We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel with an incredibly hospitable staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anse des Flamands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
Save
You added Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France to your Saves list
Baie des Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel St Barth Isle de France)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An amazing hotel with an incredibly hospitable staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were staying in St Maarten on holiday and spent a full day in St Barths to survey the island for future visits.

From the minute we drove up to the valet in our rental car to the fleeting moments of conversation as we exited the resort our experience was divine. We have been fortunate enough to stay at many 5 star properties throughout our lives and this was without doubt a special hotel.

We actually randomly came across this hotel while traversing the island. The valet encouraged us to stay and we are so happy we did. They allowed us to use their beach, chairs and facilities as long as we ate lunch on property. The beach itself was terrific. The water was a perfect shade of azure. The sand was soft and inviting, while the beach chairs were incredibly comfortable. The lunch we had outside was terrific. My lobster Linguini was out of this world. I usually eat light while on the beach but this dish was absolutely delectable.

We want to personally thank the staff at the Hotel St Barths Isle de France for the amazing hospitality. We are already considering dates to come and stay with you soon. Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your positive experience during your recent visit!

The whole Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France Team is thrilled to know that they were able to make a difference and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

With our best regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager & her Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    31
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
36
127
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Everyone that works here is friendly and wants your stay to be luxurious. We were picked up at the airport and taken to this lovely, French Caribbean boutique hotel which is more like a grouping of a large manor house with separate villas on and just off the beach. The room was spacious and decorated in a sophisticated yet simple French beach style. We stayed at the top of the hill behind the spa and just across the way from the beach so we got additional exercise each day, it was a bit difficult walking up the last bit and good for the legs. The beach was relaxing, lunch there was convenient and delicious. At first we didn't know that you needed to have a reservation for lunch so we ate on our chaise's inches from the water. The beach was magnificent, there are over 20 beaches on St. Barth's, this one is quiet, deeply relaxing and rejuvenating. Breakfast was great and the spa services were superb. You must rent a car and take a tour of the island, make sure you visit Toiny, St. Jean and Gustavia.

Room Tip: If you want to have an ocean view I would book a room on the 2nd floor. And the garden villas are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us on Trip advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Garden Room overlooking the tropical garden and your holiday in St Barth.

There is a small parking area just next to these rooms, so please feel free to use it on your next visit. We also have the valet service available for you during your whole stay. You can rent a car directly with them.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our beautiful property,

Best regards from St Barth,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been regular guests of the hotel for seventeen years, and it is better than ever. I want to second the commendation of Patrick, the manager of the breakfast service. Patrick has been with the hotel for seventeen years. He always greets us with a smile, and remembers our names, even after absences of many months. He has a special way of making us feel that the hotel is our home away from home. We consider Patrick to be an institution of the hotel, and a friend. Other repeat guests, and there are many, feel exactly the same way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Timothy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us on Trip Advisor, and for having visited us for so many years.

We are so pleased that you feel that this is your “home away home”. We also consider all our repeat guests as friends and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come.

Please be assured that the entire team strives to deliver excellent service and an excellent product to make every stay an unforgettable one. Our wish is to always share a unique experience with you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in this little piece of paradise, and with special thanks from Patrick!

All the best,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I have been coming to Isle de France for more than ten years. We love the hotel but what makes the hotel very special is the staff. I wanted to especially recognize Patrick the manager for the breakfast service. Patrick has worked at the hotel for 17 years. He loves his job and as a guest you can feel that enjoys servicing his guest. He is always pleasant and works hard to make the experience very special. It is the well trained and happy people like Patrick that makes us want to come back year after year.

Room Tip: Garden villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Mike,

We would like to thank you for your beautiful comment on Trip Advisor, and for visiting us those ten years.

This is exactly true, what makes this property so magical and special, is the passionate and dedicated staff working here. Patrick will be very happy to read you, this is such a beautiful reward.

We do hope to see you soon in this paradise,

Best regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Had lunch with friends who were with us on a Silversea trip - management and staff could not have been more welcoming. Lunch, lots of wine, company and swim in an azure sea scored 10 out of 10 for all of us. Only complaint was that we could not stay longer. Had been told by someone who has worked in the Caribbean for the last 25 years that the Isle de France is "the best" - hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Carolyn,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends at our marvelous property for lunch.
Our only regret is that you could not stay longer and experience the hotel rooms and the spa.
This is a perfect reason to come back soon to this little piece of paradise.

With all our best regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager and her Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went to Isle de France for our silver anniversary ( 25 ). The experience was amazing, the best by far in every aspect.
The front desk - Guillaume, Sarah, Nina and Morgane went so far above and beyond of their regular duties to make you feel amazing, important and make you stay pleasant and relaxing. Pretty much everyone in the hotel seems like they can read your mind.
The restaurant is amazing, the beach is probably the best in St. Bart's.
Would like to come back there every year.
After this vacation we don't want to go to any other islands, just St. Bart's

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We especially want to thank you for this beautiful testimony on Trip Advisor, and for giving us the opportunity to celebrate your silver anniversary with you. This was such an important event, and we are so happy to having shared this moment with you.

We do hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our exceptionally dedicated Front Desk Team works hard to ensure that all your needs are met and will do everything possible to make your stay a happy and unforgettable experience.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you every year!

Best regards from the whole Team,
Christelle Hilpron, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
539 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

E$ 500 PER HOUR (E$13,000 per night) is the room rate for the new 3 bedroom white concrete monstrosity, crammed onto the beach adjoining the equally overbuilt Taiwana via a concrete alley that has all the charm of a Bronx tenement.
The unit itself, none of the 3 bedrooms have a view of the beautiful beach and ocean, nor any feeling or being in the Caribbean, is lasting testament to the greed and ignorance of the owners, who took what was once a small, quiet, elegant beach retreat and turned it into a the over built monument for ostentatious excess. Apparently LVMH has just bought the mess.
If these pagans to excess were off somewhere else not crammed into the beach side devouring what little beach was left it would not be my lead objection, but to me they loom for a reason not to return.
The Isle de France never had good beachside accommodations despite being developed by the man who brought Las Semana in St Martin to its fame in the 1980’s The ocean view suites always shared what should have been their private decks and views with the other guests. There was no privacy.
The garden units, which we always choose are comfortable, though sometimes dark from the foliage, and of course with no sea view.
But the beach was one of St Barth’s best and the service food and ambiance were magnetic.
The over building has crowded what used to be elegant and quiet dining by the sea and good service on the beach, not to mention the postage sized “gym” which required its patrons to be anorexic to enter.
For me who has watched this race to overbuild destroy a little bit of paradise it is sad.
When I flee the cold every year for my special time on St Barth’s I will no longer choose what once was a special place, except to still come to for a pleasant lunch seaside.
If I wanted the modern steel and concrete poured here with better view and price I might as well choose a suite at the Four Seasons in New York and save the hassling traveling

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

We have taken note of all your comments and appreciate you taking the time to write.

We have always strived to offer the best in quality of product and service that will appeal to all our guests however we understand that some of the changes that have been made are not to your own specific taste.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for lunch when you are next back in St Barths and are so pleased that this is something that you still enjoy.

Best regards,

Christelle Hilpron & The Whole Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France

Address: Baie des Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel St Barth Isle de France)
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Flamands Bay, widely regarded as the island's finest, the iconic Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France is home to 40 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas, with panoramic beach views or nestled in the lush gardens. Savor an exquisite locally-inspired French cuisine created by Chef Yann Vinsot at La Case de l'Isle restaurant overlooking the pool and the ocean or at La Cabane de l'Isle for a feet-in-the-sand lunch or a private dinner. The Cheval Blanc Spa and its Pavilion hidden in the tropical vegetation, offer Guerlain rituals, in exclusivity in the Caribbean. Enjoy a highly personalized service, exclusive events organized with the most prestigious champagne houses, tailor-made experiences imagined by a passionate team. The Concept Store proposes you latest creation of local and international designers and fashion show every Tuesday night around the pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.