We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close, but needs a captain to steer this ship!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anse des Flamands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
Save
You added Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel St Barth Isle de France)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“So close, but needs a captain to steer this ship!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a lovely property that has so much opportunity and even though I've loved our stay, the erratic service really let the team down.

The location is lovely, the restaurant good, breakfast was exceptionally boring, predictable and unchanged for a week....and DONT order the rolled oats, unless you need to glue something!!!

Our sommelier was lovely, attentive and knowledgable and enhanced our stay.

It felt like there is no General Manager steering the ship, our mini bar was topped up today after 6 days, our room was being serviced after 4pm which I felt is just way too late.

There was practically no pool or beach service and it's the low season and I would have happily ordered and tipped all day if someone could have been bothered to ask.

That said, it's sometimes the collective experience that allows you to sway your vote, and for me the vote would be to come back....

Hopefully they will find a General Manager, or if they do already have one he/she will come out of hiding/office and actually see where there is sooooo much room for improvement and let's face it, more service = more profit = more tips = happy staff which give your guests a greater, more engaging experience.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I have taken onboard all your comments and would iike to assure you that we are currently working diligently with the new owners on plans for next season including improving our breakfast offering and many renovations for the rooms. We will also be re-launching our spa with a new brand partnership and there will be a completely new look for the hotel as we become Cheval Blanc St Barth Isle de France, part of Cheval Blanc collection.

We are constantly striving for excellence in service and so again, I have taken onboard your comments on this and have discussed this with my team. Thank you for your particular mention of our sommilier, I have passed your comments on to her as it is always great for staff members to receive such positive feedback.

I’m glad that overall you loved your stay and I’m very sorry that we didn’t meet whilst you were here. I very much hope to see you back here again soon and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you should wish.

With kind regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    28
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
117
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We will definitely return. Stayed in Zuma , a 2 bdr villa on a cliff overlooking the water. Gorgeous space, tons of outdoor living as well. Indoor /outdoor dining in our villa , a living room, most amazing view possible. Perfection!! Had its own pool , beautiful interior design. The property has the very Best restaurant in St Barth's.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your beautiful description about our Hillside Villa!
Hidden in the mountain and surrounded by the vegetation it offers maybe the best view of the property, in a totally privacy…

We would like to see you again, maybe next season, it would be the perfect occasion to discover the Cheval Blanc novelties!

Best regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It's a beautiful hotel for honeymooners or romantic couples. Service was lovely. Staff was friendly and attentive to detail. Great spa and yoga experience but make sure to book your treatment in advance. Delicious fresh fish. Stunning architecture and interior design. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We will pass your comments to the Team and we look forward to welcoming you back to St-Barth on a future occasion!

With warm regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Me and my wife had a wonderful honeymoon at the hotel. All the staff made us feel so confortable, we loved. The Isle de France has a breathtaking view of the turquoise water of the caribbean sea right at the entrance of the main building. Right at the check in, they offered us cold towels and a glass of champagne, a very nice welcome from the hotel.
We stayed in a garden room, very secluded and enormous, very well decorated and cleaned twice a day. The breakfest is continental style, but it is different from the north american hotels, at least those one I know. Several types of cheese, bread, and ham; cakes and fruits, very complete in my opinion.
The beach is breathtaking, providing several chairs and umbrellas.
Both restaurants serve top notch dishes, but only the Case de Isle is open to dinner.
We enjoyed a lot our stay, we were just sad to say goodbye.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us on Tripadvisor,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be sure that we will always do our best to improve the quality of the service we provide.
We would be delighted to welcome you next season, we are going to join the Cheval Blanc Collection, with new amenities in the room, and new experiences to discover during your stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we do hope to see you soon in our little paradise,

Best regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager & her team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

True luxury. The staff is very attentive as one would expect at a five-star. Beautiful beach. Spa services are delightful. They did a special evening dinner on the beach for our group of 15 and exceeded all expectations. The pool/bar area is small but with only 40 or so rooms, makes sense. Nice, quiet, relaxing place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. Please be sure that we will share it with the different teams.

It was our pleasure to welcome your group and to participate to this beautiful event.
We do hope to see you all soon again.

Warmest regards from the whole team,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I and my husband fell in love for this place. The rooms are very clean and cozy. The food was almost good but I'm a picky eater, but my group of friends seems to really like the food.
The ocean is the best but the pool is very nice as well. Good service by the pool and right on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Ariel,

Thank you for your great comment on Trip Advisor about Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your experience with us in Saint Barth, it represents the best reward for all our teams who work every day to satisfy your needs and requests. Be sure that we will transfer them your compliments.

We hope to welcome you again in our friendly place,

Best sunny regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager & Her Teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

What a delightful hotel - and what a beautiful cove. The Caribbean at its picture post card best.
Our room wasn't huge, but rather nice with a decent sized terrace and bathroom. The pool not massive, but adequate and very warm. The beach is to die for and when we were there last week, the sea was like a mill pond and azure blue - perfect for swimming and no usual shelf that is sometimes found in Caribbean beach resorts, which sometimes makes it difficult to get in and out of the water. No sea urchins either! The beach restaurant was good as was the formal dining room. St. Barts is the tiniest of islands so a car is probably not necessary as taxis are readily available and the drivers most obliging. Food and wine is expensive as you would imagine, The island is steep and hilly and nobody walks or cycles anywhere. For a complete 'chill' this is the place to be - don't expect casinos, entertainment etc. but for sun and sea and French cuisine it couldn't be bettered. We flew there from Antigua with Trade Winds - in an eight seater 'plane.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay!

Please be sure that we have taken note of all your comments which will help us to continue improving our service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful paradise,

With warm regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France

Address: Baie des Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel St Barth Isle de France)
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Flamands Bay, widely regarded as the island's finest, the iconic Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France is home to 40 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas, with panoramic beach views or nestled in the lush gardens. Savor an exquisite locally-inspired French cuisine created by Chef Yann Vinsot at La Case de l'Isle restaurant overlooking the pool and the ocean or at La Cabane de l'Isle for a feet-in-the-sand lunch or a private dinner. The Cheval Blanc Spa and its Pavilion hidden in the tropical vegetation, offer Guerlain rituals, in exclusivity in the Caribbean. Enjoy a highly personalized service, exclusive events organized with the most prestigious champagne houses, tailor-made experiences imagined by a passionate team. The Concept Store proposes you latest creation of local and international designers and fashion show every Tuesday night around the pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.