We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Horse Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Bay Horse Country Inn to your Saves list
The Bay Horse Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Sleights Lane, Rainton YO7 3PX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rainton B&B and Inns
Burnley, Lancs.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night in October 2013.
It is an excellent place to stay, the room was excellent with plenty of room with a good sized bathroom. The bar was well stocked with real ale which was on good form.

We ate our evening meal in the hotel resturant and had a fantastic meal at a very reasonable price.

The breakfast was excellent, enough to set us up for the day.

Chris and Bev were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: There is only about 8 rooms and if they are all like ours were then you will have no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
51
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here as we had been participating in the Yorkshire Spartan Race and needed somewhere comfortable, warm and relaxing (with a hot bath an absolute must) to stay to ease our aches and pains. Knowing we would have insatiable appetites and quite some thirst we also needed good food and drink. We were not disappointed. This pub has a " true Yorkshire" feel and sitting in the bar feels so homely it's like you have walked into a friends living room. Our desire for comforting, clean surroundings and great bed was easily met (and hot bath) :-) followed by good ale and excellent food of hefty proportions... - my boyfriend and I can eat for Britain, yet had to admit defeat in the ability to clear all 3 courses!
This place is a great little find and incredible value for money. When we return to complete future events of Spartan madness or go walking in Yorkshire this will be somewhere we shall return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I chose the Bay Horse Country Inn as our base for exploring Yorkshire between 29th August and 3rd September 2013. A lovely, traditional Country Inn, set in a quiet local village. Chris and Bev were extremely welcoming - even before we'd arrived, Chris had offered us a discount on the room rate, thanks to the number of nights we were staying. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean - with the benefit of a shower and bath. All the food was delicious - hearty breakfasts and mouth-watering dinners (the lamb shank particularly so). Be prepared to cut an extra notch in your belt... the portions are so generous, even my husband couldn't finish what was put in front of him. If you like comfort, great food, good value for money, amiable hosts and locals, and hanker for 'tradition', rather than the 'clone-hotels' so commonplace these days, you won't go wrong with The Bay Horse Country Inn. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had Room 2 - facing the front of the Inn. No noise, not even with locals drinking outside. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Chris and Bev are excellent hosts, always welcoming and can't do enough for you. Room was excellent, bath as well as shower. A pleasure to go into the bar for a few drinks before a plentiful tasty evening meal, excellent home cooked breakfast all made from local produce was one to remember, can't wait for our return visit, Would recommend to anyone,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We received outstanding hospitality from the landlord/hotelier at the Bay Horse. The rooms were lovely, clean and airy. Breakfast was brilliant. Excellent value for money and we couldnt have asked for more. I would strongly recommend this place as the best B&B I have ever visited. (and no, I'm not related)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

we stayed friday to monday while we toured Yorkshire on our bike with friends, they were excellent hosts,lovely clean and tidy rooms and the evening menu were outstanding in both quality and price .they also catered for my wheat intolerance by adapting the menu to suit. would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We didn't stay here as we live in the next village over, we visited for lunch.

It was roasting so we sat outside and the staff had no problem letting us eat outdoors and enjoy the sun!
Mum had a beef dinner, dad had fishcakes and salad and myself and the boyfriend tucked into steak pie. All came with a Yorkshire pudding and some roast potatoes (all of which was very nice).

The food was fantastic (the gravy is beautiful) and the service was great.
Also like that you get a big bowl of veg between you all (as I am not a fan and think it's a waste on my plate)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Horse Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Country Inn

Address: Sleights Lane, Rainton YO7 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Rainton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rainton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Bay Horse Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Horse Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.