We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped Off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill to your Saves list
Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill
Straik Road, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6HF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Westhill
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ripped Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked this hotel through booking .com. My reservation reference was ATZR 78948.
At the time of booking I thought the price of a room at £90.00 for room only was expensive, but as I had to meet a client nearby I went ahead and booked two rooms at what I thought was £90.00 each. I was disgusted to find on arrival that one room was £90.00 and the other was £120.00 ????. The explanation apparently was that one room was on a "deal" and the other was the standard rate. Further explained by the receptionist as "after all this is the oil capital of Europe". The hotel itself was fine but certainly not value at these prices. Absolutely no facilities,
I could have booked a city centre hotel with facilities for much less.
I have never experienced this before and advise anyone booking multiple rooms to check the costs very carefully before confirming a reservation.
For me once bitten - never again !!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are noisy due to early morning traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for your feedback.

Our pricing policy works in the same way as many airlines where prices are driven by market conditions at the time.

Although prices may increase at times of demand, they may also reduce on nights which are less busy.

e do have a Team who closely monitor all hotels to ensure they are competitively priced as we always try and give you the best value for money.

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    86
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
74
55
14
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good, clean accomodation - at an excellent price: £29/night for the 31st Dec and 1st Jan is superb. Restaurant and bar next door - although I did not get up early enough for breakfast! Staff very helpful throughout.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear BishyT,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very glad you and your family have enjoyed your stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

You know what you are going to get with premier inn. Clean comfortable room .Tv wasn't working on arrival moved rooms without any hassle. Friendly staff, quick check in, unable to fault. Very handy for city, plenty of parking with cctv in place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear silverfox18,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill.
We are very happy you find our rooms clean and comfortable, and our staff friendly.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Aberdeenshire.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Staying in Westhill means you avoid the stags and hen parties that swamp the city centre hotels and the crushing bores that frequent the golf and spa places in the country. It is an anonymous hotel and if that is what you want then this is the place for you. Ideal for families where the contintenal breakfast is a fine start to the day and if you need to use the Shepherds Rest Whitbred pub next door (owners of Premier Inn) then that too is fine for what a family needs.
The one downside to this hotel is the absolutely next to useless Wi-fi. Premier Inn give you a free 30 minutes per day of stay which is ususally ok but here, as the connection is so poor it is hardly enough time to download a few emails. You can pay £3 a day to connect but again as the connection is so slow, poor and unreliable, I chose not to and instead just used the wi-fi hotspots in the city to update. When are hotel chains like this going to learn include a decent wi-fi in the hotel price and it would give them the edge over the competition.
The alternative hotel in Westhill is the Holiday Inn which is a fine hotel. There was five adults in our party and we stayed for three nights during this visit over Hogmanny and the Holiday Inn wanted silly money for staying there then so the Premier Inn was a no brainer really.
Quick note to say the beds, linen and pillows were all very comfortable and noise levels were very good.
Overall a great place for a family to stay away from the city. We recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are overlooked by a slope and a path so are quite dark. Front sided rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Mikeboy1,

Thank you for your review of Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill. Your feedback is much appreciated.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

For your information, Whitbread does not own the Shepherds Rest. However I will pass your compliments to them.

We are looking forward for your next visit to Westhill.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night break at Westhill, Aberdeen.
We will definitely return as we enjoyed our stay. Comfortable and clean rooms with very courteous staff.
Enjoyed dinner at the adjoining restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear KateRenfrewshire,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Aberdeenshire.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived late for 1 night but that posed no problem. The room was perfect, clean, firm bed, TV, wi-fi and tea making facilities. There was no real extraneous noise and the full breakfast nextdoor was delightful and very good value. I can recommend this hotel for short stays and the proximity of the bar helps to helps to provide a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: No advice required
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Harry,

Thank you for your kind review, your feedback is much appreciated.
Premier Inn Westhill team is delighted that you had a great stay in our hotel.
We are all looking forward to host you again.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Premier Inn Westhill for two nights. The staff were extremely helpful and we found our room to be very comfortable and clean for both nights . Meals were very efficiently served and overall we found our stay to be very good value for money. We would not hesitate recommending this hotel and would love to stay again in the future. If eating in the Shepherds Rest next door for evening meal I would recommend booking a table as it can get very busy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz_Safier, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Fiona,

Thank you very much for your comment. Whole Premier Inn Westhill Team is extremely happy you had a great stay at our hotel.

I will pass your compliments to Shepherds Rest as well.

We are hoping to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill

Address: Straik Road, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen > Westhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Westhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel Aberdeen
Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.