We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average food, average service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Papillion Italian restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Papillion Italian restaurant
Brook Parade | High Road, Chigwell, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 17 Restaurants in Chigwell
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very average food, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food simply was very average. We only stopped by to have a quick bite to eat after watching some sports nearby so we had no idea about the restaurant.

Our group of 4 ordered plates of pasta and overall the food served was of very average quality as another reviewer said a throw back to the 1970s and not in a good way.

The service was scatty and not really attentive. They played music just a bit too loud.

Overall not a great experience and won't be going back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    8
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate here and were all very disappointed . The fish was full of bones , the salad looked like a supermarket packet and getting a waiters attention is impossible. Why is it crowded , there are far better restaurants in the area. It's a throw back to the 1970's and definately not in a good way. Do yourself a favour , the bluebell is far superior and similarly priced

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I must confess that this restaurant was full! But my partner and I found the food very average, the veal in breadcrumbs lacked seasoning, the sauté potatoes lacked sauté and the salad was out of a packet, we know this because we saw the waiter get it from the fridge! Staff were friendly enough but the food disappointed us both.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lovely staff, lovely food, lovely atmosphere, great service and a little boogie at the end to top it off - very relaxed night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanstead
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stylish and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had dinner with 2 friends recently in Papillon having been there 3 or 4 times since it opened. It was even better than normal. Friendly and fast service from the waiters and the quality of the food was first rate. I had avocado and crab followed by skate wing with a black butter sauce and capers. The avocado was just perfect as was the crab. The skate wing was nice and large and beautifully cooked with the butter on the side as I had requested. The accompanying vegetables were delicious. Reasonably priced wines complemented the fantastic food. The restaurant is stylish and very clean. Will be going back again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papillion Italian restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Papillion Italian restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papillion Italian restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.