We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head

Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head
High Road, Chigwell, England
02085591155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17 Restaurants in Chigwell
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Postcode: IG7 6QA Tel: +44 (0) 208 559 1155
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

paying for the location,good food,sevice could be better,live singers entertaintant bit old hat & far too many TOWIE wannabes

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    129
    74
    66
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smart Restaurant Very Bling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The restaurant is very smart and snazzy. The food was good, my husband enjoyed the fish, I had the chicken kebab. The waiter made a bit of a hash of things and there was a bit of a mix up over who ordered what, meaning one of our friends had to wait for his starter, but the waiter apologised and sorted it out pretty quickly, and in a polite manner. It was quite reasonably priced. We went upstairs for a drink, the music wasnt much kop, but the fact that it was Austin off the X factor, made it more entertaining for us. He's a gorgeous little thing, with lovely eyes and an even better physique, i'd like to take him home with me and mother him, he's a nice bit of eye candy. The bar and music was a bit of a let down, i'd go back but would have friends back to ours for a drink instead.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“It remains a model other restaurants aspire to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've been to this venue a few times and each time it seems to get better and better.

It’s still one of the most reliably exciting places to eat in Essex or even in London. The food was really so delicious. We would say that we usually come to this place especially because of Karisik Grill (a mixed selection of all meats), and also Lamb Sis, the most favourite one (marinated cubes of lamb grilled on skewers). Believe us, it is soooo yummy! Monk fish kebab was made perfectly as well - very very tender with grilled vegs.

Definitely the management keeps eyes on the provided service, offering scrumptious meal, inviting musicians for entertainment and creating warm atmosphere.
It is very much appreciated by us, guests. Well done!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Think we had the best seat in the house right in front of the chefs! Good atmosphere very busy every table booked. Our friends had said the starters were large so we ordered a meze for two and was plenty for four and staff didn't mind us sharing. Good choice of food and wine. Would have liked to sit and chat at the table a bit longer felt a little rushed to go upstairs but we didn't sit down till 9!
Would go back and book a little earlier next time. Would definitely recommend. Upstairs in the bar was entertainment which was really good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't even think of booking if your a party of ladies 6 or more”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just called to make a reservation two months in advance and was told we couldn't book a table of more than six ladies, mixed couples would be fine. How sexist, considering we are in the twentieth century. We are a group of older ladies who all know how to act on a night out. I have dined here before, and food was good, just a shame we won't be enjoying the experience as a group.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head also viewed

Woodford, Greater London
 
Buckhurst Hill, Essex
Woodford, Greater London
 

Been to Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheesh at Ye Olde Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.