We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilnhall Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westhill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilnhall Guest House
Strawberry Field Road, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6TB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Westhill B&B and Inns
Sussex
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having stayed here last year, I returned again recently on business. Unfortunately it was only for one night with a late arrival and an early start the next morning. George and Betty are just great, you really feel welcomed and at home. On a cold dark night to walk through the front door and be met by a blazing log burner was wonderful. My room was great, more than enough room for two people let alone just one! They do really have some nice touches, to the crockery on the tea/coffee tray to the pretty bottles of shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom, no nasty pumps on the shower wall or packets of shampoo. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough and would love to return on a personal basis not just business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Out of all the B&B I have ever stayed at, nothing compares to this. The rooms are spacious, the food (Breakfast) is pleantiful, The hosts are extremely pleasant and cannot do enough for you when you stay here. Parking is ample and the peace and quiet is tranquility in itself. On a par with the best hotels, this is just as good if not better.

An excellent place to make this a base, plenty to do in the area, Balmoral is not too far and a wonderful day out.

If i'm ever in the Aberdeen area again, I'll certainly make sure this is one place I stay.

Room Tip: If you don't mind peace and quiet, this is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

As the other reviewers have said, Kilnhall B&B is a beautiful building with very stylish, comfortable rooms and excellent service. George and Betty really do make you feel welcome without being overpowering - they have struck the balance between friendly and professional service which you just don't get in larger hotels.
The standard of the rooms is far superior to a lot of hotels I have stayed in - and the quality of food outstrips them.
As a regular business traveller to Aberdeen, I have my stays pre-booked in advance to ensure that I get to stay at the Kilnhall. Its perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - only one doesn't have wifi access though - make sure you ask if having wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for four wonderful nights here. As the owners were away for the first three nights we met other family members who were all very friendly and helpful. The high standard of service was provided by everyone. It is a lovely building, wonderful facilities, quiet location with large private car park, and great breakfasts. Highly recommended.
Large bathroom with separate bath and shower cubicle would only be matched by the very best 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: I can not imagine any room being less than perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Ive stayed here twice in the last few months and its a real find. Having tried lots of the usual Premier etc there were no rooms so googled it and this came up what a spot of good luck.

George and Betty are the perfect hosts and their rooms are better than some top hotels, just make sure you ask for extra black pudding :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Whilst in Aberdeen on business my client booked me into this B&B. What a great looking stone built building, as you enter the door you are immediately welcomed into a bright airy clean fresh dining area, what a great place and wonderful hosts in George and Betty. I was greeted by George and introduced to his wife Betty, given the breakfast menu to select what I would like freshly cooked the following morning and shown to my very nice clean fresh bright room, and given a small flask of fresh milk for tea/coffee.
There is a pub a short distance away and a couple of takeaways/restaurants and being a “woman alone” I was not sure about sitting in the pub but that was not a problem as I selected from a very good Thai takeaway menu which George rang through and even went to collect for me, and laid the breakfast table so I could have my meal on plates at a table. My scrambled egg and salmon breakfast was excellent and certainly the scrambled egg was not powdered from a packet as a lot of hotels seem to use. There was also cereals, juices and toast available and any amount of tea and coffee, so you certainly would not leave here hungry.
George and Betty certainly know how to make people welcome, it is almost as if you are one of the family from the moment you walk in, so many thanks to them both. This is a B&B with 5 star hotel service and I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This charming traditional set of farm buildings has been converted into wonderfully stylish and comfortable modern accommodation. Everything about Kilnhall speaks of quality and loving attention to detail.

The rooms are all furnished and decorated in impeccable taste to provide the highest standard of comfort and convenience. The ensuite bathrooms are generous with top quality fittings.

The friendliness of George and Betty creates a great atmosphere. Scrumptious breakfasts are eaten round a large table in a light, airy dining hall. The under floor heating ensures that everywhere is warm and cosy.

Kilnhall is efficient and convenient for business trips, friendly and informative as a holiday base. It was a great pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilnhall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilnhall Guest House

Also Known As:
Kilnhall Guest House Westhill, Scotland
Address: Strawberry Field Road, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6TB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen > Westhill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Westhill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilnhall Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilnhall Guest House to your Saves list