We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back of Chapel Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Back of Chapel Backpackers to your Saves list
Back of Chapel Backpackers
50 Green St, Windsor, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best hostel in melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

a real home away from home , only meaning to stay two weeks ive ended up being there for four months, back of chapel has a certain charm and a lot of character . receptions very friendly and will help with anything . being small and intimate it has a real family feel about it. highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi Holly_nz1991,

Thanks for posting your review.

You have definitely chosen some choice words like Charm, Character, Small and Intimate. That's how we would like to describe what Back of chapel is and should be like.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay with us!

thanks again,

Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
7
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Back of Chapel has a certain charm that you can find only in few place in Australia. Friendly and particulary well located on Chapel street, B.O.C has offered me all I needed during my stay in Melbourne. Plain breakfast every morning, free internet and foxtel on a big TV screen to chill out. It is not a cheap 4 or 5 stars hotel, it is just a great place to meet people you will never forget. You intend to stay few weeks in Melbourne or you are passing throught BOC is a place to stay around the place to be !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi ADL44,

Thanks for writing your review. We love to read how you enjoyed your stay and it will not be a memory forgotten.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Excellent little hostel with a perfect location, tram/train stops around the corner, lots of bars and restaurants in within 2 mins walk. Cool atmosphere with all the backpackers. Staying in a private room which is great. Extended the stay it's that good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi willtomo,

Thanks for posting your review.

It seems you are not alone with making a booking and extending your stay because you enjoyed it here. That's always great to see. We hope the rest of your travels around Australia are lot's of fun.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

It is a really nice quiete little Hostel, in one of the best Areas in Melbourne. Location is perfect, supermarket, tramstation, Bars, Restaurant, Nightclubs and lots of shops and markets are just around the corner.
The Atmosphere in the Hostel is more like a litte family, because the Hostel is not too big. Free Wifi and free Breakfeast is an extra plus on the list and the prices are fair. ( Just the to smal frige and the missing oven is a bit annoying)
Really enjoy my stay here with some awesome people, good location and the very friendly and helpful staff.

Cheers Matt

Room Tip: Some Dorms upstairs include an Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi Matt K,

Thanks for posting your review of Back of Chapel!

We think free Wifi and free Breakfast is a must for any backpackers these days. We are in the process of upgrading the fridges to provide more space for every guest.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here.

Thanks again,

Aaron

(4 bed dorms with the balconies are the pick of the hostel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Back of chapel backpackers is a nice, shared house type of hostel. Rooms and kitchen are cleaned everyday by the nice cleaning lady and the owners Aaron and his brother are nice, normal friendly guys. After visiting five other hostels in Melbourne, I decided to stay here for the next 1,5 months, like most of the backpackers here. Location is pretty ideal, Chapel st offers restaurants, stores, nightclubs, gyms and grocery stores. st kilda beach is only 25min walk distance and trams go there as well. Trams takes you easily to city center (CBD) in 10mins.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi Ripatius,

Thanks for posting your review.

It's great to read that you stayed in 5 other hostels in Melbourne and chose to stay with us for the rest of your time in Melbourne.

Thanks for stating our location and how easy it is to get around from here using the Melbourne public transport system.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia,

Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

When i first arrived it was meant as a temporary stop while looking for a apartment. But after a week staying here i found myself loving it so much i did not even bother looking any further for another place.
The place is very clean and gets cleaned every morning.
There is a free breakfast every morning. With several things to choose from.
The common room feels like a big home living room where u can relax, have a chat, play a game, or watch a movie.
The home like feeling makes it easy to get to know your fellow backpackers without compromising your nights rest or privacy.
The location ( a side street of Chappell st ) is nearby almost every thing. Public transport is literally around the corner and there is a coles, aldi and woolworth in walking distance.
Chappell st is filled with bars, restaurants, clubs, and clothing stores to discover. But because its on a side street of the busy street u don't have to worry about to much noise or disturbance.
Overall it is the greatest hostel i have stayed so far.
Thx back of Chappell

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi Furtaly,

Its so fantastic for us to read a review with so many positive quotes. So many of our guests are exactly like yourself. "make a booking for a week" end up "loving it so much you do not even bother looking for another place"

Thanks for pointing out some great facts.

Thanks for staying with us!

Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a great hostel and it is apparent as soon as you arrive when you are welcomed by Aaron who is a fantastically helpful guy. He will provide you with all the basics needed to enjoy your stay both at Back of Chapel and Melbourne. Furthermore, rooms are cleaned on a daily basis by Cally who is really friendly and has a good joke.
The location is truly the best; lying about 30metres from the bustle of Chapel Street which is one of the coolest streets in Melbourne. Not only do you have some of the best eateries on your doorstep, you also have great bars, Albert Park and The Botanical Gardens all in easy walking distance.

The facilities at Back of Chapel are generally basic but it does have an annexe room behind the kitchen with 3 showers, 3 toilets and an iron which is great. The small patio area outside also has a long table which is great for summer bbqs.

Most importantly however is the people who stay here and everyone is very friendly. The hostel often has socials and the place is more like a large house share than a hostel per se.

Cheers for the great stay.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms at where it's at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for your fantastic review scooklins,

We love the Title!

Back of Chapel is always trying to improve each day. We have been upgrading many areas and look forward to continue this over the next few months.

All of our guests claim that we more of a large house than a hostel. This is evident with guests like yourself who create such a fantastic vibe and homely feel. This is one of Back of Chapels most important assets and we make sure it continues.

We hope you have enjoyed the rest of your time in Melbourne and Australia.

Thanks again,

Aaron, Josh and Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Back of Chapel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back of Chapel Backpackers

Address: 50 Green St, Windsor, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Back Of Chapel is devoted to providing our guests with the best experience. We hope to see you soon.”Back of Chapel is a 150 year old Victorian terrace, which has recently been renovated. We are Located in the South-Eastern suburb of Windsor in Melbourne, Australia. Back Of Chapel is nestled in the core of Chapel Street, which is a vibrant, cultural and popular tourist area in Melbourne. Chapel Street provides an historic setting with diverse dining in many cafes, restaurants and bars as well as innovative architecture with exciting arts and cultural venues. Here at Back Of Chapel we pride ourselves on offering the most fun, friendly and chilled out hostel in Melbourne. All of our rooms are reasonably priced and we cater for many types of travelers. Many of our guests make a reservation for a few days and end up staying for a few months. The diversity and enthusiasm of our guests provide a great family vibe. You can always count on meeting new and friendly people from all over the world. Back Of Chapel also has a dedicated bar for backpackers and friends. The BOC bar features a variety of local and imported beer, wine and spirits all at low prices. Our friendly staff will always make you feel welcome. If you are looking to stay for a few nights or a few months, Back Of Chapel will provide a homely and relaxed feel that will make your stay in Melbourne more enjoyable than anywhere else. Please note that our triple rooms consist of a double bed and a single bunk on top.Hostel reception hours are:8:30am-5pm everyday (closed 1-2pm)Recommended for guests over 18 years of Age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Back of Chapel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back of Chapel Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.