We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor treatment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Portillo Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Portillo Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de Peclet, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor treatment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was hiring an apartment with 2 my friends for a week's skiing holiday in February. With our moderate requirements we generally liked the rooms (we bought 35m2 superior suit). We decided to get breakfasts from the hotel as well - the lady-in-charge was very helpful and pleasant, the food though not anyway sophisticated, but rather satisfactory for a morning refresh. Actually we almost didn't use the kitchen; just stored some stuff in the fridge and boiled water for tea.

The bad surprise lied in wait for our leave. The administration guy came down and told us the apartment was dirty and he would charge EUR 50 from our deposit. Taking into account we kept the apartment clean, washed all dishes, and the only place saving some trace of our presence was the bathroom, his claim just proved the general idea that whenever they took a deposit at check-in, they would take your money at check-out. The slippery surfaces in the bathroom can be cleaned in one move, but not when you neither have time nor cleaning sponge and liquids.

Taking into account they stored no cleaning tools in apartment at all, and we even had to buy the dish-washer tabs by ourselves, this is the worst check-out in my experience of staying in apartment. We had our bus leaving in 20 minutes, which gave no time to respond to all the "I've just been there and seen myself" and "You either clean yourself or pay" stuff the guy was telling.

As a conclusion, we did our best to be no-problem guests, we expected reasonable treatment in return, just like we got in all our previous stays. However, they wasted all the positive impression with that paltry grab of our money. Won't recommend the apartment to anyone, as it just seems that even if you keep the bathroom untouched they will still find a reason to charge you over the initial arrangement.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    12
    14
    5
See reviews for
39
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ceredigion
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just returned having stayed on a half board basis, at Hotel Portillo. I cannot over emphasize how helpful the staff were serving consistently excellent cuisine throughout the week. As our flight was delayed, hence, we arrived very late on Saturday evening when the restaurant was closed but they freshly prepared a hot and delicious meal plus dessert for us. We have never experienced this service in 30 years! Breakfast was served downstairs providing a good selection of food - cold buffet. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean providing clean towels daily. Having stayed in Val Thorens on several occasions in the past, we chose to stay at this hotel on this occasion because of its excellent reputation for food and its position and were certainly not disappointed. In fact, our expectations were far surpassed. The ski boot room is very secure and comfortable. Nothing was too much for any member of staff - I was even offered assitance with my ski boots in the morning! Thank you all for a truly wonderful experience/holiday. We are looking forward to our return to Hotel Portillo next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your great comment. It was a pleasure to have clients like you in the hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again as soon as possible. Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LED
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was at this hotel at NY holidays. Some rooms are located on minus floors.They gave me room on -2 floor, between restaurant and ski room. I can't sleep there almost at all, as big noise disturb me every night till 2 - 3 a.m. I have asked about room changes many time and nobody help me.
Be carefully in restaurant. Once they gave me bill for two glass of wine instead of one. Second time i have paid for drinks by cash, but they asked to pay me again during check out.
I have ordered a taxi to Airport and guy at the reception asked 390 EUR, but when i asked his colleague the price was 350 EUR. Finally i paid 350 EUR.
If you have choice try to avoid this place, as they interested only in your money and don't care about the quality of their service and cheat almost everywhere.

Room Tip: Never take room on minus floors - as there impossible to sleep due the noise from Restaurant, recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, I am very pleased to be able to talk with you because when you came, you were not able to communicate in French or in English... By the way, it was difficult for us to understand your complains and be able to solve it.

You were in a room on -2 floor, but we do have 10 floors (5 floors up, ground floor and 4 minus floors), which means you were on 2nd floor from the road. Indeed, the entrance of the building is upper than the road... Moreover, you had a balcony with a South exposition and you were upgrated in a double room whereas you booked a single one. So do not say such things which let us know that you were underground!

Concerning the noise, the restaurant is on ground floor, and the ski locker in at floor -1. We are all very sorry if you had some noises in your room, but it could not be from the restaurant which were 2 floors up (and no complains for rooms at floor -1), and the ski room is supposed to be used only from 8:30am to 5pm.

For the taxi, we called several companies in order to find one available for you, and the prices are not made by us! Morever, you paid directly the driver, so it is very unfair to blame us for money we do not receive... We just let you know about services and prices.

For the restaurant, it is unusal for us that host in Half Broad pay their extras at restaurant. Normally, they sign the bill which is transferred on the total bill for the check out. I am really sorry for the inconvenient, and I hope you understand it was not made on purpose (bill of €3,90).

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as you should, and hope to see you soon to let you understand that services provided to our customers matter for us...

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed in the hotel rather than the apartments, and were very pleasantly surprised after reading the Trip Advisor comments. The room was spacious, maybe a little dated, but comfortable and clean. The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and spoke excellent English. The ski/boot room was absolutely fine, very warm, and taking the key back to reception was only a very minor irritation and not a big problem. However, the best part was the food in the restaurant. We were half board and whilst the menu was limited (two choices for each course each night), this was not a problem as every dish we had was excellent. They even prepared us something else at no extra charge when allergies made both main course choices a problem. Our only disappointment was the lack of breakfast on the morning of departure. We did leave at 4.30am but had been told that something would be available for us, which it wasn't. However, overall we would definitely recommend this hotel in Val Thorens.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Worst place I've ever been for skiing. Skis and boots are strictly forbidden in rooms and on the ground floor. It is ok but... there is no boots heaters so if your boots are wet you have to have to use them wet and cold until the end of your staying. One key for the room and for the ski-locker even for six persons, so you have to go back to the room or to the reception desk in your socks to leave the key. If you try to take your shoes to the room to use the electric dryer staff is shouting at you as you are a kid not a customer.
Additionally:
- No inventory list, bout they threaten you that you will have to pay for lost stuff. How would they know if anything is lost?
- No pricelist for lost/broken stuff... No comment
-If you get front rooms you can not sleep until 2-3 am because of people playing in the clubs/pubs and discos, and you are woken up at 7 because of trucks delivering food to the shops and restaurants.
- WIFI is available only near reception desk for 15 euros per week.
- staff pretend not to speak other languages than French.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leportillo, Gérant at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your post.

Ski equipment is stricly forbidden because it damages too much the apartments (if you prefer to get a dirty and damaged apartment you should indeed go to another place). This rule is easy and must be respected for the well-being of all. Each apartment gets a private ski locker, and WE DO HAVE A SKI SHOES HEATER.

We only provide one key by apartment because the key must stay at the reception desk for security. By the way, the first who come back after the ski day come to the reception to get the key. Quite easy...

Inventories of all our apartments are available at the reception desk. If it was not within the apartment, you should have come to see us and get one. Moreover, normally we ask a damage deposit of 600€ by apartment. You had 2, and we only ask you 1.000€ because of your credit card limit (instead of 1.200€). We were kind and understanding but it was not enough...

Concerning the outdoor noise, unfortunately, we cannot handle this. However, we preserve the quiet of the residence with a night watcher all night long.

WIFI access available only on ground flloor: you have a huge living room for this use, with comfortable sofas, panoramic view on the slopes, Plasma TV to watch sport games...

As you see, I speak English... as all my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I booked then checked TripAdvisor!!!! I was very concerned by the reviews.
But its all changed.

Pro's
Recently refurbished to a high standard. New owners. Service second to none.
Comfortable beds. Stylish apartment.
Great location, Ski out, Ski in within 20 metres then take the lift. Heated ski locker room no cold boots. Supermarket in the basement, Bread, Ski hire etc within a stones throw.

Con's
Deposit has to be cash not card. Which leaves you with 600 euro at the end of the holiday. They said this was going to change.
Val Thorens can be a bit noise but the Hotel/Apartments is in a quiet bit. Not the hotels fault if some idiot shouts at night outside.
Not enough seating for everyone at night (normal at skiing apartments)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We had a tour group organized by the manager or owner of this hotel, who took their money and never paid the company who supplied the services...nearly US$10,000. Buyers Beware.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Portillo Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Portillo Hotel & Residence

Address: Place de Peclet, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Portillo Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE PORTILLO is located in the center of Val Thorens, and welcomes you since 1979. This place is authentic and gets family traditions. Do not hesitate to book for a cocooning journey. LE PORTILLO offers lots of services (WIFI, Sauna, Steam bath...), And has a bar, a lounge and a delicious French restaurant at your disposal. Opened for winter season only, from beginning of November until end of April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Le Portillo Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Portillo Hotel And Residence
Le Portillo Hotel Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.