We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Less Than Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St Barth Isle de France

Save Saved
You added Hotel St Barth Isle de France to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel St Barth Isle de France
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | PB 612, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel amenities
Holetown, Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Less Than Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 5 days at the St.Barth Isle de France. We arrived on the 26th and stayed until the 30th October. The staff, room, spa, and restaurants were the best we have experienced in years anywhere we have travelled.
We will recommend to everyone we know and will be back in the near future without a doubt!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, General Manager at Hotel St Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your warm comment on Trip Advisor,

We are very happy that you & your boyfriend had a pleasant stay with us,

It will be our pleasure to see you again at Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France, and we hope we will surprise you again!

Best sunny regards from all the team

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    24
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
27
95
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We celebrated our 20th anniversary here for 10 days...it was an amazing experience. Beautiful hotel and accommodations. The best part was the gracious service of the staff. Our butlers - Thomas and Alex - made our stay extra special. They were available to accommodate any needs or wants. They were professional, pleasant and proactive. Such a special treat to have them. We also appreciated the morning staff at the restaurant who greeted us every day by name and with a smile. No need went unmet. The bar staff - flo - made sure he had the blue cheese olives ready for our perfect martini. Thank you to the staff for making our celebration so relaxing and special. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The beachfront suite was absolutely amazing. Very expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, General Manager at Hotel St Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really want to thank you for this beautiful comment on Trip Advisor, which is such a reward for all the Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France team.

We are more than happy that you loved your stay at our property, we can say that our wish is granted.

It was our pleasure to meet you and to share with you this experience,

We simply hope to greet you soon, maybe for your next birthday!

Best sunny regards from all the teams,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager & Her Teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have not stayed at this hotel however, when we are in St Barths we like to visit other hotels for a change of scenery and other dining options and we really like to visit this property, for drinks a nice lunch and or the spa. That being said, the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, love the white and blue decor. Just stunning.

The food is good but can be inconsistent at times, great wine list etc.

The spa is very small and intimate, you have the option of having your massage indoors or outdoors in the garden. We chose the outdoors in the garden, which I do not recommend. While you are in this this lush tranquil garden, I found it hard to relax due to being attacked by mosquitoes during my massage. They spray the area with repellent which doesn't make for good aromatherapy and it just kills the mood so to speak. The massage itself was good but I would opt for indoors next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Hotel St Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment on Trip Advisor, and we are really happy that you appreciated the Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France, its decor, and our restaurants.
This year, our Chief Yann Vinsot invites you to discover our new menus, full of tasty suggestions.

We are really sorry for the inconvenience with the mosquitos, actually we use special candles, and a natural spray for the skin. Please be sure that we will take in consideration your comment, and find a better solution to avoid this.
We will always try to improve the service that we provide to our dear guests.

We hope to welcome you back this year to discover the new massages & treatments at the Spa,

Best sunny regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager, and Her teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

a beautiful hotel located directly on Flamands Beach. Many rooms open directly on the beach and they certainly are the ones to try. the restaurant is the perfect location for lunch. the fashion show every Tuesday night is not to be missed. i certainly will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Hotel St Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Ed,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great comment on Trip Advisor, and we are really happy that you loved your stay at Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France.

It would be a real pleasure to welcome you back at our property, or at our restaurants La Case de l’Isle or La Cabane de l’Isle. The loyalty of our lovely guest is our best reward!

All the friendly teams of Hotel Saint Barth Isle de France will be glad to hear those beautiful compliments.

Best sunny regards from all the Saint-Barth Isle de France Team,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager, and Her teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited IDF twice earlier in the year and will be returning again later this year. IDF is our paradise and little secret which we are reluctant to share with others. However, reading some of the recent comments here has made us rethink that perhaps we should take time out to write about our favourite holiday destination.

IDF is a superb boutique hotel run by a dedicated professional team. They make us feel like family immediately when we arrive at the airport. The hotel, beautiful gardens and beach are well maintained and immaculate. Housekeeping’s attention to detail is on par with the top hotels of the world and we were especially impressed by them this year. The staff in the restaurant and beach club was attentive and service level was very high. The quality of food in the hotel restaurant is so good that we always debate as to whether to dine outside or stay in after a busy day of sunbathing!

IDF has a base of loyal clients (like us) who visit annually and in fact book a year in advance to avoid disappointment. There is a mixture of chic and trendy ambience together with a host of sophisticated clients.

Similar to other Caribbean islands, choosing the right time of the year to visit is key to your enjoyment.

Having exacting standards and demanding the best in life, we drive around every year to check out other hotels and we know that we have chosen the best hotel in St Barths for us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Hotel St Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write this so eulogistic comment on Trip Advisor about Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France.

It is a real reward for all our teams because we daily work to satisfy all our guests’ needs and requests.

We are so attached to a warm welcome for our dear guests, and we are really happy that you have enjoyed once again your experience at Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France.

We hope to joyfully greet you soon,

Best sunny and friendly regards,

Christelle Hilpron, general Manager & Her Teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We planned to spend a fabulous vacation on the island, but unfortunately the place was not meant for it. Frankly it's not good value for money. First of all even though we stayed in a spacious villa with a large terrace it was impossible to spend time on it. Each time we tried to relax we were immediately attacked by plenty of mosquitoes. The staff was helpful providing us with mosquito nets and different sprays and readily sent the maid to clean the dirty windows of their "best" villa. But still several times a day we had to spray repellents all over our body and clothes and breath in this smell. Another option for relaxation was staying indoors or near a small pool where all the hotel guests gather as the hotel doesn't have any other territory for the guests to spend time. It's a big disadvantage of the hotel. I don't think that other guests of the hotel were luckier than us, they just had to put up with everything once the've come or not pay attention to anything as the hotel doesn't refund if you want to leave earlier because you don't get what you have expected and paid for. Other things which do not represent good value for money is the beach which is narrow and very steep (we don't recommend to come with small children) and the only restaurant which serves breakfast and lunch and dinner. Friendly servers and the girls at the reception are the only plus we can mention. The director preferred not to listen to our complaints in person, but phoned. It seems that she is more concerned with her own profit than with the satisfaction of the guests and the reputation of the hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms near the ocean are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel St Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you found the villa spacious and the staff helpful and friendly.

I am sorry that you had such a difficult time with the mosquitoes. We arranged for extra anti-mosquito treatments, over and above the usual ones, the very first day you told us about the problem. I know that you were satisfied with the extra mosquito net and the sprays provided, as you mentioned this to the front desk. However, I am sorry that all the solutions provided did not finally meet your expectations.

It is a shame that the weather in July didn’t allow you to experience our beautiful beach: we usually have a large beach where people like to relax but the beach has been eroded by the sea earlier than usual this year. This normally happens during September, when the hotel is closed.

It was sad that you left before the end of your stay. As Christelle Hilpron, our General Manager, told you, our cancellation policy is strict but we can help you with your travel insurance company should you wish to claim through them.

We very much hope that you will give the hotel a second chance; We would be very pleased to welcoming you back at Hotel St Barth Isle de France.

Yours sincerely,


Assistant Hotel Manager - Guest Care Manager at Hotel St Barth Isle de France,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a stunning villa with private outdoor pool up the hill, gazing on the bay. Verry helpful and nice staff. Hotel offers a wide range of service. Its just a perfect escape! Georgeouse beach where you can grabe a good meal with a nice bottle of wine. Cocktails are just amazing . I really love aswell my personnelized Iced latte ! The restaurant by night is just a once- in-a-lifetime Experience ! The view!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBIDF, General Manager at Hotel St Barth Isle de France, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

All the hotel team and me thank you for taking the time to share this really nice comment on Trip Advisor following your stay in June.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you at Hotel St Barth Isle de France.
We are all happy to read that you appreciated that much the property and enjoyed the beach, the service and the food.
Our staff takes a great deal of pleasure in making sure that all our guests’ needs are met and it is hugely rewarding for them to receive a review such as this.
Thanking you again for your appreciation.
We do look forward to welcoming you back among us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Christelle Hilpron, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St Barth Isle de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Barth Isle de France

Address: | PB 612, Anse des Flamands 97133, St Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Barth Isle de France 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the French West Indies, St Barthelemy is a 25km square island of elegance and charm. Hotel St Barth Isle de France sits on the breathtaking beach of Baie des Flamands, in a picturesque corner of St Barth. This charming hotel has a total of 40 luxurious rooms, suites and villas on the beach and in the lush tropical gardens. The Isle de france Spa team, in partnership with Natura Bissé and Intraceuticals, offers a large range of amazing treatments.The Case de L’Isle, our al fresco restaurant serves fresh, light and elegant French cuisine. The restaurant over looks the ocean and had additional seating directly on the sand for relaxed lunches.We also have a boutique which holds a fashion show in the restaurant every lunch time, a fresh water pool that overlooks the beach and a fitness center…Paradise…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel St Barth Isle de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St Barth Isle de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.