We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Fitz Roy - Val Thorens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel FitzRoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel FitzRoy to your Saves list
Hotel FitzRoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de L'eglise, 73440 Val Thorens, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Fitz Roy - Val Thorens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in an excellent location in the middle of the village with easy access to the slopes. It has recently been refurbished to a high standard (including a small indoor pool).

Service personnel are well meaning, but are not experienced enough and are insufficiently directed by Management. This has led to material delays in getting dinner. The quality and price of the wines are not correlated at all. Don't choose half-board as this means a set-menu (with no choice).

While we enjoyed our week (mid-Dec 2014), the Fitz Roy has yet to earn its 5 Stars (4 Stars in 2013).

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    11
    8
    0
See reviews for
14
26
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the best way to enjoy the hills with 5* service all through the day. Rooms are modern with all creature comforts and all rooms have magnificent views of the slopes. There is a pool sauna and steam room to soothe the aches from a day on the ski slopes. Located off the pub street. It is not too far if one decides to spend the night out but quiet rooms is perfect for a good nights rest. Will return next season.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I have just rebook my ski break at the Hotel Fitroy in Val Thorens and can’t wait! Great location in the heart of the resort, nice atmosphere, fab spa/swimming-pool and excellent food perfect hotel to stay and enjoy all three resorts. Staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila_micci, Directeur général at Hotel FitzRoy, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your previous stay and that you will be visiting us again.
Your compliments about the Spa, Restaurant and Team are a big motivatior for us.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Fitz Roy again.

Kind regards,

Manila Micci
Hotel Manager
Fitz Roy
Val Thorens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

back to the Fitzroy newly refurnished over the summer and most of the issues remain, and one or two new ones have arisen. This hotel probably had the best ski in ski out location in Val Thorens and arguably still has and it is a big plus for a resort where most accommodation is ski in ski out. There are many groups like kids or learners for whom this hotel is perfect BUT the new ski in Ski out arrangement up some very steep steps which run out half way to the snow makes the process quite honestly treacherous and there were a number of guests who simply could not make it and ended up leaving skis and boots at the entrance to the bar - a good idea if you just cannot do the new steps.
Otherwise, the restaurant tries very hard but walk over to the restaurants across the piste for better food and much better service. Breakfast is good enough and wifi is free so that helps. Some benefits include allowing an extra person into a two bed room so if you are with kids it helps a lot. Reception was noticeably frosty for some reason this year. It was always a really endearing quality in the place and perhaps that is a cultural issue or limited to one or two people - another hotel to return to despite the issues. they are not so bad that you would choose anywhere down the hill. it is in a perfect spot and that counts for a lot.

Room Tip: try and get a room overlooking the piste so you get some late evening sun especially in the April (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane V, Directeur général at Hotel FitzRoy, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello,

We appreciate the time you took to post your review on tripadvisor.
Our teams work in the permanent concern to maintain the level of service that you expect. This is a real disappointment to know that you could not enjoy the quality of our services.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience and assure you that we take into account your remarks to improve.
We'd love to see you soon so you can judge yourself of our efforts and consideration given to your comments.
I encourage you to contact me by email to discuss: stephane.vidoni @ hotelsdenhaut.com or by telephone +33 (0) 479 000 478, to organize your next ski trip in Val Thorens.
Best regards,

Stéphane VIDONI
General Manager - Les Hôtels d'En Haut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We arrived around 11pm with no booking and they have arranged everything for us; the staff is really carinng for the service it can bring; a real nice feeling of well being.
The hotel is cosy, the breakfast great and location is top. Room are fine (we did not get into the suite standard but the standard available one) but we really loved it there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane V, Directeur général at Hotel FitzRoy, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions du temps que vous avez pris à poster votre avis sur tripadvisor.
Nous avons été ravi de vous accueillir à l’hôtel Fitz Roy*****Val Thorens.

Votre témoignage récompense le travail permanent de nos équipes visant à maintenir le niveau de prestation que vous êtes en droit d'attendre.
C'est donc un réel plaisir de savoir que vous ayez pu apprécier pleinement nos services.

Nous serons très heureux de vous retrouver pour un prochain séjour dans l'un des établissements du Groupe Les Hôtels d’En Haut, à savoir les Hôtels Le Val Thorens**** et Fitz Roy***** à Val Thorens et l’Hôtel des Trois Vallées**** à Courchevel.
Je vous encourage à me contacter par email afin de préparer votre prochain séjour dans le Domaine des Trois Vallées : stephane.vidoni@hotelsdenhaut.com ou de me contacter lors de votre prochain passage à Val Thorens.

Toute mon équipe se joint à moi pour vous transmettre son amical souvenir.

Cordialement
Stéphane VIDONI - Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Room was a little noisy but got moved after a couple of nights to a quieter room but central location and very friendly staff made up for this.

Pool was more of a very large hot tub and not somewhere you could swim lengths but after a days skiing that was all that was needed.

True ski in ski out and hire shop in hotel very helpful although range of skis not impressive if you are looking for some high end skis.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane V, Directeur général at Hotel FitzRoy, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello,

We appreciate the time you took to post your review on tripadvisor.
We were delighted to welcome you to the hotel Fitz Roy ***** Val Thorens.

Your positive comment reward the ongoing work of our teams to maintain the level of service that you expect. It is a pleasure to know that you could fully appreciate our services.

We look forward to seeing you for another stay in one of our property of “Les Hôtels d’En Haut”, namely Hotels Le Val Thorens **** and Fitz Roy***** in Val Thorens and Hotel des Trois Vallees**** in Courchevel.
My staff joins me to send you his friendly remembrance.

Best,

Stéphane VIDONI – General Manager – Les Hôtels d’En Haut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We arrived at the Hotel quite late and were greeted and checked in very efficiently. I did request a quiet room prior to arrival. Inside the Hotel was very quiet I must say but the noise levels outside were very bad. People partying on the slopes til early hours so if facing the slopes then take earplugs. The Hotel itself is very nice. Quite intimate and very rustic in style. Considering you are at a ski resort I was quite surprised how small the lift was. Our room was quite large and very nicely decorated but simple things that you would expect from a 5 star hotel weren't there, such as tea/coffee making facilities in the room, an iron and it was lacking hooks to hang your ski coats on at the door. We had a bottle of water put into our room on arrival but it was never replaced which also was very disappointing. Beds were extremely comfortable and bathroom was spacious with a bath and a great shower. Toilet was separate to the bathroom. Most of the staff were very helpful, including Ingrid who was lovely but there were a few who weren't very warming. We found the lady in the spa very rude and unhelpful. Also when we were given our key to the boot room our locker had no heating. Some lockers had heating and some didn't. You would expect all lockers to be heated at a 5 star hotel. To be fair though, when we complained Ingrid was very quick to sort it out and they even moved our stuff for us. As far a ski in ski out it sort of is but you have to climb firstly steep metal steps to get up to the slope and then climb quite a slippery area to actually get to the slope itself which wasn't easy. The FitzRoy is a very nice Hotel with a lovely spa and a great outside area for watching the World go by but I think it lacks warmth and friendliness from the staff (not all of them by the way) and certain things you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Would I book again? Probably not!

Room Tip: Avoid the slope side if you want to sleep with the window open as it is so noisy. You won't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane V, Directeur général at Hotel FitzRoy, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello,

We appreciate the time you took to post your review on tripadvisor.
We were delighted to welcome you to the hotel Fitz Roy ***** Val Thorens.

Your positive comment reward the ongoing work of our teams to maintain the level of service that you expect. It is a pleasure to know that you could fully appreciate our services.

We look forward to seeing you for another stay in one of our property of “Les Hôtels d’En Haut”, namely Hotels Le Val Thorens **** and Fitz Roy***** in Val Thorens and Hotel des Trois Vallees**** in Courchevel.
My staff joins me to send you his friendly remembrance.

Best,

Stéphane VIDONI – General Manager – Les Hôtels d’En Haut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel FitzRoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel FitzRoy

Address: Place de L'eglise, 73440 Val Thorens, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
#4 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
#6 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel FitzRoy 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le plus haut d’Europe !Situé à 2300m d’altitude, l’hôtel offre une vue panoramique sur les sommets qui l’entourent, véritable hôtel ski aux pieds, il est face au front de neige. Décoré dans un style savoyard classique, il dispose de 56 chambres équipées de télévisons satellites, écran plat, lecteur DVD, coffre fort, un restaurant de cuisine gastronomique française dirigé par Nadège Serret (1 macaron au guide Michelin), une piscine avec sauna, hammam, salle de fitness, et salons de massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel FitzRoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Fitzroy Val Thorens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel FitzRoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.