We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, great location, top quality service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Portillo Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Portillo Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de Peclet, 73440 Val Thorens, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment, great location, top quality service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I booked then checked TripAdvisor!!!! I was very concerned by the reviews.
But its all changed.

Pro's
Recently refurbished to a high standard. New owners. Service second to none.
Comfortable beds. Stylish apartment.
Great location, Ski out, Ski in within 20 metres then take the lift. Heated ski locker room no cold boots. Supermarket in the basement, Bread, Ski hire etc within a stones throw.

Con's
Deposit has to be cash not card. Which leaves you with 600 euro at the end of the holiday. They said this was going to change.
Val Thorens can be a bit noise but the Hotel/Apartments is in a quiet bit. Not the hotels fault if some idiot shouts at night outside.
Not enough seating for everyone at night (normal at skiing apartments)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    9
    10
    4
See reviews for
27
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placencia, Belize
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We had a tour group organized by the manager or owner of this hotel, who took their money and never paid the company who supplied the services...nearly US$10,000. Buyers Beware.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

We have been to Le Portillo for 3 years.For the amount of money it now charges Le Portillo is not looking like good value for money. Whilst some of the apartments have been refurbished (long overdue) in the past year some remain very shabby. We had an apartment for 8 that suffered from a substantial drainage leak that flooded the bathroom floor every time you took a shower. We asked on numerous occasions for it to be fixed but to no avail, the management were absolutely not interested (other than giving us a sponge to mop up the flood every day) and refused any reduction in the weeks rent other than perhaps a discount if we book again next year. There are other apartments in Val Thorens that offer better value and better service. Not impressed this year.

  • Liked — Close to ski slopes
  • Disliked — Expensive relative to quality of accomadation
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

Location was fabulous but some of the staff were rude in the face of no provocation. Our particular gripes were:

When checking in not enough cash was available for the tourist tax, we went away and got the 1 Euro required. Upon return, we were instructed to hand over 600 Euros cash as a deposit: why the necessity for cash wasn't made clear when the expedition was made to get the tourist tax money none of us could understand.

When checking out an attempt was made to keep our deposit with a shrug. The money was only given back after we had insisted that they come and see the apartment.

Would love to go to Val Thorens again but not to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No toilet roll on arrival
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

We chose the Portillo because of its location in the resort and we were not dissapointed. You can ski straight out of the residence and the shopping centre which has a supermarket and ski hire shops is just opposite - very handy when you are self catering!
The apartment itself was spacious enough for a week's holiday and was better quality than other apartments we have stayed in in France. We cooked most nights and found that we had everything we needed - except a bottle opener which we got from the guy at reception!
On the nights that we ate out we had some really nice meals and found the restaurants to be better value than other resorts we have been to in France. The best thing was that nowhere was more then a couple of minutes walk from the apartment.
We didn't really sample the bars/nightclubs as we were so exhausted from skiing all day and went to bed quite early.
Overall we had an excellent holiday in Val Thorens and would definitely recommend the residence and the resort.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2007

We have stayed in better accommodation for a lot less expense and in supposedly worse ‘cheap and cheerful’ accommodation that was a lot better. We base our opinion on comparison with quite a few other apartments we have stayed in on holidays to france.

'Ideally placed in the centre' means it is great if you like being kept awake each and every night by rowdy drunks as the Portillo is directly opposite late night bars and nightclubs, bottle banks are right outside and are in constant use even during the night as bars and restaurants clear up. These are also emptied noisily by trucks in the middle of the night and there is a constant flow of delivery vehicles for the nearby shops in the early hours every morning.

It is not exactly Ski to the Door; whilst you could ski out from the locker room down a track to the ski slopes (snow permitting), the Portillo is quite a long uphill walk with skis and in boots from the nearest slopes, using an icy road, steps and a lift, you could not ever ski back.

We stayed in the Residence which is in fact a part of the hotel not seperate. The apartment was the 82m² one, but most of the space was unusable narrow passageways; wasted space which took up more room than the rest of the apartment. We found it was poorly designed, and at times cramped.

It could not be considered beautiful, well appointed or refurbished (this was apartment was their 'superieur' standard - so there are lower standard versions also). Basic carpets and cheap lino, the décor was very grim and lacked alpine or indeed any charm; the walls were all bare artex covered in patched paint, furniture was scratched and worn, equipment poor and there was only one small sofabed in the living room to share for all in the apartment and this was not at all comfortable or large enough for the supposedly 8-10 people this apartment could take. Bedding was poor quality.

There were 2 bathrooms and whilst they were clean and well fitted out, the ‘extra shower’ turned out to be the only proper shower in the apartment – as the hand held shower head in the bath could hardly constitute a shower as there was no wall fixing for it even though there was a screen.

Based on experience of other apartments the kitchen should be described as a kitchenette and not a kitchen it was small, basic and poorly equipped. Accepting it is normal in France, there was no Kettle, leaving us to have to boil water in one of the measly 3 pans supplied, the old coffee maker supplied would only plug into a socket that was directly over the hob and therefore dangerous/impossible to use during mealtimes. The rest of the equipment supplied was basic to say the least.

The balcony is sunny and views are ok over the main slopes - if you are in the higher apartments - otherwise they face the road and other buildings/windows behind the hotel.

Whilst they are decent enough, the restaurants also have restricted opening times and the bar shuts early. The lounge was rarely open and only during the day if it was (when we were out skiing). We were not even allowed to use it whilst waiting for our departure coach late morning. The owner was positively rude to us about this when we asked to. There is a sauna, but it is expensive and then don't expect a smile when you ask them to switch it on for you.

For the most part, the staff were generally pleasant enough,
but they commented that British people are often not happy with these apartments as they have higher expectations than French people (due in the main to the British tour company descriptions). We are also considered to be ‘prudes’. They told us they often have to deal with disappointed British guests.

Whilst this particular (their largest) apartment was not ideal for two families with teenagers/children sharing, this apartment would be great for groups of like minded individuals who spend most of the time on the mountain and then in the bars and clubs and who just need somewhere to sleep and store their ski/board gear.

Be aware you pay a hefty security deposit when you arrive to ensure you clean the apartments thoroughly when you leave and have not damaged anything

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Poor Quality, Poor Value for Money - only good if you get it cheap
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

Val Thorens the resort itself was fantasic - lots of great restaurants (especially recoomend Tex-Mex - incredibly good food with quick service - much more than we had expected), good night life, shopping and of course great snow being the highest resort in Europe.

The hotel is in a great location, with ski to access to the slopes (though these proved difficult to reach for the beginner skiers in our group). Only 1 min walk to the "town centre" with a supermarket in the same complex. One downside of the location is that it can be a little noisy at night.

Stayed in the apartment accomodation for a week with 5 people. As this is 3 star, the facilities were a bit basic but the kitchen was well equipped if you want to cook your own meals. Living area for 5 people was a bit cramped.

Decent self-catering accomodation for the star rating and the price. You can have a perfectly good holiday here but keep in mind its definitely 3 star.

  • Liked — Location to town centre
  • Disliked — No mid-week clean or towel change
  • Tips/Secrets — There is a lift located just near the supermarket for beginners to get easier access to the slopes.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Portillo Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Portillo Hotel & Residence

Address: Place de Peclet, 73440 Val Thorens, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
#4 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Portillo Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE PORTILLO is located in the center of Val Thorens, and welcomes you since 1979. This place is authentic and gets family traditions. Do not hesitate to book for a cocooning journey. LE PORTILLO offers lots of services (WIFI, Sauna, Steam bath...), And has a bar, a lounge and a delicious French restaurant at your disposal. Opened for winter season only, from beginning of November until end of April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Portillo Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Portillo Hotel And Residence
Le Portillo Hotel Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.