We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens to your Saves list
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Gebroulaz, 73440 Val Thorens, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Hereford, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel with great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Sherpa in March 2011 for a week, booked through Crystal Finest. Our room was spotless and comfortable and although it was not huge, it was fine for a skiing holiday as we were not often in there. Our bathroom had a bath with shower over and pleasingly very hot water for important post-ski relaxation time! The tv only had Sky News, CNN and Eurosport as English speaking channels, but if you want to watch tv on a skiing/boarding/walking holiday then maybe there is something wrong?! The boot room contained a locker for each hotel room and a door leading to the outside. From here there was a short (10 metres) and slightly steep snow covered slope up to a track leading to a blue run ('Plein Sud'). Both the slope and the track were piste bashed every night. It took a bit of effort to get along this track to the blue run when skiing away from the hotel, but if you are fit enough to ski or board then it is no problem at all. When returning to the hotel you could easily ski from the same blue run, back along the track down the slope and right to the boot room door. From the front of the hotel, you could walk to bars, shops, and restaurants within a minute and the centre of Val Thorens was 5 minutes walk. Sherpa is right at the top of Val Thorens so it is downhill to the centre and uphill back, but again if you are fit enough to ski.... Val Thorens is notorious for its young people and nightlife so it is good to be located away from the centre. We did however hear a bit of drunken singing late at night, so it may be worth asking for a room at the back of the hotel when booking. If you are driving to the hotel yourself, once you have unloaded your bags you have to park in one of the secure town car parks, the closest one being a very short distance away.
There is a very comfortable bar area in the hotel with open fire and comfy chairs and a good selection of beers, spirits, cocktails etc. The best thing about the bar however was the barman Gregory. He was extremely helpful, witty and charming and it was worth sitting at the bar to talk to him. He also devised a special Champagne cocktail for my wife!! Gregory spotted my wife and I in Val Thorens on his day off and helped us find what we were looking for too. This extra-mile service was something we found in all of the staff at the hotel. All of the staff including the cleaners, reception staff and waiters were incredibly welcoming and really made our stay one to remember.
The breakfast consisted of pastries, cheeses, ham, salami, yoghurts, cereals, fruit, and also boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and bacon. There was off course coffee, tea and hot chocolate.
The hotel served lunch from a small but varied menu.
Dinner was usually a five course affair. This started with a soup, then a salad or fish course and then a main course of which there were two choices. There was then a cheese trolley followed by a quite amazing desert buffet. One evening we were served a special mixed meat fondue and another a raclette. You could also swap a main course for a cheese fondue if you pre-ordered. The wine list was mostly French and covered the Savoy region well but also contained a good range of Burgundy, Bordeaux and other regions. We ate out one night at L'Oxalys, a two michelin starred restaurant in Val Thorens (see seperate review - 'Multi-Talented Head Chef - Jean Sulpice').

In summary, the hotel is well located for both skiing and the town itself. The rooms are comfortable and the food is good. The service in the hotel however is really what makes the place and I would thoroughly recommend that you strongly consider staying here if you are planning a visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    63
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
67
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen, België
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Very nice family hotel, great staff. Food is very good.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Having stayed in many ski resorts before, we would rate this Hotel highly and on the list as one of the best we have stayed in. It has a wonderful rustic charm, with a comfortable and welcoming lounge area, with open fire and views over the village & mountains beyond. The staff are all very helpful in all areas from the cleaning staff to the restaurant and reception. Our room was fairly small but we spent very little time in it taking advantage of the comfortable lounge area. Having also got quite a reasonable deal for the Hotel at last minute, we had no complaints at all. The Hotel was busy and appeared quite full - we did ask if there was a larger room available and although advised there wasn't, I feel sure if there had of been one, they would have let us have it, such was their accommodating manner.
The Hotels Hamam (jacuzzi, steam room etc) is small but has the desired effect after a hard day on slopes. We have never experienced such a 'Hot' jacuzzi in any other country we have skied, it was heaven.
The Hotel is located at the top of the village with excellent ski-in facilities and after only a few steps at the rear of the property you join a path where you can ski out & down to the centre meeting and village lift area.
The village itself has lots of different shops and restaurants. There is a superb sports centre with facilities for table tennis, swimming pool, childrens play area etc.
We would definately return to this Hotel again.
The only thing this Hotel didn't have compared to others we have used was a swimming pool, but we nonetheless enjoyed our stay immensly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We spent the least weekend at The Sherpa in Val Thorens, the rooms are ok but very small. The hotels small jacuzzi were packed with peolpe so we didn't have the chance to use it. The sauna was dirty and not a place I would like to spend my time after a day in the slopes.
We booked a halfboard stay, which we very much regret, the food and the service was absolutely very much under average. The waiter was so stressed that we never finished one course before he put next one in fron of us. If you plan a stay at this hotel, have your dinner at at a better place in the village.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

A group of 10 - 15 of us have been using this hotel as our base for skiing for the last 15 years. Proof that it is adequate for our purposes. The standard of food, comfort, friendliness of staff and the fact that it is possible to ski out and ski in off the mountain all adds to the enjoyment of the holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely break at the Hotel Sherpa. It was a really welcoming place, a real mountain retreat. The food was excellent and the only trouble it was so tempting with a range of courses that it made your clothes shrink. It also had a real French feel (cheese course before pudding and real traditional Savoyard delicacies. The staff were very smiley and they made you feel at home.

It was a good location for skiing. Val Thorens is a good resort but can feel harder to get back to than the Meribel Mottaret for example in the Three Valleys. The only minus point I would say about the holiday is the ever escalating price of skiing and eating in the area. One day we spent ten Euros on a bowl of soup on the mountain (it wasn't even very nice). When we bought two sandwiches, two cokes and a bag of crisps to eat on the mountainside for eighteen Euros we thought we'd got a good deal.

With an expensive ski pass, and spending about thirty-forty euros (near enough forty pounds) a day on lunch on the mountain we think next year we'll knock the Three Valleys on the head. We can't be the only ones thinking like this about the area. It may have some of the best skiiing in the world but it comes at a price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I've staied in 4 hotels inVal Thorens but this one was great! very homy, for couples, quiet, greatservise, books on the shelves, shemine, local paintings, the locationis very good,spa facilities, good restaurant, the best choice for a holiday in Val Thorens! i reccommend it with all my hart!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens

Address: Rue du Gebroulaz, 73440 Val Thorens, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sherpa is a charming 3* hotel with the traditional Savoyard ambiance of a snug, quaint hotel. Cozy lounges and dining room with open fire. Fine local cooking. Communicating rooms, family rooms, suites. Health and beauty center. Sauna, hammam, turkish bath. Ski back to the terrasse. Located in Val-Thorens, the highest ski resort in Europe (snow guarantee program), also part of the 3 valleys, largest interconnected ski area in the world. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.