We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying near Alghereo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Negra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Punta Negra to your Saves list
Hotel Punta Negra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reg Punta Negra CP 24 | Localita Punta Negra, 07041 Fertilia, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fertilia
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Staying near Alghereo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week from July 8th - 15th with our 7 year old daughter.  This is a typical Italian 4 star hotel that really is a 3 star standard by northern European grades.  The rooms are compact and basic with good views of the beach.  The place is kept very clean and the pool area is excellent.  The prices in the bar and restaurant are  expensive.  We felt we paid high season 4 star prices but received 3 star value. The breakfast is average.  If they wanted to improve it they should serve fresh orange juice, fresh coffee to order and fresh melon (of which there is an abundance in the local markets).
On the positive side, the staff are very friendly, access to the beach is good and the proximity to the airport convenient.  Free Wifi is available throughout.  When asked they did provide gluten free bread at breakfast and cooked gluten free pasta, that we brought ourselves, at lunch.
Eating out, if you are looking for an alternative to the 2 restaurants in the village of Fertilia I recommend trying the agriturismo Isidoro.  He does a wonderful homemade set menu for €30 which includes wine, water, grappa, anti pasta, pasta, meat (wonderful suckling pig), desert and coffee. It can be reached on foot. As you exit the hotel turn left and walk along the cycle path for 12 minutes. agriturismo Isidoro is located on the left. Dinner served from 8 pm. 

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    129
    45
    23
    11
See reviews for
86
163
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have just come back from a week's stay at Punta Negra Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The swimming pools are pristine with stunning views of the sea, so nice that we didn't need to go the private beach. The room was nice but quite simple especially the bathroom which was not up to 4* standard, for example furnishings were old, shower curtain was not good enough and toiletries provided were very limited. The evening restaurant is very good, offering barbecue options and italian specialities à la carte.
Staff made us feel very welcome and we would recommend this hotel to people looking for a nice hotel near Alghero. A car is essential for visiting this area. Note that there is no lift to access superior floors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very good location near Alghero and airport. Nice, quiet and clean hotell with good pool Area. Food was average and beach really nice if it was not for the bad smell from sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at Punta Negra for a week and had a great time. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are kept spotless and the location is great. The breakfast buffet offered a good choice - cereals, croissants, hot breakfast, rolls, cold meats, cakes, fruit, etc. Our holiday was half board and we were very happy with the evening meals - several choices for each course and different every day and we didn't feel any need to upgrade to a la carte. The pool area was clean and well kept, but it would be better if an attendant was avaliable at all times when the pool is officially open.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for a week and were really happy with our choice. We have a toddler so were a little worried about staying in a hotel but it was great! The only slight difficulty was that dinner only starts at 7:30 so for a toddler this was a bit late and the hotel isn't equipped with changing facilities etc in communal bathrooms. The staff were really friendly and helpful and threw in a free room upgrade.
The beach is not 'touristy' and is used by the village locals which gives it a nice feel. Although we didn't do too much site seeing there are other really nice beaches close by and the local bus system is cheap and easy to use! Definately worth considering for a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and was not impressed overall. Although the hotel had some good points (the varied breakfast, friendly staff and the fantastic bathrooms), the cons outweighed the pros. The beach was terrible, dirtied sand and hardly a "beachy feel", more like a sea side resort in a small alcove. The beach also stank of sewage, which made it impossible for me to lie there. The rooms on the ground floor also did not smell pleasant; they smelt musty.
Coffee from the bar was served in disposable cups, which I think is inappropriate for a hotel. We did not have dinner or lunch there at all so I cannot comment on the food.
The hotels decor was extremely outdated and there was nothing luxurious or characterful about the hotel at all. The sun beds were inadequate and uncomfortable.
There is one computer for the hotel and the internet isn't that fast. If you need to go online during your stay I advise bringing your own devices.
Overall, this hotel is too expensive for what it is. It is extremely basic and not a 4* standard in my opinion. I am glad my stay wasn't longer than 2 nights!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed just one night, we arrived late and we had a last minute discount.
The staff is really nice and helpful, the breakfast was amazing and varied.
The pools seemed fantastic, the room was small but comfortable, clean and cozy, bathroom was new and pretty.
I forgot my cellphone at the pool area, they found it and kept it for me, we manage to have it sent to me in Rome.Honest people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Punta Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Negra

Address: Reg Punta Negra CP 24 | Localita Punta Negra, 07041 Fertilia, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero > Fertilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fertilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Negra 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has recently been renovated, and now boasts beautiful, pastel-coloured, light green and pink, stucco walls to match the decorative pink ceramic floor tiles. The same colours have been used to blend in with the tablecloths and furniture. Inside the rooms, the doors and furniture are green, red and natural wood. The curtains and drapery are decorated with traditional Sardinian designs.The Punta Negra Hotel looks out directly onto the sea front. The low level, typically Mediterranean architecture featuring spacious terraces, blends well into the beautiful natural surroundings. As you cast your eyes over the sandy white beach surrounded by high cliffs, you will undoubtedly be overcome by a wealth of emotions. In the background you can admire the wondrous gulf with the view over the harbour and the historical centre of the charming, colourful Catalan town of Alghero. Service on the beach, weather conditions permitting, will be ensured from the 15th of June to the 15th of September. The Punta Negra Hotel is a three-storey coastal building. The ground floor is divided into two parts: one wing is given over to a spacious lounge, a snack bar a, restaurant and the kitchen, whilst the second wing contains bedrooms. The first and the second floors are devoted entirely to bedrooms, half of which have balconies overlooking the sea, and the other half of which face onto a beautiful pine forest. The hotel has a total of ninety-two rooms and a Suite all equipped with air conditioning, mini bar, colour TV and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Punta Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Negra Hotel
Punta Negra Alghero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Negra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.