We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back of Chapel Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Back of Chapel Backpackers to your Saves list
Back of Chapel Backpackers
50 Green St, Windsor, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I booked in for two weeks after moving to Melbourne to look for work at the end of July and I'm only now about to leave to continue my travels. I'll actually be a bit gutted to depart because of the risk my next port of call might not be anywhere near as cool!

There are a few people who have lived there for a while (working and/or studying) so there is a relaxed, domestic vibe at times which I think is quite nice - a bit of a sanctuary rather than it just be a high turnover/full blown party all the time which is what I imagine it to be like at some of the bigger chain hostels. I put my washing out on the line out the back the other day and then sat out the back in the sun with a coffee and played guitar. It was really nice :). That's not to say people don't enjoy their big nights in/out - it's full of vibrant, young travelers and close to so many bars that it's kind of unavoidable.

If I need accommodation when I come back to Melbourne I would definitely put this place at the top of my list. Josh, Aaron and Kelly have all been really lovely to deal with and they maintain very high standards. On the whole pretty much everyone I've met while I've been there has been really considerate as well which is great.

Also, if you're coming for work they have a job board which I know a number of people (including myself) have picked up a range of work from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for writing such an informative review. It shows that we are a backpacker for short term guests. We try and make Back of Chapel comfortable and affordable and because of this guests keep on extending their reservations. If you do come back we would be more than happy to have you here. safe travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
8
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

An amazing hostel with very helpful staff and a great atmosphere. Very close to all the excitement, bars, cafes and shops of Chapel Street. Also close to good transport links to the CBD and other areas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for posting your review. Chapel st is fantastic and we are close to trams and trains to get to the city or other areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first place in Australia and we stayed for about five nights. Great location within walking distance of two train stations and several bus lines and everything Chapel Street has to offer. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, really made us feel at home. Decent breakfast, space heater in the room, good bathroom facilities and overall clean. We went on tour for two days and were allowed to keep our bags there, no worries. Would definitely recommend and would stay again. I loved the neighborhood too and it was fairly easy to get downtown on public transport.

Room Tip: We had a double and the room next to us was a dorm, so if that bothers you just double check. The do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. As tripadvisor has it, we are the ranked the number one in specialty lodging in the Windsor area of Melbourne. It's only a 5 minute walk to Windsor station, and probably about 10 minutes to Prahran station. Almost every guests loves the area we are in. It's full of shops, restaurants and cafes and we are so close to the city!
thank again for the review and we hope the rest of your travels around Australia were a blast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Perfect location, nice team, very helpful and friendly, awesome showers, and a clean hostel. I stayed there for 6 months and had a really good time, there is a good atmosphere, it feels like home. I would definitely come back.
The managers are really open and caring with their guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for posting your review. We like to hear what our guests have to say and act upon this. We are more than happy to see that you enjoyed our awesome showers and clean facilities. We would definitely like to see you back here! safe travels..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

In the 8 months that I've stayed here, not planned at all but I got a little bit too comfortable, I've had a great time. Good facilities, great staff and especially the location is perfectly situated on Chapelstreet. If you like smaller hostels that have the feeling of a share house, (most guest in summer stay here for a longer period), go here.
Jente

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Jente,
Fantastic guests like yourself make Back of Chapel what it is. Cool people that are easy to meet and talk to. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you are planning to go to Melbourne this is the place I should really recommend to the people who look for budget accommodation. Back of Chapel is just off lively Chapel Street in Windsor and close to anywhere you can imagine , in fact , off Green Street free parking is available(up to 2 hours between 9am-6pm but the street is usually very quiet) which is a big advantage in Melbourne if you have a car. The staff Aaron and Josh are both very friendly people and they will help you with anything you need during your stay. My first choice is always Back of Chapel since 2009 and I have not been disappointed at all...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for posting your review. It's great that parking is for free. Next time you come we will have to show you where you can park your car and not have to move it after 2 hours. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hostel is not big, you dont get 12 people in your room. You can be very quiet in your own place but you can also make friends very quickly.
It is an organized place, very safe and with an excelent location (near Chapel st.)..
For the ones planning to get a quick view of Melbourne is near enough of the CBD and St Kilda also.
Its a good place to stay for a little while and also good to stay longer.

Awesome location, cozy rooms, great people and also the best cost!

Room Tip: The girls room get a lot of noise in the morning, but the others are just fine! There s one with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for writing a review on our TripAdvisor profile.
If you could explain the morning noise in the girl’s dorm we will be sure to look into it so we can update it for our future guests.
You have mentioned many great opinions about us. We are a small boutique Backpackers and our largest room is only 6 people. It’s great to know that if you need to be quiet on your own or if you want to go out and make friends quickly both options are available. We think that Back of Chapel Backpackers is a great option for short and long term guests that may want to stay out of the CBD/downtown area but still be very close to it.
Enjoy the rest of your trip,
The BOC team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Back of Chapel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back of Chapel Backpackers

Address: 50 Green St, Windsor, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Back Of Chapel is devoted to providing our guests with the best experience. We hope to see you soon.”Back of Chapel is a 150 year old Victorian terrace, which has recently been renovated. We are Located in the South-Eastern suburb of Windsor in Melbourne, Australia. Back Of Chapel is nestled in the core of Chapel Street, which is a vibrant, cultural and popular tourist area in Melbourne. Chapel Street provides an historic setting with diverse dining in many cafes, restaurants and bars as well as innovative architecture with exciting arts and cultural venues. Here at Back Of Chapel we pride ourselves on offering the most fun, friendly and chilled out hostel in Melbourne. All of our rooms are reasonably priced and we cater for many types of travelers. Many of our guests make a reservation for a few days and end up staying for a few months. The diversity and enthusiasm of our guests provide a great family vibe. You can always count on meeting new and friendly people from all over the world. Back Of Chapel also has a dedicated bar for backpackers and friends. The BOC bar features a variety of local and imported beer, wine and spirits all at low prices. Our friendly staff will always make you feel welcome. If you are looking to stay for a few nights or a few months, Back Of Chapel will provide a homely and relaxed feel that will make your stay in Melbourne more enjoyable than anywhere else. Please note that our triple rooms consist of a double bed and a single bunk on top.Hostel reception hours are:8:30am-5pm everyday (closed 1-2pm)Recommended for guests over 18 years of Age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Back of Chapel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back of Chapel Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.