We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Pretty is this Hotel? - Very!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France to your Saves list
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel St Barth Isle de France)   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“How Pretty is this Hotel? - Very!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

What a delightful hotel - and what a beautiful cove. The Caribbean at its picture post card best.
Our room wasn't huge, but rather nice with a decent sized terrace and bathroom. The pool not massive, but adequate and very warm. The beach is to die for and when we were there last week, the sea was like a mill pond and azure blue - perfect for swimming and no usual shelf that is sometimes found in Caribbean beach resorts, which sometimes makes it difficult to get in and out of the water. No sea urchins either! The beach restaurant was good as was the formal dining room. St. Barts is the tiniest of islands so a car is probably not necessary as taxis are readily available and the drivers most obliging. Food and wine is expensive as you would imagine, The island is steep and hilly and nobody walks or cycles anywhere. For a complete 'chill' this is the place to be - don't expect casinos, entertainment etc. but for sun and sea and French cuisine it couldn't be bettered. We flew there from Antigua with Trade Winds - in an eight seater 'plane.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay!

Please be sure that we have taken note of all your comments which will help us to continue improving our service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful paradise,

With warm regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    25
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
104
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a 41 room elegant and somewhat minimalist property with amazing service and a great restaurant on the premises. I am told it is known for hosting super wealthy Russians during the Greek Orthodox Christmas and New Year. We came across it by way of a friend's wedding, which was very much in line with this hotel's style.
The service was exceptional in every sense. Our needs were anticipated and issues unrelated to the hotel or service were addressed professionally and expeditiously. Needless to say, if you visit St. Barth - the Courchevel of the Caribbean - be prepared to spend money. The only other option is to stay at what would be a motel by western standards and still pay 400 per night.

The waves on the beach may be a bit rough, and the beach around Eden Rock hotel, this property's only real competition, may be better for small children and people who do not swim well, but still want to experience the ocean.

Room Tip: Great service. True 5 star property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your positive experience during your recent stay with us!

The whole Team is very happy to learn that they were able to make your stay unforgettable.
Our mission will always be to provide you the best service, and the best experience in St Barth.

We do hope to welcome you back in our beautiful property,

With our best regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were staying in St Maarten on holiday and spent a full day in St Barths to survey the island for future visits.

From the minute we drove up to the valet in our rental car to the fleeting moments of conversation as we exited the resort our experience was divine. We have been fortunate enough to stay at many 5 star properties throughout our lives and this was without doubt a special hotel.

We actually randomly came across this hotel while traversing the island. The valet encouraged us to stay and we are so happy we did. They allowed us to use their beach, chairs and facilities as long as we ate lunch on property. The beach itself was terrific. The water was a perfect shade of azure. The sand was soft and inviting, while the beach chairs were incredibly comfortable. The lunch we had outside was terrific. My lobster Linguini was out of this world. I usually eat light while on the beach but this dish was absolutely delectable.

We want to personally thank the staff at the Hotel St Barths Isle de France for the amazing hospitality. We are already considering dates to come and stay with you soon. Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your positive experience during your recent visit!

The whole Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France Team is thrilled to know that they were able to make a difference and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

With our best regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager & her Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Everyone that works here is friendly and wants your stay to be luxurious. We were picked up at the airport and taken to this lovely, French Caribbean boutique hotel which is more like a grouping of a large manor house with separate villas on and just off the beach. The room was spacious and decorated in a sophisticated yet simple French beach style. We stayed at the top of the hill behind the spa and just across the way from the beach so we got additional exercise each day, it was a bit difficult walking up the last bit and good for the legs. The beach was relaxing, lunch there was convenient and delicious. At first we didn't know that you needed to have a reservation for lunch so we ate on our chaise's inches from the water. The beach was magnificent, there are over 20 beaches on St. Barth's, this one is quiet, deeply relaxing and rejuvenating. Breakfast was great and the spa services were superb. You must rent a car and take a tour of the island, make sure you visit Toiny, St. Jean and Gustavia.

Room Tip: If you want to have an ocean view I would book a room on the 2nd floor. And the garden villas are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us on Trip advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Garden Room overlooking the tropical garden and your holiday in St Barth.

There is a small parking area just next to these rooms, so please feel free to use it on your next visit. We also have the valet service available for you during your whole stay. You can rent a car directly with them.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our beautiful property,

Best regards from St Barth,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been regular guests of the hotel for seventeen years, and it is better than ever. I want to second the commendation of Patrick, the manager of the breakfast service. Patrick has been with the hotel for seventeen years. He always greets us with a smile, and remembers our names, even after absences of many months. He has a special way of making us feel that the hotel is our home away from home. We consider Patrick to be an institution of the hotel, and a friend. Other repeat guests, and there are many, feel exactly the same way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Timothy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us on Trip Advisor, and for having visited us for so many years.

We are so pleased that you feel that this is your “home away home”. We also consider all our repeat guests as friends and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come.

Please be assured that the entire team strives to deliver excellent service and an excellent product to make every stay an unforgettable one. Our wish is to always share a unique experience with you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in this little piece of paradise, and with special thanks from Patrick!

All the best,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I have been coming to Isle de France for more than ten years. We love the hotel but what makes the hotel very special is the staff. I wanted to especially recognize Patrick the manager for the breakfast service. Patrick has worked at the hotel for 17 years. He loves his job and as a guest you can feel that enjoys servicing his guest. He is always pleasant and works hard to make the experience very special. It is the well trained and happy people like Patrick that makes us want to come back year after year.

Room Tip: Garden villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Mike,

We would like to thank you for your beautiful comment on Trip Advisor, and for visiting us those ten years.

This is exactly true, what makes this property so magical and special, is the passionate and dedicated staff working here. Patrick will be very happy to read you, this is such a beautiful reward.

We do hope to see you soon in this paradise,

Best regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Had lunch with friends who were with us on a Silversea trip - management and staff could not have been more welcoming. Lunch, lots of wine, company and swim in an azure sea scored 10 out of 10 for all of us. Only complaint was that we could not stay longer. Had been told by someone who has worked in the Caribbean for the last 25 years that the Isle de France is "the best" - hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Carolyn,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends at our marvelous property for lunch.
Our only regret is that you could not stay longer and experience the hotel rooms and the spa.
This is a perfect reason to come back soon to this little piece of paradise.

With all our best regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France

Address: Baie des Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel St Barth Isle de France)
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Flamands Bay, widely regarded as the island's finest, the iconic Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France is home to 40 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas, with panoramic beach views or nestled in the lush gardens. Savor an exquisite locally-inspired French cuisine created by Chef Yann Vinsot at La Case de l'Isle restaurant overlooking the pool and the ocean or at La Cabane de l'Isle for a feet-in-the-sand lunch or a private dinner. The Cheval Blanc Spa and its Pavilion hidden in the tropical vegetation, offer Guerlain rituals, in exclusivity in the Caribbean. Enjoy a highly personalized service, exclusive events organized with the most prestigious champagne houses, tailor-made experiences imagined by a passionate team. The Concept Store proposes you latest creation of local and international designers and fashion show every Tuesday night around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.