We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Kidnappers

Cape Kidnappers
New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Well worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I last did the Gannett Safari in the 70's so brought my own kids back for the experience. Really glad I did. We left Clifton at 4.30 on a lovely HB day. The four hour journey there and back was terrific. Great commentary by the tractor driver, fun trailer ride, lovely walk up to the nesting colonies. Just a wonderful experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    36
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Neat Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

There was a gannet viewing tractor to depart but could not make a booking. However the beach was a lovely spot to visit. Has a secluded and peaceful sight to sore eyes.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“DO IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've golfed in many places. Cape Kidnapppers course is certainly very top echelon from a scenery standpoint. For much of the round I was reminded of Pacific Dunes (Bandon Dunes, OR) and came to find out it is same architect. Frankly, I can't say much about the course itself from a layout, difficulty perspective since I opted to play up one tee at the whites, so it shortened it quite a bit. I only played once, so true knowledge limited. Great condition, with obvious landing areas on all holes. Only 1 blind shot that I recall. Get yardage book in pro shop as guide - it has invaluable insight. They have a strain of Bentgrass that is actually a bit grainy, so putting can be challenging if not on top of that. Staff great and, like my title suggests, this is a can't miss place. Do it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Golf doesn't get any better than this...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

When you turn off the main road 15 min driving through a fairy tale landscape gives you a good feeling on what is about to come. The views from the golf course are simply spectacular. I took some 200 photos... The course itslef is very good but the turf was much softer than I expected. Having said that it was in excellent condition

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Tractor tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great fun and very informative about the geology and visit of the area. Really well done
Could have slightly longer for lunch and to walk up to the garnets colony. Otherwise first rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Kidnappers also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Cape Kidnappers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Kidnappers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.