We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to rest and unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Horse Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bay Horse Country Inn to your Saves list
The Bay Horse Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Sleights Lane, Rainton YO7 3PX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rainton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place to rest and unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have just come back from a two night stay which was a surprise birthday treat from my husband. This place is amazing, The owners Chis and Bev were kind and friendly and treated us like they had known us for years. The bed room & bathroom was beautiful and clean with crisp white bedding and towels.
We ordered our meal and within ten minuets we were shown to our table in the dining room. I have never had food anywhere that was served so quickly. It was beautifully presented,piping hot and delicious both nights.we then sat in the beautiful cosy bar area by the log fire.There Chris took our breakfast order and time we wanted to eat. On arriving down for our breakfast at the stated time we were given fruit juice and tea/coffee,as quick as the evening meal our breakfast arrived,again piping hot, followed by toast,jam/marmalade.The most exciting thing for me was almost everything on the menu was gluten free and to top it all they even had gluten free bread,so all you coeliacs out there it is a safe place for us to eat.This has been a perfect weekend can not fault it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
61
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here on 1st November. Thought there was going to be a mix up at the start with double bookings, but everything worked out fine. Very obliging and keen to make sure your stay was enjoyable.
Nice open fire to compliment the the atmosphere and food and drink.
Hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stopped here for one night as we were exploring the area with friends
When we arrived the landlord took us straight away to our rooms which were nice, roomy and clean and he explained all the details regarding heat, food etc in the room with us
Had a rest and then went down to eat and what lovely food we had, you just knew it had been freshly made and even though we picked different things it was all delicious
They took the order for breakfast after we had eaten and told us to arrive at the time we gave them and it would be ready, and when we came down for breakfast true to their word we had no sooner sat down then breakfast was there and it was terrific
Couldnt fault anything with this place, a real gem

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancs.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night in October 2013.
It is an excellent place to stay, the room was excellent with plenty of room with a good sized bathroom. The bar was well stocked with real ale which was on good form.

We ate our evening meal in the hotel resturant and had a fantastic meal at a very reasonable price.

The breakfast was excellent, enough to set us up for the day.

Chris and Bev were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: There is only about 8 rooms and if they are all like ours were then you will have no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here as we had been participating in the Yorkshire Spartan Race and needed somewhere comfortable, warm and relaxing (with a hot bath an absolute must) to stay to ease our aches and pains. Knowing we would have insatiable appetites and quite some thirst we also needed good food and drink. We were not disappointed. This pub has a " true Yorkshire" feel and sitting in the bar feels so homely it's like you have walked into a friends living room. Our desire for comforting, clean surroundings and great bed was easily met (and hot bath) :-) followed by good ale and excellent food of hefty proportions... - my boyfriend and I can eat for Britain, yet had to admit defeat in the ability to clear all 3 courses!
This place is a great little find and incredible value for money. When we return to complete future events of Spartan madness or go walking in Yorkshire this will be somewhere we shall return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I chose the Bay Horse Country Inn as our base for exploring Yorkshire between 29th August and 3rd September 2013. A lovely, traditional Country Inn, set in a quiet local village. Chris and Bev were extremely welcoming - even before we'd arrived, Chris had offered us a discount on the room rate, thanks to the number of nights we were staying. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean - with the benefit of a shower and bath. All the food was delicious - hearty breakfasts and mouth-watering dinners (the lamb shank particularly so). Be prepared to cut an extra notch in your belt... the portions are so generous, even my husband couldn't finish what was put in front of him. If you like comfort, great food, good value for money, amiable hosts and locals, and hanker for 'tradition', rather than the 'clone-hotels' so commonplace these days, you won't go wrong with The Bay Horse Country Inn. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had Room 2 - facing the front of the Inn. No noise, not even with locals drinking outside. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Chris and Bev are excellent hosts, always welcoming and can't do enough for you. Room was excellent, bath as well as shower. A pleasure to go into the bar for a few drinks before a plentiful tasty evening meal, excellent home cooked breakfast all made from local produce was one to remember, can't wait for our return visit, Would recommend to anyone,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Horse Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Country Inn

Address: Sleights Lane, Rainton YO7 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Rainton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rainton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bay Horse Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Horse Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.