We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect honeymoon - Attentive, but not intrusive, host and staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de la Petite Anse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anse des Flamands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge de la Petite Anse
Save Saved
You added Auberge de la Petite Anse to your Saves list
Anse des Flamands 97095, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The perfect honeymoon - Attentive, but not intrusive, host and staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Blissful. Fabulous views. Location par excellence. Real value for your Euro.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed here from 3/27 to 4/2 2011 with my wife for our third trip to SBH.

We had a nice room, got a car included with our hotel room too. The room had a double and a singel bed, a large bathroom , lots of closet space, a terrace and a kitchen off the side of the terrace. we were on the top floor and had a spectacular view of the cove and the undeveloped hills and cliffs to our left. No TV....and I didn't miss it one bit. Nice breezes blow through at night. There was a good air conditioner to keep the room comfortable during the day.

There is a beautiful beach near this hotel called Columbier which you can only get to by foot or boat. The foot trail to get to Columbier starts about 100 yards from the hotel at the end of the road. Also, you have a 5 minute walk to Flamands Beach, which is one of the best on SBH. Also within a 5 minute walk is a small market that has everything you would need at prices that are just as good as the larger markets near the airport and in Lorient.

In the Petite Anse, there is a small beach area that can be very safe for children and the cove itself was perfect for snorkeling. Reefs and colored fish could easily be seen from my room.

Room staff was very prompt and courteous - and the room was always made immaculate every day. There was free wifi but the signal wasn't great - it was best accessed on the terrace and was enough to surf and check e-mail and stuff from my smartphone - but probably not quite strong enough for a VOIP call. A laptop might have better performace. There is wifi all over the island and various establishments, so that would be possible in other places.

In all, this was a great deal, great location and a seriously affordable option to visit the beautiful island of St Barts!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We spent 4 night at the auberge and really enjoyed it. The value for price is unbeatable in low season: 109 euros per night for a room with 2 full beds, kitchen, ocean view and a jeep! It's in a secluded and uncrowded area of St Barth and it's charming. If you are lucky you might encounter a turtle or an iguana.
The beach de la petite anse is absolutely lovely. the hotel is right next the start of the Colombier hike which takes 30 minutes, is easy and leads to another beautiful secluded beach.
Having a kitchen was great since restaurants are expensive in St barth.
The room aren't extremly big but it suffice.
Owner Suger Greaux was indeed as described in other reviews: friendly and welcoming.
I would definetely go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

The view is the deal closer. Turquoise water in a protected inlet--no other major development seen from the balcony.Tucked away in one of the "nibbles" out of the croissant shaped island , Auberge is a refuge from the more glitsy and upscale part of the island. But since the island is so small you can hop into the action as needed. I could sit on the balcony all day and be content, which in the heat of the off season is a prudent choice. Stayed in an upper unit. Very simple, clean, albeit a tad dated. We used air conditioning to cool off the mid day extreme heat leftovers before opening the doors at night to the breeze and sounds of the ocean directly below. The kitchen is off the balcony and has a small stove , coffee maker, full fridge, sink and toaster as well as utensils, plates, etc. But it is a shame to cook when there is the exquisite cuisine in Gustavia or St Jean.

It is entertaining to watch the endless parade of locals using the little beach (2-3 at a time, for short periods, never crowded), and yet we also had times when we were completely alone. Night time soaks under the stars were a treat. Excellent snorkeling. For waves and expanses of sand, Flammand beach is a 5 minute walk. Or hike to Columbier from outside your door. . Spectacular.

Sugere, the proprietor,whose father built the Auberge in the fifties, is gently welcoming and accommodating. Because of the off season, a rental car cost was included. The heat is impressive in June. High season, even without a car would be the preferred time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

If you're looking for a clean room with a kitchen at a a good price this is the place. The view is fantastic. You are right on the water,a small beach is a 1 minute walk, Flamands is a 5 minute walk, and Colombier about a 20 minute walk. When booking don't be put off by the owners lack of correspondence.Once he acknowledges your reservation all should be good. He did mess up our room assignment for the first 2 nights but then offerd us one of the lower units (which are a bit larger for the other 13 nights. After checking it out we decided we liked the smaller upper unit we were in a bit better because it was brighter and we like the higher ceilings, The owner (Suger) is a good man and runs a nice place. The cleaning staff is both friendly and efficient, Its very quiet on this end of the island and beautiful as well. If you go in the off season the car rental is included with your room. There is nothing fancy about this place, but we were very comfortable there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a friends recommendation. Great spot - away from the hustle and hype of St Barts - comfortable room with kitchen and an unbeatable view. Excellent host as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

No frills spot that is TOUGH TO BEAT. Surrounded by three of the coolest, most isolated beaches on the island.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge de la Petite Anse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Petite Anse

Address: Anse des Flamands 97095, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Petite Anse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de la Petite Anse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.