We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baie des Anges

Save Saved
You added Hotel Baie des Anges to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Baie des Anges
Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our second trip to St. Barths and for the second time we spent seven enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable days at Baie des Anges in a beautiful, quiet location right on Flamands Beach. Our family stayed in the new Master Suite and it is perfect---2 bedrooms, living room, kitchen, bar and a fantastic deck literally overhanging the beach with a large dining table where we had breakfast every morning and on several evenings La Langustine served us full course dinners in our room "on the beach."

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views and "on the beach" are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Perfect location with direct beach access, excellent food at La Langustine restaurant on premises, impeccable service and attention and most importantly-very comfortable accommodations (especially at the new wing where we stayed). My only suggestion is to improve breakfast choices.

Room Tip: Ask for Colibry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Everything is expensive in St Barth, let's get that out of the way at the top. But this hotel has a lot going for it at what passes for a reasonable price in these parts. For one, location. It is at the north end of the island, on a half-mile beach that is never very crowded, with moderate waves, one of the best beaches on St Barth and we sampled them all.
For another thing, space. The rooms are large (we were in a standard room in the original part of the hotel), closets big enough to stay for a month, fully equipped kitchenette (stove top, microwave, fridge, sink) oddly enough out on the balcony. Probably the room's decor could use some freshening up.
A couple of other pluses: the place is family owned, the owner Annie is always around, helpful and on the go. Also the restaurant La Langouste, open for lunch and dinner, is (like the hotel) very good for the money. At the end of the beach are two boutique hotels with very high-end cuisine.
The island is heavy on sun-worshipping and a little light on activities other than fine dining. Snorkeling off a boat at nearby atolls was pretty good but I could find nothing in the way of nature tours. Best activity was the hike to nearby Colombier beach, about 20 minutes' walk on a narrow rocky path through a nature reserve. We were practically the only ones there on a Saturday morning although that changed by lunch time when yachts dropped anchor and skiffs started coming ashore.
One of our favorite Caribbean islands and Baie des Anges was a good way to do it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel room was nice with Ocean View and a Kitchenette on the balcony. It had a small refrigerator and a two burner cook top. Toaster, coffee maker, sink, counter and dishes. The room was air conditioned but the bath was not. I would definitely recommend this hotel for location, the restaurant and the room features.

Dinner at the hotel’s restaurant – La Langouste. Wife loved the Mahi and I had Skewers of Scallops, Shrimp and Chorizo which were very good. I noticed very few restaurants offered salads but I asked and was always able to get a mixed green salad wherever I asked. We also had the vanilla rum shots.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room and had a great Ocean View. Very good value for St Barths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed a week in the new Master Suite, a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, suite directly on the beach with a large deck including couches, chairs and dining table. Although we were in one of the three new suites, all of the rooms looked very clean and comfortable and most have decks directly on the beach. Enjoyed sleeping and waking to the sound of the waves directly below, breakfasts served each morning on our beach deck, and dinners from the excellent La Lagouste Restaurante also served on our deck. Lounge chairs provided on Flamands beach with bar service makes it a relaxing paradise on a quiet part of the beach. The owner, Annie, and her family and staff are wonderful hosts. If you like small boutique hotels, want to be directly on the beach, and don't care about frills, this is a great place to stay on St. Barths.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are definitely preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights there and it wasnt worth it as the room was very standard, the smell of the restaurant was always inside of the room and you can hear at night and in the morning the movements of the restaurant.
Then luckily we moved to Fleur de Lune in Saline Beach for a lot less of money with a beautiful room, very nice service and privacy. Also, this had breakfast included and Baie de Anges not.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've stayed at Baie des Angles several times. The hotel is small; just the way I like them. The owners are very friendly and eager to please (something that isn't always the case on this very French island). It's a family-run hotel.

The rooms are spotless, nicely decorated, and have their own kitchenettes. You can make your own coffee, heat up a little something, and keep your own snacks and cold drinks on hand. I recommend the upper rooms. They have a large deck, and a nicer view. All rooms have sofa beds. It was great to have one when my son was young. The bathrooms are neat and clean (I'm a bathroom freak). Best of all, this beachfront hotel is set on Flamand, the best, most private beach on the island. This is not a "luxury" hotel. It is a very nice, boutique hotel.

The pool is lovely, but small, and is set alongside the outdoor restaurant. Expect to enjoy a fun splash, but not a lap pool. I was usually the only person there. Truly, I felt like I was in my own private resort.

Baie des Anges makes their money (like most resorts) primarily from their restaurant, which is top notch. The restaurant is quite popular and the food is delicious. That's saying a lot considering the competition. As I'm writing this I'm thinking about the langoustines - a Baie specialty. I wish I were there right now. Breakfast is included.

Did I say it was on the best beach? It is. Flamand is a pristine, white beach. You can snorkel around and find tropical fish and beautiful coral. It's private; sharing space with the Ile de France and private homes. To me, I can't think of another hotel on the island that's this nice, with a great restaurant, at a great price.

Some other island tips:

I recommend hiring a car. There are so many terrific restaurants on the island, you'll want your freedom. Rent a jeep or a mini. It's really fun to drive on St. Barth's and you'll enjoy the open air.

You'll find a nice grocery store across from the airport, and a sweet "deli" just up the road from the hotel.

I really love St Barth's, and have stayed at several hotels on the island. To me, Baie des Anges is the best. It's right on the beach, the rooms are great, and the price is amazing.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a larger terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baie des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baie des Anges

Address: Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Flamands Bay, one of Saint Barth’s most breathtaking beaches, the charming Hotel Baie des Anges welcomes couples, families, and reflects the ambiance and serenity of the island. Facing the Ocean, the 10 studio-apartments are decorated in blue, green and white, in perfect harmony with the sea. They all offer comfort and modern conveniences : fully equiped kitchenette on the balcony (including fridge and mini-oven). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Baie des Anges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baie Des Anges Hotel
Baie Des Anges Gustavia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baie des Anges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;