We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Des Cailleres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Relais Des Cailleres to your Saves list
Relais Des Cailleres
25, Rue Des Cailleres, 72190 Saint-Pavace, Le Mans, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Saint-Pavace B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived late sat eve to a very warm and informative welcome. The owner gave us the perfect recommendation for a fantastic evening in the "Old Le mans" town which we would not have known about otherwise. The barn is beautifully decorated, modern but retaining the original charm and character. Brilliant power shower and fully equipped room. Breakfast was in the stunning orangery, completely self sufficient and at 9 euros, although a little steep, it was very nice. Lovely homemade yogurts and honey. our only negative, and this is no fault of the room, was that it was too hot! With no air conditioning the owners tried to help by providing a small room fan but this could not compete with the exceptional heat wave! We loved our stay and would def recommend to anyone en route to the south of France... Or indeed for a holiday in its own right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    29
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
47
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tirol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a nice place to stay! We stayed here for two nights! The rooms are very clean and wonderful decorated! The shower is really big! The beds where from a very good quality!
We also loved the breakfast room! The painter had done a great work! And everything was so lovely decorated there, too.
Very close to Le Mans - we got good information from Pierre where to park, what to see, where to eat - thanks Pierre!
We will recommend this place to everyone who wants to see Le Mans and the places around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham, West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Excellent location - very quiet and calm. And Le Mans itself is a revelation - I'd not been there before - what a delightful city. Room itself is functional but comfortable. Not a place to stay for more than a few days though. Breakfast room is magnificent and slightly quirky and the breakfast itself is good. There is a small but adequate kitchen area if you want to have your won breakfast.

Very nice people too. Apparently the Ferrari team stay there during the Le Mans 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived after along journey from Calais on our way to the vendee. We were made to feel really wepme as soon as we arrived. The rooms were really tastefully decorated and the kitchen and dining room downstairs enable you to cook your own food if you don't want to go out. The owner recommended a visit to the old city centre of Le Mans and we had a magical walk around a really superb walled old city with the massive cathedral at its centre. It is worth making the effort as the centre with free parking was about an 8 minute drive away.
The b and b had free easy to se Wi-Fi and French tv with BBC world news as well.
This stay was just so much nicer than our normal novotel stopover and we will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a nice quiet location just outside of Le Mans. The rooms and amenities are all relatively new with a large breakfast room adjacent to the accomodation with a old mansion between them where the owner lives. We were a little disappointed with our stay. Although the accommodation was at the cheaper end we felt that the bedding was a bit substandard for a bed and breakfast. Although it was new we thought that it may be adequate for younger guests but for middle aged to older couples we found the beds to be way too low and the mattress and pillows to be a bit basic and uncomfortable for a bed and breakfast establsihment like this. We also thought that the breakfast at 8 euro was a little sub-standard for a bed and brekfast as well.

If beds are a priority this may not be the best choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

LOVED Relais des Cailleres! Comfortable, clean, peaceful, relaxing and Pierre was fabulous! Made us feel very comfortable. We WILL return there someday, and did NOT want to leave. We chose this location by the description and found it to be better than we could have pictured. We had stayed in multiple locations on this trip, and Relais des Cailleres was by far the BEST!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We found this by chance on trip advisor as we were looking for somewhere to stay halfway to home in the South of France. It was one of the nicest places we have stayed over the years. It was peaceful and very tranquil. The room was decorated to a high standard and the bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was very good, homemade yoghurt was delicious as was the fruit compote.
It was so easy to get to Le Mans from there, so we spent a lovely evening walking round the old town.
we will be using this place again and again as we travel to the UK 3+ times a year. It comes highly recommended and already been recommended to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Des Cailleres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Des Cailleres

Address: 25, Rue Des Cailleres, 72190 Saint-Pavace, Le Mans, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans > Saint-Pavace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Pavace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At five minutes from Le Mans center town and its Cité Plangenêt, Le Relais des Caillères welcomes you in the country and warm atmosphere. Our bedrooms are entirely in wood with fully equipped bathroom, the wifi access and 300 television channels are free. Closed to the 24 hours circuit and Le Vieux Mans, many tourist and sporting activities are to be discovered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Des Cailleres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Des Cailleres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.