We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head

Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head
High Road, Chigwell, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Chigwell
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Postcode: IG7 6QA Tel: +44 (0) 208 559 1155
Essex, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Good basic food, however it is over priced.

Too busy and loud, full of fake tan and attitude. Second visit and found lunch time tone more civilised. There are so many better places to go for your money .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    105
    63
    61
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshunt
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“a great people watching experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We came here for a birthday treat with friends, it's a great people watching place especially if you like towie. Food very good and huge portions, great service and you can dance after your food upstairs with a great d.j.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Much better than I thought”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

After reading mixed reviews, I thought this isn't the place for me.

On a Monday night, and looking for somewhere with a bit of life, this is an option. The kebabs were of a high standard, service was fine, our bill was incorrect, but was soon put right, after pointing out the extra meal was never had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Birthday treat for a friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Wow, if you want perfect surrounding, lovely food and great entertainment, this is the place for you. On arrival, guided to a parking place and advised where to go, per dinner drinks in beautiful surroundings. Ate in the conservatory, six of us had a mixture of starters, five had chicken kebab as a main, I had a fillet steak with peppercorn sauce, omg the meat melted in my mouth, well worth every penny, asked for medium to rare, and it was.

After dinner back upstairs to the bar and listen to to female volcalist, very entertaining.

Wish I could eat here every week.

Make that special trip and go, please take me though

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“SUNDAY LUNCH IN CHIGWELL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our second visit here, and all good. We enjoyed drinks outside, and then sat in the Conservatory for lunch. Service was good, and the food very tasty. I guess this place has a more party atmosphere in the evenings at the weekend. Would defiantly recommend here, especially if your in a big group, or are celebrating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head also viewed

 
Woodford Green, Essex
 

Been to Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.