We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lamb Inn

The Lamb Inn
Tithe Barn Avenue | Rainton, Rainton YO7 3PH, England
01845 577284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rainton
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A TYPICAL ENGLISH VILLAGE PUB IN A BEAUTIFUL PART OF THE COUNTRYSIDE WITH CLOSE LINKS TO ALL MAJOR NETWORKS.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quiet but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We visited this inn in Rainton recently and while it was very quiet (we were the only ones there for lunch, perhaps understandably on weekday) it still served good food. The food came quickly and we enjoyed what we ate. Unpretentious and worth the 4 stars from what we experienced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice little pub eatery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stopped by at this really sweet litle country pub as it wasnt too far off the main road north on our way up to a night in the dales. Very friendly host, dog friendly too which was great, nice food and good service. It was quiet when we went but on a Monday evening maybe to be expected. But if you are looking for an unpretentious little place to stop for good value food then would recommend this. Incidentally nice touch was allowing me to try the wine before I bought a glass of it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hope you are REALLY hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Lamb is a lovely country pub that does excellent food at a very reasonable price. the only trouble is, there is just too much of it! The portion sizes are so large that, instead of encouraging us to go back again, it made us think twice because we know we are likely to be overfaced. This is a shame because the food, and especially the 'signature dish' of steak pie, is truly wonderful. My tip to the owners would be - smaller portions, then people will a) order a dessert thereby increasing your takings and b) come back again! As it stands, you're even talking people out of buying a starter because they'll never finish the main course! No way to run a business, I'm afraid.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirsk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Reet Gradely Snap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

An old established village pub of the old school near Thirsk, on the way out of the Rainton village north towards Baldersby, it is easy to find alongside the road on the left.
Now very satisfied on a second visit with a super full three course lunch - it's time to let everyone know. There is a large choice of food everyday, and whilst lunches are offered from large choices on set menu lists, they run alongside individual dishes to order. Local staff, it's fresh local fodder prepared in house and served in large portions. No expensive pretty plate pictures leaving you hungry here. Today, I again had great lamb with two mid size Yorkshire puds, lovely gravy - roast and boiled spuds, and copious local veg, preceded by a generous wedge of paté, thick toast, real butter and salad. Pud was a proper treacle sponge swimming in real custard. Veggies are very well cared for, (wife) and at reduced prices, but even so the cost won't break the bank. Amazing eh??
It is all complemented by coffee / tea choices, and real local Yorkshire hand pulled draught ales, and a good choice of cask and lager - with the usual selections of bottled beers, large wine stocks, and spirits or soft drinks. Good free car parking too.
As they say, 'we'll be back'.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We visited the Lamb Inn on our recent holiday in our Motorhome, we did so because the offer overnight parking for motorhomers who use the pub. The pub has a large car park and is situated on the outskirts of a small village not far from the A1 but it was very peaceful and we had a lovely evening.
We ate in the bar as the resturaunt closed at 7pm and we were a little too late but the whole menu was still available. There was a good range of food on offer ranging in price from £5. A nice touch was a tasting platter of starters for two to share. The food was good well presented pub fair with good size portions. The hosts were really nice and very friendly and clearly put a lot into making the pub work for the community.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb Inn also viewed

Asenby, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lamb Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.