We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel with amazing food & great apres ski!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Tango to your Saves list
Hotel Tango
Rue de la Bouche, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France (Formerly Hotel Corotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel with amazing food & great apres ski!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were skiing in January and stayed in Hotel Tango. Our previous ski trips had been mainly staying in chalets with a large group of friends, but with only 4 people on this occasion, we thought the hotel experience may be better. We had stayed in a hotel in la plagne the year before which we enjoyed, but hotel tango exceeded our expectations. It is a cool, trendy hotel, mainly catering for the scandinavian crowd. It has a bar which is popular with the apres ski crowd. The food was delicious - although a set menu each night, alterations could be made if you had any dislikes or food allergies. The standard of food was of high quality, almost like a top notch restaurant! Portion sizes were slightly smaller than average but if you added in the dessert (not included in the price) you were pretty full by the end of the meal. My only criticism of the hotel was the 'free for all' storage of boots and skis. There isnt enough room for each resident to have a space for boots/skis on the designated racks/boot warmers. One annoyance was people putting their shoes on the boot warmers during the day on the slopes to 'claim' their space - but then again, some people can be very selfish! Overall this is a minor criticism & would not prevent me from booking this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here on a recent end of season ski trip mainly based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and have to say i must have missed something.

I agree that the location is pretty good but it is not ski in / ski out. A lumpy bumpy narrow path that runs under the bar balcony is a far cry from ski in and out!! that said its only about a 50 metre walk to a path which leads to a piste.!!

The food for staying half board is breakfast and evening meal. Breakfast time is a buffet affair which is adequate and varied enough to fuel up on. The evening meal is done in 2 sittings 6.30pm or 8.30pm. This is done because the hotel is unable to sit & feed all guests in one sitting or varied sittings. Not because they don't have the room but because the hotel spends a lot of time and effort on attracting outside custom into the lounge, bar and restaurant.

The food is of a good standard and includes 2 courses of a main & starter. Deserts are an optional payable extra and are well worth it.

The Ski room is not quite big enough for everyone when the hotel is full but that said its so warm in there you don't really need a boot dryer/warmer.

The Hotel is run by Langley a Swedish Company, as such the hotel is occupied by Swedish and British guests. All the staff are Swedish and a special mention for 2012-13 goes to the hardworking and genuinely friendly 'Hilda' on reception.

The hotel and rooms are modern and quirky, clean and well appointed for a ski hotel (fridge, hairdryer etc). They have balconies and good views.

The main sticking point with this hotel concerns the Bar/Lounge and the way some of the Staff treat the hotel and are permitted to use the hotel by the management. My wife and I are clearly getting old fashioned .....but when we pay to stay as a guests in Hotel on an expensive ski holiday in one of the best ski areas in the world we expect a certain level of service. AND WE DEFINITELY would like to be able to relax in the bar and lounge whenever we choose to. The problem is, that is very difficult to do.

Service at the bar is OK until about 3pm after that you have to compete with 'seasonaires', staff and their mates for a seat and service. The majority of the male staff walk around sullen and pouting chatting to their mates whilst some female staff only acknowledge your presence when they absolutely have to and then with a fake stick on smile. (Not the waitresses in the restaurant they are great).
If you're very lucky on a sunny afternoon you may get on the balcony, only to flee back into the bar to get away from the effect of inhaling the clouds of cannabis being smoked out there (unless of course thats your bag then you get a freebie). We were not the only guests that felt this way others we spoke with stated they felt as though they were in the way of the staff and their mates enjoyment.

The last issue we encountered is how guests/tourists are treated in regards to the costs in the bar. Our first night involved sitting at the bar and having some drinks. It became very apparent that there are 3 bar tariffs. An example of this is the price of a beer, the advertised price is 5.90, however there are 2 other rates which aren't advertised, the seasonaires rates of 4.90 (or 2.50 depending on who served them) and staff rates of 2.50. When we jokingly asked if we could have some 2.50 beers we were told they were staff rates.

I don't begrudge staff perks but its very annoying when the staff then purchase their mates drinks at those rates and then some random french guy that they may go snowboarding with...... whilst taking up guests seats!!!!

In short this hotel needs to sort out what it wants to be.... does it want to be a quirky modern chilled out hotel that would attract repeat guests or does it want to be seen as the place all the resort staff hang out in getting stoned and drunk on cheap booze whilst their guests subsidise their drinking.

Would we return? No...... not unless they realise its a Hotel for Guests first and foremost......Shame could be really good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Get all ideas of a regular skiing hotel out of your head and you won't go far wrong! It's geared up for the younger market but these 50 somethings enjoyed it! We were there the last week of the season - the hotel was shutting for the season so a few things on the buffet breakfast did run out and wasn't replaced at the end of the week. There are 2 meal sittings - 6.30 or 8.30 and you need to book in the morning - the 8.30 is more popular and you will probably share a table with a different couple/party every night. Don't know why Crystal can't negotiate a contract that includes pudding - evening meal is a set 2 course and you pay if you want puddings. If the meal isn't your thing an alternative is always available. Meals were of an excellent standard although not huge portions - we made use of the local supermarket and the fridge in the room and had nibbles and drinks before dinner!
The Swedish staff alll very friendly and happy to help with any questions.The lounge,bar and restaurant are all in one area so can get noisy especially as it is a popular apre ski hangout so if you are looking for a romantic evening meal, not the best!! Entertainment most evenings was good.
No leisure facilities as such but I think I saw adverts for massage in the hotel. Good ski and boot room but you need to put your boots on in reception - no seats in the boot room.
The rooms are basic with a modern twist - you don't get a stags head in every ski hotel room! No safe and careful to remove the loo paper before you shower in the wet room - the water gets everywhere! Ask for a high floor with a valley view and you won't go far wrong. Rooms very clean but single beds narrow but comfy.
Position wise if you are a good skier then there is a narrow track straight from the hotel but it gets icy and is a single track - we preferred to walk the 100 metres down the road to the piste. You finish skiing opposite the hotel and cross the road - look for the Hotel Sherpa and keep left at every junction down the piste when coming down from the Folice Douce on the plein sud run.
As we had a late deal at this hotel we were well pleased - for the proper price I still think better value lies elsewhere but for a April holiday we have no complaints. thanks Tango for a different ski hotel experience!

Room Tip: High floor with a valley view then you might get the afternoon sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

While I agree with almost everything in the many positive reviews that have preceded this one, I think it may help if I take a slightly different perspective. It struck me strongly that there was something very different about the hotel that could not be explained in terms of the normal standards by which they are judged. That is because it is not like any other hotel I have ever stayed in. It is neither a full service de luxe hotel nor is it an engagingly amateurish family affair. Langley seem to have taken some aspects of both while reinventing the resort hotel for today's clientele. The staff (nearly all Swedish) are young multi-taskers with a can-do attitude. Reception may not be staffed but who cares if the barmaid (a few metres away) can deal with the query? The rooms have no phones but who does not have a mobile these days? There are compromises - I would prefer a bath after ski-ing and more solid bathroom fittings but the wet rooms will please many guests while keeping cleaning costs down. I would prefer a staffed ski-valet service but in even some of the best hotels they do not dry your boots -so I was very happy to leave them on the Tango's dryers overnight. Again staff costs are reduced while giving a 'luxury' end result. The excellent dinners are possible because you have little choice of menu or eating time and portion sizes are no bigger than they need be. But above and beyond such cold calculations the place has a great vibe. I am not sure what the trick is there. The hotel clientele is overwhelmingly composed of Swedish and English package tourists, many (like me) older than the target 'market' for the ironic/ post modern/ funky decor. In fact you would hardly know you were in France were it not for the younger French apres-ski crowd who have made the bar their own. Anyway, it all adds up to another excellent 'mark'.

Room Tip: Room 106 is facing the street at street level, despite being on the first floor. It has a balcony wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this sweet hotel in March this year and had a great time.... rooms were quite small but functional as you spend more time in the bar and infront of the log fire... beautiful veiw from the bar balcony as well..... its run by a lot of swedish hotties so that a bonus.
Food was very good if not massive portions and the half price cocktail hour took a few casualties during the week.
We got stiched up a bit by being put downstairs in the staff quaters basically so had no balcony but it did'nt detract from our trip... we were in room 007 so beware if your room starts with 00 then your in the basement....
All in all we had a great time as it was pretty central.. close to all the good bars and cafes and i think we would definatley stay here again but i might fight for a balcony next time.

Room Tip: The higher the better for a good veiw of the valley...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Tango in early January, and chose it for the funky decor in the brochure - it seemed so different from everything else available. The staff could not do enough for us, particularly Maud. The massages were excellent, and the food delicious. Yes, I can see why some reviews say the portions were small, but the quality and variety made up for it. We requested a top floor room given previous reviews and it paid off - the views were fabulous, and there was very little noise transferred from the great atmosphere in the bar if we wanted to get an early night.
The only downside was that we couldn't always get our boots on the racks in the drying room, so I think they might want to make some more space?
Val Thorens was a great place to stay and ski/board. We are slightly different levels, and the area catered for each of needs/wants perfectly. We didn't wait long to get on any lifts and the snow was fabulous.
We are not normally people to revisit places as there is so much of the world to explore, but in this instance, we are looking forward to booking our stay at Tango next season for some more fun!

Room Tip: Request a high floor (4th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Although we did not stay here... we would have liked t. It was a great bar to visit, good live bands, great atmosphere, food & cocktails.

Also had a back massage here which was fantastic !

Would like to book here for next season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tango

Address: Rue de la Bouche, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France (Formerly Hotel Corotel)
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Val Thorens
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.