We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just tried the restaurant on the beach and it was an amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anse des Flamands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
Save
You added Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel St Barth Isle de France)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“Just tried the restaurant on the beach and it was an amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I didn't stay in the hotel, but I had the pleasure to have lunch and spend a whole day in the hotel grounds and I loved it. I loved the design the understated chic, the service, the class, it was fantastic. Of course a platinum credit card is a must, but it goes with the tag! Go and enjoy the experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Responsable relations clients at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really want to thank you for taking the time to write us on Tripadvisor.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your lunch and you day with us.

That is true, Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France is a special place on one of the most beautiful beach of St Barth, and secluded in the relaxing Tropical Garden. Our designer Bee Osborn makes this place more & more elegant and chic.

The Entire Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France Team is egger to welcome you back soon, in our restaurants but also in hotel (room, suite or villa) as we could longer take care of you…

Best regards from the whole Team,

Romain Vinsot, Guest Care Manager & the all Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    28
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
117
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

this place was off the charts, servise , food, staff rooms
the beach is very nice, we spent a week here mid december 2013, came for a wedding and left
with a true islad adventure. the wedding was held on the beach, very nice to say the least
the staff went out of the way to make this just perfect, not so crazy about the downtown area, prefered to stay at the hotel, water was also great !

Room Tip: we had # 8 waves crashing full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear James,

We really want to thank you for taking the time to write us on Tripadvisor.

The Entire Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France Team was really delighted to participate to this magical moment. Everybody will be more than happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Flamands Bay was magnificent with this floral decoration! It was such a beautiful day.

We do hope to welcoming back your lovely group & family,

Best sunny regards,

Chirstelle Hilpron, General Manager & her Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
2,086 helpful votes 2,086 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

One of the best hotels I've ever been to. Beautiful setting, very well appointed, outstanding service. Perhaps one of the reasons that LVMH acquired the property in April.

Nevertheless, you have several outstanding hotels on the island to choose from…why did we come here as opposed to other hotels where we have stayed on the island? It's on the beach…I should say, a good beach...and this is rare.

The rooms were recently done over and with very good taste. Even the wifi was excellent.

Staffers were happy and very attentive.

As a point of attention, you should be careful about the room you choose. The rooms on the first floor and beach do not offer much privacy…Also the health club is very limited.

We look forward to returning in the near future.

Was this helpful? Please let me know.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor and beach do not offer much privacy. If you want privacy, get a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us on Tripadvisor.

That is true, Flamands Beach is one of the best beaches of St Barths, and we do have a beautiful property. We just have accomplished a 5 years renovation program, and the property is now fully renovated. We have many different rooms, suites & villas categories to satisfy all our guests’ needs. The Tropical Garden is just a piece of heaven, and the perfect place if you are looking for privacy.

We are more than ever concentrated in the quality of the service provided, and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the friendly Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France Team is passionate and is at your entire disposal to fulfil all your wishes.

We do hope to welcome you back soon, and believe us, you will never stop to be surprised…

Best sunny regards from the whole Team,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager & Her Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just magnificent! We actually were a group of friends staying in a private villa and we went there several times for lunch.
Flamand is the most beautiful beach on the island. Staff is friendly and attentive.
Food is simple and very tasty. Service is amazing (ask for Mathilda who is a very funny person).
But, first of all, you will have to deal with the gorgeous host (manager?) Sederic.
This real gentleman will make you feel you are a top VIP (although you have to wait half an hour before getting a table, worth the wait anyway!) and will welcome you with an oustanding elegance.
To sum up, we felt home.
Will definitely go back and stay there next time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Cédrick GUERINEL, Assistant Manager Food & Beverage at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write us on Tripadvisor, and paying tribute to the Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France Team, it is our best reward.

That is true, Flamands beach is one of the best beaches of St Barths, and we have for sure a beautiful property.
But, what makes this place so magical, is the people who work there, and our dear guests who love & encourage this family & friendly ambiance.

It was our pleasure to welcome you in our restaurant, and we do hope to welcome you back in our Hotel, Restaurants & Spa, as we could continue to fulfil all your wishes.

Warmest regards from all the Team,

Cédrick GUERINEL, Assistant Manager Food & Beverage, and all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I decided to ask my girlfriend to marry me in St. Bart's, and the crew at Isle de France became my partners in crime in planning the day. My contact there, Zora, was fantastic, arranging a photographer, champagne, lunch, and basically making it easy for me to focus on doing my part well. They were unbelievably accomodating, and made our very special moment something that we will never forget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Responsable réception at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Peter,

The Entire Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France Team would like to thank you for your beautiful personal testimony on Tripadvisor.
We were all of us very moved by your history and proposal.

It was our pleasure to help you to make this special and magical moment unforgettable.

Congratulations! We wish you a life full of love, and happiness…

We do hope to welcome you back in Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France,

Zora Stratenwerth, Front Desk Manager & the whole Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We did not stay at this hotel, but used all of their services.

We were staying in a private villa, so we like to visit the different beaches. We visited this hotel 4 times in 2013, and each time was better than the last.

Starting by pulling up to the Valet, great guys who remember you with great customer service. We used the spa and I must say it was one of the best spa experiences I have had, they have you choose from 4 different aromatherapy scents, and after the massage they brought me a delicious strawberry ice cream, vanilla wafer and beverage. Our massage therapists were really wonderful and professional

The Restaurant both on the beach and up top are excellent, we enjoyed many lunches and love the fashion shows. Service and food are excellent. The view from the restaurant of the beach is so beautiful. We also love enjoying time on their plush lounge chairs complete with towels and wait service. I have to say this hotel is truly stunning from the moment you walk in the color of the ocean through the hallway is just beautiful set against all the white and neutrals.

We enjoy the private villa experience but if we ever stay at a hotel this one would top at our list!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Nicole,

The Entire Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France Team is really happy to read your beautiful comment on Tripadvisor.
Every men & women work with passion here that is why your satisfaction represents such a reward for all of us.

We do hope to welcome you back in our hotel, restaurants, Boutique and Spa,

Warmest regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager & her Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

First time one St. Bart for NYE and boy was it busy but the hotel made you feel like you where the only one , everything and anything you want are just a call away!! Breakfast , lunch or dinner was great along with excellent service!! The beach was among the best on the island and location was just what we wanted. We don't want to leave! We are still on the island making plans already for our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your beautiful comment on Tripadvisor. It is such an honor for our whole Team to read your kind rave review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your holidays at our Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France, especially for the NYE. We wish you a wonderful year, full of happiness, joy and sun!

We really do hope to welcome you back in our little paradise,

With all the warmest regards from the Entire Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France Team,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France

Address: Baie des Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel St Barth Isle de France)
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Flamands Bay, widely regarded as the island's finest, the iconic Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France is home to 40 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas, with panoramic beach views or nestled in the lush gardens. Savor an exquisite locally-inspired French cuisine created by Chef Yann Vinsot at La Case de l'Isle restaurant overlooking the pool and the ocean or at La Cabane de l'Isle for a feet-in-the-sand lunch or a private dinner. The Cheval Blanc Spa and its Pavilion hidden in the tropical vegetation, offer Guerlain rituals, in exclusivity in the Caribbean. Enjoy a highly personalized service, exclusive events organized with the most prestigious champagne houses, tailor-made experiences imagined by a passionate team. The Concept Store proposes you latest creation of local and international designers and fashion show every Tuesday night around the pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.