We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Amazing Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Val Thorens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Val Thorens to your Saves list
Mercure Val Thorens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de la Lombarde, 73440 Val Thorens, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Sevenoaks, Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and Amazing Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have just got back from 5 days @ Mercure Val Thorens, We drove down from London arriving Monday evening, Location is fantastic, Ski-in Ski-out. Snow was great for this time of year (April 14th).

Rooms were very spacious and comfortable,

Breakfast - wide choice breakfast buffet ranging from pancakes, bacon, cereals and croissants (which were delicious!)

Dinner was a mixture of buffet and table service, never went hungry each dinner started with a heart soup, then a decent size salad, Mains were delicious and the dessert was a buffet with a huge selection of desserts and a good cheese board.

The bar in the evenings was very quiet often just us in there for a few after dinner drinks, very cozy though and there was a lovely fire on cold nights.

The terrace was great and had amazing views, we were lucky with the weather so the terrace was great for some après tanning!

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a double room, however my dad and sister asked for a twin room which turned out to be a doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther_Guerin, Responsable réception at Mercure Val Thorens, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Good afternoon, we do thank you for you comment and are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us in Mercure Val Thorens. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    60
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
61
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked two rooms for 5 nights Monday to Saturday morning departure, both rooms came with a double bed and a double sofa bed so plenty of room for a mixed group of people. The room was all good, the hotel we booked with half board which worked well with the buffet breakfast and a great evening meal which most nights included a soup and salad followed by a good buffet main course and desserts, staff were all very helpful . The hotel is located right next to the slopes with good ski room and ski rental shop together with ski in and out facility great few days would use again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther_Guerin, Responsable réception at Mercure Val Thorens, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Good afternoon,
We thank you for taking time to give your opinion concerning your stay in Mercure Val Thorens.
Our team aims to do the best to make your stay a pleasant one. We hope to host you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mercure for a week at the end of Match. The rooms are comfortable (we had a queen bed and a fold-out couch, for our child). Breakfast and dinner were included and were hearty and delicious )the highlight being the rachlette night). The staff were all very helpful and attentive. Hotel is ideally located (ski-in and out). Pierre in the ski rental store next door is also very helpful. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther_Guerin, Responsable réception at Mercure Val Thorens, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour, nous vous remercions pour votre retour. Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour ait été à la hauteur de vos attentes. Au plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau parmi nous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed here for skiing. Spacious rooms (for 2 people) overlooking the slopes. Ski-in-out. Ski shop is on the hotel deck. 5 minutes from town center. It's one of the few places I could find that allows you to book by day, and does not require 7 day reservations during ski season.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther_Guerin, Responsable réception at Mercure Val Thorens, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,
Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire ainsi que pour votre fidélité. A bientôt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have stayed in VT for the last 7 years and this is the best hotel in the area for the price we paid. Where do I start from when we entered the Hotel the staff were so friendly, everywhere! The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the location fantastic - right on the slopes! The food was lovely mixture of buffet and table service.

Big tip - you can order fondu and other speciality dishes for the same price as the normal half board - just tell them the night before!

The rating is wrong for this hotel - for the money it is the best hotel in the area!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther_Guerin, Responsable réception at Mercure Val Thorens, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,
Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et votre enthousiasme.
Nous serons ravi de vous retrouver la saison prochaine.
A bientôt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed for a week in December. We were looking for a comfortable Hotel, ski-in / ski-out, and that's exactly what we got.
The Hotel in right next to the slopes. It is a comfortable 3 star Hotel with surprinsingly large rooms for French standards. The restaurant serves a buffet twice a week and on the other nights we had "a la carte" service. Though the food is very good, the service in the restaurant is very very slow. Good breakfast, a nice bar with fireplace and a game room.
the lockers are very tight and there is a small rental shop right next to the exit to the slopes which is very convenient.
All in all we were very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther_Guerin, Responsable réception at Mercure Val Thorens, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,
Merci pour votre retour, nous prenons bonne note de vos commentaires.
Nous sommes ravi d'avoir pu vous apporter le confort et la satisfaction que vous recherchiez pour vos vacances à val Thorens.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau.
A bientôt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A key benefit of this hotel is if you want to stay other than Saturday to Saturday - the Mercure takes bookings by the day (like a normal hotel). We wanted to come for a part week, after a fair bit of searching we found no-one else in VT (even the other hotels) which didn't insist on booking for a whole week.
The hotel is well located with real ski-out, ski-in. It's just above where all the pistes combine, so ski-out quickly gets you to pretty much any of the lifts, for ski-in basically accessible via runs from two lifts (or there is a free drag up to get you home from the other pistes). It's also handy for the town centre - a less than two minute walk to a lift that takes you right to the centre.
The bedrooms are extremely spacious by French Alps resort standards - with lots of storage space and even a sofa (and each room has a locking cupboard in the boot room with more than enough space). Bed though is I think only 4'6". Other shortcomings were no coffee/tea making facilities or minibar/fridge (and the windowsill was too narrow to use to keep things cool) - and the internet access. The hotel is meant to have free Wifi, we found only about 1 in 5 times when we wanted to use it we were able to connect, and once connected would last seconds or minutes (or very occasionally more than an hour) before disconnecting - and then the same lottery whether you could get back in. When connected speed was usually not bad but variable. If you need internet access come prepared with an alternative (mobile phone network signal was good in our room).
Our bedroom, and the hotel public areas, were well maintained and nicely decorated. The bar was very pleasant - pleasant staff, and comfortable, quiet and not too crowded (other than the Friday with loud live music - we steered well clear that night).
Restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. However the dinner menu had limited choice, with no choices for starter and only two choices for main course each day, which can be a problem. Quality of food was generally good, though we were there for New Year's Eve and on that night the food was definitely not good. The breakfast buffet was variable - some days fine, some days crockery of cutlery seemed to be running out, or some not so clean.
The hotel car park is expensive - if you are staying a week, cost is three times the price of the VT public covered car park (we parked there, the nearest one is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel).
Overall, good location, building and staff, and the benefit of allowing part weeks - we'd stay there again if in VT other than Saturday to Saturday, though would aim for bed and breakfast rather than half board - and decide to eat in or out each night depening on the menu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther_Guerin, Responsable réception at Mercure Val Thorens, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello,

All the staff thanks’ you for your positive return.

Hope to see you next season

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Val Thorens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Val Thorens

Address: Place de la Lombarde, 73440 Val Thorens, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Val Thorens 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Val Thorens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Val-Thorens
Val-Thorens Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Val Thorens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.