We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Aberdeen West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Aberdeen West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westhill Dr, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Westhill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Impressive Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights here while visiting friends in Aberdeen. This property was apparently voted the best Holiday Inn in Europe and I was impressed with the room and the service. It's located a few miles west of Aberdeen itself, but easily commutable with a car. There's ample free car parking outside, and a few supermarkets etc nearby for last-minute purchases. The room was fairly standard (see photos) though seemed a bit brighter and more colourful than other Holiday Inns I've stayed at, and everything was in good working order. The bathroom particularly seemed significantly better than a standard Holiday Inn bathroom - again see my photos for a better idea. All members of staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. Our only gripe was service in the restaurant (evening meal) - it was painfully slow! I'd return to this hotel again, but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear So3003
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry that you encountered slow service in Luigi's and have shared this with the team. I assure you we will work hard to avoid this recurring.
Overall I am pleased that you were impressed by the hotel and I hope that we can welcome you back to Westhill in the future.

Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    105
    23
    17
    6
See reviews for
77
89
16
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before and have always loved it; great service, good food and comfortable however our visit this time was spoiled by a most uncomfortable bed. The mattress was really hard and, as I have not experienced this before in this hotel, I'm not sure if it was new or too old! More disappointingly when I complained about it the receptionist didn't even apologise, he simply said "maybe it's new". Not impressed! However, I can't fault the service of all the other staff, nor of the food which was as good as always.

Room Tip: Do not accept Rm 226 unless you check the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear FiOnamac
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy our bed in 226 and in particular that you comments were dealt with so poorly. Please accept my apologies for this.
Our sleep experience is generally regarded by our guests as amongst the best experienced due to our firmer styled mattress. I am sorry that this was not to your liking.
I hope that this will not deter you from staying again, and if you would like to do so, please contact me directly and I will arrange a complimentary upgrade to one of our Executive rooms on that occasion.
Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a fantastic day at holiday inn! Hotel staff were brilliant especially Neil the manager who looked after us from start to finish well done Neil many thanks.
The set up was superb and beautiful well impressed and would recommend to anyone who is thinking of getting married here. Thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Gary and Jennifer
Thank you for a great review on your wedding day with us, and for highlighting Neil's hard work on the day. I appreciate your recommendation to others to book their event here also.
I am glad that we were able to make your special day go so well.

Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

On 9 August 2013, my wife, 2 kids and I went to the hotel to dine at Luigi's restaurant.
The food was fantastic and I have to say that the whole meal, along with the service was first class. This is by far the best meal that we have had in a long time and we do eat out often in a range of different restaurants.

Keep up the fantastic work!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Keith G
Thank you for a great review on Luigi's food and service.
I hope that we will see you again.

Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed with our 1 year old and was very pleasant. Room was spacious and very clean and was very quiet. Staff very helpful at reception, didn't eat in restaurant but did order room service, food was ok but nothing special. Great having air con in the room and an ice machine in the corridor. Would stay here again happily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Gayle r
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay, and hope that we will see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My first time in a Holiday inn, Aberdeen west as you go in the foyer, you get that feel it's so well run, and a hotel of reputable standing, my room was lovely, very comfortable indeed, adequately sized beds, my only down side was it was, situated outside on the roof were the units for the refrigeration/aircon, thankfully i switched off to them, located in a lovely part of aberdeen, there are shops just across the road, so very convenient, foodwise it offers two restaurants , luigi's and the hotel restaurant, very nice menu's! Food was well portioned , despite me finding a bone in my chicken dish it is forgiveable. All in all i enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Brutrules
Thank you for staying with us and for an excellent and well balanced review of the hotel. I hope that we will see you again when you are next staying in Aberdeenshire.

Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ate with friends in a large party of adults and kids. Excellent service, choice and quality of food excellent. Staff very friendly and accommodating, washrooms clean. Highly recommend for any type of group or occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Canadascot
thank you for your strong recommendation on our food and service. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your experience and taken the time to share it with others.
I hope we will see you again.

Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Aberdeen West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aberdeen West

Address: Westhill Dr, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6TT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen > Westhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Westhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aberdeen West 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West* European Holiday Inn Hotel of the Year 2012* Scottish Brand Hotel of the Year 2011,2012,2013Centrally loacted in Westhil (Surf City) and ideally located only 10-minutes drive from Aberdeen City Centre and Aberdeen International Airport. Prime Four Business Park at Kingswells and the Westhill Business Park are all within easy reach of the hotel. This is a modern and stylish hotel offering the very best and latest in Holiday Inn standards and facilities. The hotel boasts cutting edge concepts in design, comfort and technology for todays modern traveller. 86 Comfortable bedrooms are all equipped to the very highest standard, including 42"flat screen TV's, in-room safes,complimentary Wi-Fi high speed internet access and air conditioning. The hotel is serviced by a 24-hour food and beverage operation that includes a Luigi's Italian Restaurant, the relaxing Glentanar Lounge Bar, Scots Corner themed bar, 24-hour Room Service and a full conference and banqueting facility. The hotel also has a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna facility and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Aberdeen West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West Westhill, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.