We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short notice visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fawncastle Estate

Fawncastle Estate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fawncastle Estate to your Saves list
Fawncastle Estate
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   34 Mill Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hillcrest B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short notice visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Upon calling and staying on short notice we where impressed with how accommodating the staff where. The manager ensured we where seen to at the best of her ability. Rooms where clean and beds comfortable, the "resident cat" was well kept, clean and too adorable. Making our stay away from home feel like home. The rooms we where given where all clean, organised and well maintained. This hotel is a sure referal to all who want a warm welcome and a relaxing experience. Congratulations for the team for making our stay a great stay.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are quiet and easy to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here recently at short notice. Room had air con but unit was broken so had to try to sleep in a very hot room with a young baby. The room had holes in the wall and very shabby fitings. The room also smelt of cats. The hotel has resident cats that were seen on the furniture and in the kitchen and by the smell of it they also go in the rooms too. The whole hotel smelt of cats & I am sure they were leaving little presents everywhere. The girl who was looking after us was fantastic and seemed to be running the show as best she could with doing cooking and cleaning etc. The manager who we had arranged to speak to arrived and disappeared 5 minutes later without seeing us....fantastic service. There are much better places to stay in the area so my advice is avoid.

Room Tip: If you want to choose a good room pick one in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This place could be great but the service from the manager let it down big style. We were a group of 14 and things started pretty badly. As time went on we realised that it was pretty much being single handedly run by one member of staff who was being used as receptionist, chef and general skivvy. She did extremely well considering the fact that she got chucked out of her own room to make way for the over booking that the manager managed to do. Our driver got chucked out of his room on the first night due to overbooking and was told he had been moved to a guest house down the road. This seemed to not be a one off occurrence as we also saw this happen to someone else another night.
The food was great and we were well accommodated by the chef, but she was clearly over worked and underappreciated. The manager was nowhere to be seen for the rest of our stay and was pretty impossible to get in contact with. I managed to leave my mobile in my room and realised after we had left. The manager claimed he had posted it on as agreed but nothing ever arrived.
If you want a hassle free stay I would choose somewhere else and not give the rude, arrogant manager the business. He obviously has little respect for his staff who are keeping the place going.
Like I said at the beginning, this place could be great as the rooms were well equipped and very comfortable but the manager's attitude left a bad feeling amongst the group which wasn't pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I was very impressed with the rooms and the facilities within them, and especially the air conditioning given that it was rather warm and humid in Durban. The staff were great, especially Richard the chef, fantastic brekkies and dinner. a great place to stay if travelling on business or pleasure

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fawncastle Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawncastle Estate

Address: 34 Mill Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hillcrest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hillcrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fawncastle Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fawncastle Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fawncastle Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.