We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay at Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back of Chapel Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Back of Chapel Backpackers to your Saves list
Back of Chapel Backpackers
50 Green St, Windsor, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The place to stay at Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Back of chapel is more like a big share house than a small hostel. Confortable and friendly, this place is a good place for a short term as well as a long term stay. Being almost on Chapel Street it is idealy located whether you are seeking for a hospitability's job or just for chilling out around one or two drinks. Thank to Kelly the house-keeper, Aaron and Josh the managers Back of Chapel is always clean and thoroughly upkeep. Free internet 24 h a day except you have to reload the connexion every 20 minutes to get and share and adequate bandwidth with your room mates, cozy tv room, terrace, backyard with barbi what else ! No stumbling-block to say except that the kitchen would require one more fridge. I recommend the room number 5 spacious and with balcony. I loved to stay in there, you should as well !

Room Tip: The room 5 and 6 are two spacious 4 beds dorm with balcony perfect to enjoy a sun bath during mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Owner at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind and positive review on Trip Advisor.
It’s great to see that you liked so much about Back of Chapel. We are so happy that you really enjoyed your stay and we hope you will return sometime soon. Sometimes the refrigerators can get quite busy. We are looking to upgrade the refrigeration system in the Kitchen shortly.
Enjoy the rest of your trip and thank you again.

Kind regards,
The Back of Chapel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
7
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Back of Chapel was like a breath of fresh air, after staying in many huge, noisy hostels in Melbourne that had zero charm - like the disgusting Coffee Palace for example! The Back of Chapel is really small with few guests so its became more like a family home than a hostel. Everyone became friends. The atmosphere was always friendly and cosy, I guess because it was so small. I loved the television room and the bar inside that offers excellent drink deals compared with the rest of Chapel Street. The location on Chapel Street was fantastic. If you walked left out of the hostel onto St Kilda Road you could get the 16 tram to St Kilda Beach and it was a short walk to Windsor Station so you could get to other parts of the city within 10 minutes. I ended up staying for months and made a great bunch of friends for life. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Room Tip: The 4 bed dorms on the top floor have a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Owner at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Wow, Thanks for writing such a terrific review for us.
One of the best parts of Back of Chapel is it's size. We are small and cozy. This gives us the opportunity to be personal with every guest. We have changed the bar area to a big TV room with HD foxtel and almost every channel available!
Although I can't work out who this is, we appreciate this review and hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As soon as you arrive at Back of Chapel, it's clear that you're going to be in safe hands. The managers, Aaron and Josh, appear to have a genuine passion for the business and unlike pretty much every other hostel in the country, prioritize their guests best interests over exploiting them for as much cash as possible.
Due to the relatively small size of the hostel and the general layout of the place, the hostel felt more like stopping at a mates house than being in a standard backpackers.
The hostel's cleaned on a daily basis, the rooms are a good size (especially the first floor balcony rooms- try and get yourself in there) and the location's second to none.
Needless to say, i'd strongly recommend the place to anyone stopping in this brilliant city.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor balcony rooms. The most spacious in the hostel with a large balcony over loo...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for your honest review Simon75Perth.
We would like to think that all our guests are in safe hands during their stay with us. Guests' best interest's are our priority. That's why we offer a free high speed Wi-Fi internet and a free breakfast every morning from 8:30am - 11:00am (12:00pm on weekends) Our guests often mention that the feel of our Backpackers is more like a house or home and it can't be compared to the standard Backpackers. The front rooms with the sunny balconies have more space because they are the 4 bed dorms. When you come back to Melbourne we will make sure that we can accommodate you in one of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Best thing with this hostel is that people are really friendly and because is not that big it's easy to make new friends. This place has more of a house share feeling than a backpackers. Many like me were long stayers so we were like a big family! Most nights hanging out in the back yard, drinking or having a bbq. And when people are having fun it can get loud... so if you're after a good night sleep and sensitive to noise you might need those ear plugs.(depending on which room you stay in too).
Good and clean toilets, showers and laundry facilities. Very nice with free Wifi and breakfast (until 11am and 12 on weekends!).
Downsides are that it's often fully booked and you may have to put up with changing rooms a lot. It can be a hassle and staff should improve on avoiding this problem. Kitchen was sometimes messy which recently resulted in that you have to rent your "cutlery kit", which is not as good than just getting what you need from the cupboards. Pans and pots could be in better condition too.

But over and all I loved this hostel! Friendly environment and good location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
• Hi Zussie,

• Thanks for your review!
• We are a small cozy Backpackers. As you wrote before, because of our size It's easy to make new friends. We are trying new ideas so guests can get a comfortable sleep and also so that the guests who want to stay up can do that as well. It seems that our free high-speed Wi-Fi and free breakfast is definitely a huge positive over other hostels in the area.
• We do get very busy in the summer months, so if you have not booked in advanced it is sometimes hard to navigate a free bed for consecutive nights. We constantly re-organise our system to avoid this problem. We definitely understand that the new kitchen deposit system is not as good, although it does keep the kitchen cleaner throughout the night. We have also recently purchased a new set of pots and pans.
• You were a fantastic guest and Back of Chapel definitely misses you. Please come back and see us soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Back of Chapel is a very friendly, homely hostel! Many guests originally book in for a couple of days and end up staying for a couple of months because it has a great vibe with really great people.

The hostel is under new management and Aaron and Josh are doing a great job and are very helpful and friendly. They are always chatting to guests to make sure guests are having a comfortable stay and see how they can change and improve Back of Chapel.

The hostel is cleaned daily and the kept in good condition. I met lots of new friends at the hostel and it has a friendly, relaxed vibe. There is a large kitchen, TV room and outside area where you can chill out and hang out with guests.

The location is fantastic, just off Chapel Street with lots of bars, restaurants, cafes and shops close by but the noise does not reach the hostel.

Overall, a really great, friendly hostel experience which I highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Safe Travels and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Firstly would like to say thanks to the back of chapel crew. I enjoyed my time living there.
This place is a great place to stay at. Many of the guests were long term people and as a result it felt like an extended family. We would all go out together on weekends and spend many hours playing wii or play station in one of the two tv rooms.
I stayed in a 6 bed dorm while at times it was a bit warm due to the extreme Melbourne heat. The room was cleaned regularly but as expected some guests got a bit lazy and didn't keep their stuff organised. Back of chapel provided a locker and a storage container that slides under the bed.
The kitchen was fine and cleaned daily as we're the showers.
Nothing could beat the location though. Only a short 5 minute walk to Windsor train station and then 10 minutes into the city. I wanted to extend my stay there but they were booked out. The managers Aaron and josh really looked after me. All I needed to do was ask them and they took care of it within a day. They really look out for their guests and are always trying to improve the place. I would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling.
I was treated like a person and expected to treat the place like a home which it was and will be the next time I am in town.
I don't understand how people could be negative towards this place as it it soo much better then many other hostels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Owner at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Wow, Thanks for writing such a terrific review for us.
One of the best parts of Back of Chapel is it's size. We are small and cozy. This gives us the opportunity to be personal with every guest. We have changed the bar area to a big TV room with HD foxtel and almost every channel available!
Although I can't work out who this is, we appreciate this review and hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llucmajor, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Back of Chapel gave us a good first-impression. The welcome was nice with the easy-going but straight forward owners. We felt comfortable there with our roommates and the staff. Many customers did not keep the kitchen clean but every morning it was tidied up by someone from the hostel. The bathrooms, though, were kept clean. The location was awesome as well as the Internet connection. More light into the living room and the bedrooms would be appreciated. We'd go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackOfchapel, Manager at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your positive review.
We think the location of our Backpackers is awesome, and the free high speed WIFI is very handy for all of our guests. We hope to see you back here someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Back of Chapel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back of Chapel Backpackers

Address: 50 Green St, Windsor, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Back Of Chapel is devoted to providing our guests with the best experience. We hope to see you soon.”Back of Chapel is a 150 year old Victorian terrace, which has recently been renovated. We are Located in the South-Eastern suburb of Windsor in Melbourne, Australia. Back Of Chapel is nestled in the core of Chapel Street, which is a vibrant, cultural and popular tourist area in Melbourne. Chapel Street provides an historic setting with diverse dining in many cafes, restaurants and bars as well as innovative architecture with exciting arts and cultural venues. Here at Back Of Chapel we pride ourselves on offering the most fun, friendly and chilled out hostel in Melbourne. All of our rooms are reasonably priced and we cater for many types of travelers. Many of our guests make a reservation for a few days and end up staying for a few months. The diversity and enthusiasm of our guests provide a great family vibe. You can always count on meeting new and friendly people from all over the world. Back Of Chapel also has a dedicated bar for backpackers and friends. The BOC bar features a variety of local and imported beer, wine and spirits all at low prices. Our friendly staff will always make you feel welcome. If you are looking to stay for a few nights or a few months, Back Of Chapel will provide a homely and relaxed feel that will make your stay in Melbourne more enjoyable than anywhere else. Please note that our triple rooms consist of a double bed and a single bunk on top.Hostel reception hours are:8:30am-5pm everyday (closed 1-2pm)Recommended for guests over 18 years of Age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Back of Chapel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back of Chapel Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.