We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerqua Rosara Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cerqua Rosara Residence to your Saves list
Cerqua Rosara Residence
Via Giove 13, 06030 Valtopina, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Country Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

When we arrived Gianni greeted us with a warm and friendly smile :) He went out of his way to make us feel right at home and then took us down to the local supermarket where he introduced us to the local produce. Yum! Cerqua Rosara residence is absolutely beautiful. Set on a few acres this place is surrounded by lovely countryside. The residence is superbly finished throughout and the beds are soooo comfortable! It is a short drive into town and easily accessible to other beautiful areas. You can even catch a train to Rome from Foligno which only takes two hours. We only had a short stay so we only stayed in the area but this place would be ideal for a lengthy visit. All in all Cerqua Rosara is beautiful and Gianni is sweet and a real gentleman!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
To receive such appreciations on Cerqua Rosara Residence and on the staff is very nice and encouraging .

We strongly hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
48
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If your future travel plans will include Umbria, I heartily recommend the Cerqua Rosara Residence. Our apartment five minutes drive from the small town of Valtopina was fabulous; for we had a luxurious suite of rooms that was only three years old and well-appointed indeed. But the real highlight for us was the incredible hospitality shown us by our hosts Rosalba and Gianni. They provided us with every assistance possible - one evening we roasted a chicken together in a wood-fired oven designed and built by Gianni in the b&b portion of the facility. In my view, the food in Umbria is much better than in Tuscany and the wines, while not as spectacular as their Tuscan cousins, offer very good value for the money. Our meal with Gianni and Rosalba ended with the local equivalent of ice wine, red not white, and smooth as silk. The grapes are left on the vines to sun dry then, harvested in January after having sat under the winter's snow. The concentration of sugar and flavour is incredible! Located in the north of Umbria, Valtopina is a convenient place to enjoy the peace and quiet of the Umbmbrian countryside but having easy access to Perugia, Assisi, Folignio, Gubbio, and Spoleto. And Cerqua Rosara Residence is THE PLACE TO STAY.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, but the best are the end units with patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
To receive such appreciations on our region, on Cerqua Rosara Residence and on the staff is very nice and encouraging . Thankyou very much !

We strongly hope to welcome you again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. It is a great place to relax and lay back and enjoy the great outdoors of Umbria.
It is close to all the famous Umbrian towns (like Assisi and Perougia) but far enough so you can really enjoy the peace and quiet. The place is clean and has everything that is needed on a vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Guest Relations Manager at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
An important news for you!
From today Cerqua Rosara Residence has joined "trip connect", an important tool studied by TripAdvisor to show you Cerqua Rosara Residence availability and prices and to allow you to make a direct reservation of your apartment!

Book on line directly to the hotel website! You will easily pay at your arrival and you will immediately receive a Loyalty Card with many benefits reserved to you!

Warm regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A real oasis in the heart of Umbria. I enjoyed sport (walking, biking), travelling around and having relax.
I will come back soon to try the amazing pool!! Gianni, the owner is a real and warm host and make you to feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Guest Relations Manager at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
An important news for you!
From today Cerqua Rosara Residence has joined "trip connect", an important tool studied by TripAdvisor to show you Cerqua Rosara Residence availability and prices and to allow you to make a direct reservation of your apartment!

Book on line directly to the hotel website! You will easily pay at your arrival and you will immediately receive a Loyalty Card with many benefits reserved to you!

Warm regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited in early March with our one year old daughter. We arrived on a very chilly day and Gianni (the owner) had a fire going in our fireplace when we arrived! We immediately felt at home. He had a baby cot and bedding all ready for our daughter. Gianni made sure that we had everything we needed to be comfortable. He took us into town and introduced us to two restaurant owners. He even got a grocery store open for us after hours.

During our stay, he cooked dinner for us with his wife and mother-in-law. What a treat! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cerqua Rosara Residence to friends and family. It was definitely a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Guest Relations Manager at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
An important news for you!
From today Cerqua Rosara Residence has joined "trip connect", an important tool studied by TripAdvisor to show you Cerqua Rosara Residence availability and prices and to allow you to make a direct reservation of your apartment!

Book on line directly to the hotel website! You will easily pay at your arrival and you will immediately receive a Loyalty Card with many benefits reserved to you!

Warm regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

From the moment you drive along the road and see this house appear you will be impressed.
It just has that WOW factor, A Beautiful house set in stunning scenery.
Our stay here was so relaxing, we truly did not want to leave, Gianni the owner is the most hospitable host i have ever met, There seemed to be nothing that was too much trouble for him.
From Spending time in the kitchen showing my wife how to cook traditional Italian food, to acting as a Taxi driver and tour guide, He took us to Foligno and showed us some of the sites including Wine tasting in Montefalco and a visit to the oldest Olive Oil producer in the region.
The house is perfect for a stay summer or winter, there is a lovely swimming pool which is set away from the house for privacy, the main house has a wood burning fire and all apartments have central heating should the nights become a little chilly, Cleanliness was impeccable, and we found that our apartment was equipped with everything we could possibly need.
The local region is famous for truffles and there are some great restaurants that specialise in local cuisine, There is a great little Bar and a shop at the end of the road where we were always welcomed warmly even though we do not speak Italian.
The village of Valtopina is within easy reach of Perugia Arport, and Foligno is only 10 mins away, The famous Town of Assisi is just down the road, And Foligno is on the main trainline to Rome so if you fance a daytrip it is easily achievable and surprisingly cheap compared to train fares in UK.
We hired a car from Europcar in Foligno for a very reasonable price and this enabled us to go exploring, Indeed we even took a drive to the Adriatic coast which took around 1.5hrs
We will DEFINATELY be visiting again, and i really hope we get to stay at Cerqua Rosara again.. Well done to GIanni for creating such a warm & welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: Take some slippers as all floors are tiled and you WILL get cold feet in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Guest Relations Manager at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
An important news for you!
From today Cerqua Rosara Residence has joined "trip connect", an important tool studied by TripAdvisor to show you Cerqua Rosara Residence availability and prices and to allow you to make a direct reservation of your apartment!

Book on line directly to the hotel website! You will easily pay at your arrival and you will immediately receive a Loyalty Card with many benefits reserved to you!

Warm regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Cerqua Rosara Residence is a beautiful, comfortable oasis in the heart of Umbria. We greatly enjoyed the peaceful setting and picture-perfect surroundings. Assisi, Perugia and other wonderful sights are very close and accessible. The owner, Gianni, was very warm, helpful and courteous - a true host. Our suite was also spotlessly clean and complete with full amenities (including a personal laundry!). This hotel was a great discovery and we definitely plan to return there in the future.

Room Tip: We loved our suite/apartment. The rest of the rooms seemed equally pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni B, Guest Relations Manager at Cerqua Rosara Residence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
An important news for you!
From today Cerqua Rosara Residence has joined "trip connect", an important tool studied by TripAdvisor to show you Cerqua Rosara Residence availability and prices and to allow you to make a direct reservation of your apartment!

Book on line directly to the hotel website! You will easily pay at your arrival and you will immediately receive a Loyalty Card with many benefits reserved to you!

Warm regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerqua Rosara Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerqua Rosara Residence

Address: Via Giove 13, 06030 Valtopina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Valtopina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Valtopina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerqua Rosara Residence is situated near the village of Valtopina, 400 m above sea level, in an area of outstanding natural beauty rich in flora and fauna, in the Topino valley, between the Colfiorito and Monte Subasio nature reserves. The swimming pool surrounded by shrubs, trees and lawns, the relaxation area under the ancient oak trees, and the quiet, comfortable apartments will help make your stay pleasant and relaxing. The Staff is committed to ensuring excellent standards of customer satisfaction, safety and respect for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Cerqua Rosara Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerqua Rosara Residence Italy/Valtopina, Province Of Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerqua Rosara Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.