We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had to move” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foresters House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Foresters House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Foresters House Bed & Breakfast
Station Road | Inverkip, Inverkip PA16 0AY, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Inverkip B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I had to move”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Planning to stay for a month but the room was unacceptably small, at the back garden of the house (extension?).
I could hardly move inside the room even if I did not have my luggages with me.
Wifi signal was minimal and was cut at 23:00 every night.
No noise isolation from the next room (similar to mine) and I had to stand the TV and the constant talk over the phone by whoever was staying there.
I did not try the breakfast so I cannot comment on that and I cannot comment about the rest of the rooms at the main building.
After a few days, I left!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate feedback from our customers. We are sorry the cottage room did not meet your requirements. The cottage room was built to specifications and size for wheelchair access and wheelchair mobility and we apologise if this was not clear at time of booking. Unfortunately due to the amount of luggage , space in the room was limited. We endeavour to offer a high standard of accommodation to our guests and pride ourselves on the quality, hygiene and value for money of the rooms. Unfortunately the cost of a larger room was not acceptable. If we had been aware of any problems we would have done our best to rectify the situation. Thank you for taking time to submit a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
25
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fiona and I are visiting various locations on the west coast this year, looking to purchase first 'big boat' and place to keep her ( Aberdeen is not sail boat friendly! ).We were delighted
with the warm welcome and the cosy, clean, spacious room. Breakfast was as good as it gets'.
Rhona and Jim could chat all day ( If time allowed') giving info' and advice on the surrounding
area,which is lovely,and includes a fantastic marina. Whether a 'yachtie' or not this is a great
place to stay....would return anytime!
Graham & Fiona Justice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Looking for a boat can be as much fun as buying one. We are so glad you had a good time while in Inverkip. Yes Jim and I could talk for Scotland when it comes to Inverkip, Inverclyde and boats. We always enjoy speaking to our guests and giving them information. Hope we did not talk too much!! We hope you have found your dream boat and location. Thank you for the review and you never know we may see you at Inverkip again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My sister and I came here, while visiting a relative in Glasgow.We had beautiful weather and light until 10.30p.m,, which added to the beauty of the area.The accommodation was a treat too-Rhona gave us a warm welcome and helped us with all sorts of information.We were not driving, so were dependent on local transport.It was easy for us to get the local bus into Largs,, Gourock etc and the railway station was very close too.Our rooms(double en suite for single occupancy were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean and at a reasonable rate!).Rhona recommended the local hotel for our evening meal and it was excellent.Breakfast, at Foresters House,was ideal-entirely our choice!.We would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting this area and hope we will go there again!

CATHERINE MC GUINNESS

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Inverclyde and The Foresters House. We are so lucky to stay in this area and we have a very good transport system as you discovered which makes it so easy to move around without having to have a car. We enjoyed your company and hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My father and I were recently doing a road trip of Scotland and we landed in Inverkip and needed to find a room - this was a perfect choice! The room was warm, beds comfortable, and breakfast was excellent with vegetarian AND weight watchers option for cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you appreciated the choice of breakfasts. I think it is very important to offer a choice which suits different lifestyles. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Scotland and had a good journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Have stayed here on two occasions while working on friends boat in nearby Marina(to cold to sleep on boat) Very comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast, very clean large room with bathroom, excellent free WiFi, will most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a boat on marina and don't want to sleep overnight onboard, this is the place to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
You are not alone in not wanting to stay on a boat when it is cold and damp!!! We are pleased we could offer you a safe and warm haven our of the cold and the wet. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you are enjoying good weather and fair winds in the boat and hope to see you next year when it all begins again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights this week, very welcoming reception from Rhona and Jim,couldn't have asked for more. Very clean and comfortable room with good free wi-fi, as it should be. Good choice for breakfast, didn't try the cooked offering but kind of wished I had!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed staying at The Foresters and thank you for your comments.
I was a bit thick when I saw your nom de plume as I thought it had something to do with Para Handy!! It took me a little while!! Hope to see you again if you are ever up at Waterloo Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a clean, modern and delightful B&B. Lovely large room and bathroom, fantastic breakfast and is run by warm and friendly people. I highly recommend this b&b and would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip1, Owner at Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. It was good of you taking the time. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip to Inverkip and had a good time with your friends. You were lucky to have enjoyed a barbeque at that time! Take care and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Foresters House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresters House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Station Road | Inverkip, Inverkip PA16 0AY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Inverkip
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Marina Village of Inverkip on the beautiful Clyde Coast, The Foresters House bed and breakfast Inverkip Greenock is a GOLD Visit Scotland 3 Star Bed and Breakfast run by husband and wife team Jim and Rhona Wallace. The area is famous for its stunning scenery, lochs, golf courses, sailing, maritime history and fresh seafood. The area is known as the Gateway to the Highlands Inverkip Village is near Greenock, Gourock, and Largs and only 10 minutes from ferries to Bute and Dunoon. There are direct train links to Glasgow which takes 45 minutes, Glasgow International Airport is 30 minutes away and forty minutes from Glasgow Prestwick Airport and for those arriving by boat, we are 5 minutes walk from Inverkip Marina. The Foresters House has been carefully renovated to provide quality accommodation and has been designed to give visitors privacy with the confidence that Jim and Rhona are on hand to assist. Foresters House facilities: Free wifi, full en-suite facilities, flat screen TV with satellite connection in all bedrooms, guest lounge, extensive breakfast choice. For your added comfort and well being, we have also installed an air purification system. We accept debit, Visa and Mastercards. 3 Excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foresters House Bed & Breakfast Inverkip, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foresters House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.