro ), which was Tiger Shrimps/Scallops/Chorizo on a skewer. She rated this as OK.

The service from the two young guys was very friendly and attentive.

Overall with drinks we spent over 100 euros for lunch. The location and the service were great, the food was fine but I think there are better options on St Barths for that kind of money. However, in reading other reviews of La Langouste, most people rave about the Lobster, so perhaps Mrs FB2000 should have ordered that instead and we have been more positive ?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Langouste also viewed

Grande Saline, St Barthelemy
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
 
Salines, St Barthelemy
Grand Cul-de-Sac, St Barthelemy
 

Been to La Langouste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Langouste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.