We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Balcones de Chinandega

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chinandega
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Balcones de Chinandega
Save
You added Hotel Los Balcones de Chinandega to your Saves list
Esquina de los Bancos | 75 vrs al norte, Chinandega 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chinandega
1 review
“Excellent Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Our experience at Los Balcones was outstanding. We were there for a full week and had nothing to complain about. The service was great; the breakfast amazing; and the cleanliness superb. We would most definitely return to Los Balcones!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Let me start out by saying, there are not a lot of options in Chinandega when it comes to hotels, it is just not a regular tourist destination. That said, I had reserved a room well in advance for my wife and I, we were planning on spending time with her family whom live in Chinandega. Upon arrival I was told that my rear facing quiet honeymoon suite had in fact been rented so my option was one of the "prison cells" that line the front along a main street, we took it. Now, if you look at my reviews, you'll see that I have spent a great deal of time in Nicaragua and other 3rd world locations so I know what to expect however, for $60usd per night this was unacceptable. The room was dirty, hair in the beds, uncleaned bathroom and the old "widowmaker" hot water heater did not function which is pretty scary as it was still hardwired in. For those unfamilier, this is a showerhead/waterheater combo and famous for electrocutions, you don't see them much anymore even in Nicaragua. My towel was sour which is really gross and the parade of cars, motorcycles and propoganda speaker trucks was non-stop throughout the night. Needless to say, I had no sleep that evening however, to my delight, the free breakfast (tipico) was freshly cooked to order and quite good, I tipped the cook a half days wages ($1.50 usd). My 4 night stay turned into a single night and I headed back to Granada after our visit. If you are desperate for a bed, fine, but if not, look elsewhere unless of course you are stone deaf with poor personal hygeine and comfortable in a room where you can nearly touch both walls at once with outstretched arms =) Your mileage may vary...

Room Tip: don't get near the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

For $40 you would think there would be water in the bathroom, right? Well, there isn't and they wont give me a discount. I got to use the downstairs shower, which was not a great experience.
By the way, $40 is a TON of money for a hotel in this part of the world!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed 4 nights and was impressed by the comfort of the room. It was well air conditioned, had a comfortable bed and a clean well-maintained shower. As the room was on the second level well away from the street, it was very quiet.The breakfast was basic but included the best coffee I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

As someone who has traveled to other countries and has stayed at five star hotels, Los Balcones has absolutely nothing to envy. The service was outstanding, the hotel very cozy, comfortable and welcoming. I would definately return to stay here.

Ana Tigerino

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Outstanding customer service. Very knowledgeable crew. They can guide you to make your experience an enjoyable one.
Rooms are very clean, AC very cold.
The hotel is located in the center of the city, at walking distance to all the attractions.
Los Balcones made our vacations one will will always remember. Can't wait to come back.
Keep up the GREAT job.

Thank you for everything Luciana.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in a large corner room. The room itself was clean and comfy. The breakfast was basic, fruit, gallo pinto, orange and coffee but all was served with a smile. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Balcones de Chinandega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Balcones de Chinandega

Address: Esquina de los Bancos | 75 vrs al norte, Chinandega 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Chinandega Department > Chinandega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chinandega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Hotel in Town ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Balcones de Chinandega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.