We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinar Galilee Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshav Ramot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinar Galilee Hotel
Sea of Galilee, Moshav Ramot   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Moshav Ramot
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“we were very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were in a room in the main building. I think it is preferable as it can be very hot and uncomfortable in the summer walking from a/c to heat to a/c as the dining room and synagogue are in the main building. In the winter a similar problem would exist if it is cold or rainy. Wood was tasty and lots of choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a family weekend. we had 8 rooms.
We had many children and requested the outdoor rooms with a garden. Since the reservation was made well in advance- we were told that the garden room were reserved for us.
Upon arrival, the hotel was fully booked and we got rooms in the actual hotel without a garden. They were unable to change our rooms.
We requested to speak with the manager, but he wasn't around and failed to get back to us on this issue. We ended up meeting him after our stay came to an end.
Our room was old and had musty dirty carpeting. The room smelled of mildew. We got 2 baby beds in the room- one which we noticed right away that was broken and the second- was also broken- but we only found out in the middle of the night when our year and half old daughter moved to the spot that was missing screws and fell through the bed!!! Thank g-d she only got very scared.
The food was ok but the service was terrible and even after we complained several times nothing changed.
At the end of the weekend, we asked the Front Desk Manager, David, for some kind of compensation- and were denied (iv'e never been to a hotel where you have to go into the back office to meet with the manager and speak with him while he sits at his desk...). He claimed that we got everything that we were promised and that it was our fault for not reviewing the room type that was written on the res. and checking with their website that this room was indeed a garden room (FYI- on the website is sais these rooms sometime ARE garden rooms). When i complained that the we had a very hard time running after the kids the whole weekend and expected them to be able to run around outside, he said and I quote "it's your job as a mother to be responsible for your child".
All in all, I was not impressed.

Room Tip: Double and triple check the room type on the reservation... you want Golan rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moshav Ramot hotels

Israel
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you review my contributions, I have stayed at over 20 hotels in the
past 3 years - yet this hotel is the worst experience I have had in many
years.

We were a group of 8 rooms that booked 5 months in advance for an
extended family weekend. We specifically asked for the rooms outside
with garden access since there were many children under the age of 6.
The entire booking was done by phone and fax and the reservations
department responded quickly with our booking.

Our problems started at check-in. We found out we were assigned 8 Hermon
rooms. These are in the main building. Turns out the outdoor garden
rooms are called Golan rooms. Since we had booked it all via phone and
fax and we specifically asked for the outside garden rooms, we had no
idea we were assigned "indoor" rooms. The front desk tried to move rooms
around but were unable to make any changes. They provided our group with
a community room for our use over the weekend as compensation.

The rooms were fine for a 3 star hotel, although the hall carpets have
never been cleaned in the past 3 years and show enormous wear, tear and
stains. The meals on the other hand were a disaster. We were set up in
the lobby with a large table. Our waiter was unable to handle a 30
person table so we got served last among the 500 hotel guests and he
often had to come back with no choices since all the other choices had
been eaten up by the rest of the guests. One time I saw him on Friday
night standing by the kitchen doorway, getting incoming leftover mains
from other waiters who were already returning food to the kitchen,
placing it on his tray and coming to us to serve us our mains.

We asked management to change our waiter for the next meal but they were
not able to comply. The 13 little kids in our group were climbing the
walls waiting for food that came very late.

I would never recommend for anyone or any group to use this hotel. Find
an alternative - there are many.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My son and I were looking for a place to sleep for the night, we say a sign that said "Kinar Galile Resort", normally thinking a resort would be that extra comfort and activities we decided to check it out.

The main entrance to the hotel and inside was very nice, we got a basic room for approx. $125.

We were in the bungalows, the room was simple but fine. My main concern about the bungalow, we were not able to control the Air Condition, so it was on all the time. I would have like to shut it off a few times. Also it seems like the room was not used in awhile, the room was clean, but the bathroom sink had dirt inside, I had to turn the water off and rinse the dirt off, also there were 2 soap dispensers that looked like they were not cleaned in a long time and were not filled up in a long time. But we did have soap bars. The room did not bother me as much as the resort.

First, in the book they talk about ping pong tables. We were told to go outside, when we arrive, there were no paddles and no balls, we ask a worker of the hotel, "I don't know"

Second, the basketball courts and tennis courts seemed to be run-down. Basketball nets were all ripped up on one side and missing on the other. Loss of paint, cracks all over, no fencing, no walls, it was not appealing to play. Same with tennis courts.

Lastly, the beach, between the hotel and the beach you walk through a very ugly dirt road, not sure what its used for, fences and walls are corroded, big trash cans on one side. You will see a sign for Men and Women to enter the beach. Beach was not appealing. No chairs, no umbrellas. The water was nice to swim in.

For this hotel to be considered a resort, I would not bother. There are very nice bed and breakfasts for cheaper and much nicer, especially if you decide to go north of tiberias.

If you just want a room and willing to pay more and you stay in the main portion of the hotel, then you are probably ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

First of all, there is apparently reviewed the same hotel under two different names ("Kinar Galilee Hotel" and "Kinar Holiday Village").

This resort consists of the main building and surrounding bungalows in the well maintained garden. My room was located in the bungalow area. The room was spacious, clean, with small "kitching area" (coffeemaker and sink only), flat TV and simple but comfy furnishings. Bathroom was also clean, with bathtub and hairdryer. Air conditioning function very well, the control panel is user-friendly (you can easily regulate both temperature and performance).

The Sea of Galilee is in a short walking distance. The hotel has private beach with separated areas for men and women, but the beach is rocky and not very pretty. It was not a problem for me because my stay here was for business event, but it is not a good choice for holidays.

Restaurant is located in the main building. Meals were tasty, delicious and various.
Staff is very helpfull and some technical problems were solved very quickly.
Free wifi is available in the lobby area only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Well maintained hotel on the eastern shore of the Sea of Galilee. Rooms are spacious and look out to a nice view of the grounds. The Sea of Galilee is only a short walk from the hotel, but bring your water shoes. Not only is the beach rocky but the sea bed is as well - not great for a tenderfoot like me.

Dining is very enjoyable in a community hall, and the service is only one step below excellent. Not Jewish? Ask the resident rabbi for a tour and explanation of the in-house synagog.

If you are in this area this hotel should be on your short list.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

fair prices, private shore on the kineret lake,
very tasty meals (best shef in Israel)

Room Tip: third floor in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinar Galilee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinar Galilee Hotel

Address: Sea of Galilee, Moshav Ramot
Location: Golan Heights > Moshav Ramot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Moshav Ramot
Also Known As:
Kinar Galilee Hotel Moshav Ramot, Golan Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinar Galilee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kinar Galilee Hotel to your Saves list