We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding day and 1st Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Aberdeen West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Aberdeen West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westhill Dr, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Westhill
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wedding day and 1st Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had our reception at the Holiday Inn May 2012, and what an amazing reception it was. Our wedding coordinator was outstanding from day one. When we walked into the ballroom on the wedding fair day we were speechless and the decision was made for us.

The coordinator and her team were outstanding. Very helpful, efficient and nothing was ever too much trouble. The attention to detail was faultless. They put us as ease with the planning and gave us some very useful advice and tips. She made us feel we needn’t worry about the reception as it was all taken care of to the finest detail.

The coordination on the day was always there at the right time keeping us informed and helping us every step of the way. Comments from our guests were very good too most saying it’s the best wedding they have ever been too, the best wedding meal they have had and the stovies at night were delicious.

We have just had our complimentary 1st anniversary meal there and I am so glad to say it was fantastic. The restaurant Luigi’s is top class. The service was very fast and the meal was so delicious better than any restaurant we have been to in Aberdeen.

Our entire experience with the hotel has been excellent. Thank you so much Holiday Inn Aberdeen West.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Deat Shonz0307
Well......what took you sooooo long? Only joking, thanks for telling everyone about your great wedding day AND your great 1st anniversary meal. Your the 1st to put both into a review together.
I'm delighted that we were able to look after you on both occasions - thank you for choosing us.

Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    92
    20
    13
    4
See reviews for
64
79
16
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are just back from a weekend break up in Aberdeen ,it was booked direct with hotel on a week-end special offer which was £34ppn for dinner,bed and breakfast,which is excellent as the meals were £20 for 3 courses at dinner,the breakfast was excellent as there was plenty of choices, the rooms are clean with everything that you need for a pleasant stay,staff were friendly and helpful.excellent value .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear linda s
Thank you for a great review - although I have been able to establish that you actually stayed at our sister hotel, Holiday Inn AECC.
I am delighted that they looked after you so well.
Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was the first tribute night that we have been to and it won't be our last. Great value for money. Lovely meal, great music from the DJ and professional entertainment from Take This - 4 young talented singers from Glasgow. It was so good we have already booked and paid our tickets for the next tribute night - The Blues Brothers- on 31st May - will be a great night again I'm sure. Management and staff were very attentive and a credit to Holiday Inn. Special mention to Ebony and the Events team for organising it all - a terrific job.

Alison Swanson and party

Room Tip: Book early for the tribute nights to avoid disappointment before the places have all gone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Alison S
Thank you for a great review and for paying tribute to the quality of our Tribute Shows - I am delighted that you had such a great time with us.
Look out for some more great Tributes throughout the year.

Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Heard some great things about the Sunday buffet, on our first visit to the premises we can confirm that the buffet was indeed very good. Good choice form 3 different roasts, well cooked, pleasant service from the friendly staff. Would I go go back certainly and would highly recommend especially as the buffet is priced at under £10,great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Aberdeenvoyager
Yes, the rumours are true. We do have a fantastic carvery and in my opinion th best in the area. (I have tried all the others myself - even in other cities) Anyway, I'm bound to say that, but I honestly can't find a better offering quality, value and kids eating free.
Thank you for trying us, I am sure you will be back - and for taking the time to share with others.

Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This night was booked as a "Free Night Stay" under the IHG Priority Club but on arrival it was showing up as an £80 charge. The receptionist said they would check it out in the morning.

On checking out the reservation was still showing up as an £80 charge but on showing duty manager our emailed confirmation she put the night through as a free night stay.

None of the aforementioned was the fault of the hotel but it is part of the Priority Club And would be good if the Priority Club could get their act together and give hotels correct information as I had THREE seperate attempts at claiming ths free night before they finally said it was showing on their system.

I stay here quite often and always think it is one of the better Holiday Inns, this is however also evident in their overnight charges, although it is often possible to get some good deals especially at weekends.

Breakfast is always very good and plenty choice. I have also eaten in the main Restaurant and the food there was also excellent.

Staff generally polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mr Tweed
Thank you for a very nice review of the hotel, and for regarding us as your favourite Holiday Inn.
I am sorry about the problems that affected your reservation and assure you that priority Club have been informed of this issue. It is good that we were able to rectify this at check-in.
Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will see you again.

Kind regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a 60th Birthday party in the Balmoral Suite in March 2013. The organisation was excellent and sorted everything out for us. The night turned out very good and all the guests were impressed. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us, the food was good, the room decorations provided by the hotel were great and the guest who stayed at the hotel were happy. There was a few mistakes with the buffet, the TV wasn't working and small things like that but overall it was fab and definetly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased that you had a great party and a good time overall.
Please be assured that the 2 points of issue that you have pointed out have been reviewed.
I hope that we may see you back at the hotel for the 70th ?
best regards
Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent staff, food, bed and bathroom. Everything very clean. Staff really helpful and kind. 2 good restaurants, one nice pub. The only thing could be a down for someone is the location 20 min driving to the center, but i was there on business so was good location for me, close to my company.

Room Tip: Business location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBurnett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for a great review of the hotel and for taking the time to review us via Tripadvisor.
I hope that we may see you again when staying in Aberdeen.

Kind regards

Bill Burnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Aberdeen West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aberdeen West

Address: Westhill Dr, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6TT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen > Westhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Westhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aberdeen West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West* European Holiday Inn Hotel of the Year 2012* Scottish Brand Hotel of the Year 2011,2012,2013Centrally loacted in Westhil (Surf City) and ideally located only 10-minutes drive from Aberdeen City Centre and Aberdeen International Airport. Prime Four Business Park at Kingswells and the Westhill Business Park are all within easy reach of the hotel. This is a modern and stylish hotel offering the very best and latest in Holiday Inn standards and facilities. The hotel boasts cutting edge concepts in design, comfort and technology for todays modern traveller. 86 Comfortable bedrooms are all equipped to the very highest standard, including 42"flat screen TV's, in-room safes,complimentary Wi-Fi high speed internet access and air conditioning. The hotel is serviced by a 24-hour food and beverage operation that includes a Luigi's Italian Restaurant, the relaxing Glentanar Lounge Bar, Scots Corner themed bar, 24-hour Room Service and a full conference and banqueting facility. The hotel also has a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna facility and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Aberdeen West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West Westhill, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Aberdeen West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.