We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altapura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Altapura to your Saves list
Altapura
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ilkley
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the Altapura for a week Easter skiing. The location on the mountain side is ideal, ski in and out. The staff are so helpful and pleasant and can't do enough for you. We ate alternate evenings in the Restaurant Les Enfants Terrible which was out of this world!! We could choose from the a la carte menu up to the value of 61 euros on food, for this we were having fillet steak and scallops which were to die for finished off with the most delicious desserts imaginable. We never expected to get this standard of food on a half board basis booked ski holiday.
The spa is another wonderful experience not to be missed indoor/outdoor pool with gym sauna and steam room, huge bean bags to relax and read on.
The lovely contempory design of the hotel feels modern but very homely warm and comfortable.
If you love great skiing in the lap of luxury this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    34
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
73
91
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed in the Altapura hotel for a week ski holliday, It was our first time in Val Thores and we could not have asked for a better place. Everything was perfect the location, staff, food and room. The hotel spa is excelent and the swimming pool wonderful after a day's skiing.
We are definitely comming back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were used to go to Les Fermes de Marie and this time we have decided to try the new Sibuet resort, We stayed there 5 days in April to celebrate my birthday with a couple of friends. And we have been amazed to see how the hotel staff was so profesionnal and helpful .. just a few months after ihe hotel opens. We were staying in a lovely duplex (living room downstairs and room upstairs). They called us "the highest palace" and yes it is ! Of Course at Val Thorens you dgo there to sky - as the village is not as nice than Megeve- but the sky domaine is so huge that I have decided to take some ski lessons (as the others were ski addicts). thanks to Enzo, my instructor I really enjoyed my lessons. If you like luxury and style, that's your place with no doubt

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I just returned from 5 fantastic days at this truly excellent hotel. Modern, stylish but relaxed, the staff and service were excellent in every department and could not have been more helpful or friendly. Food in all the restaurants was first class and prices very good. The half board option is to be highly recommended. The spa is heavenly, the indoor/outdoor pool is a really great day to end a hard day on the slopes. All the facilities in the spa were excellent and the therapists very professional and skilled. Our duplex suite was spacious, and very very comfortable. The ski shop staff were knowledgeable and incredibly helpful - even servicing our skis overnight at a very small cost. Pistes are not that well signposted but there are 150km of them - so plenty of choice and guaranteed snow, of course.

Room Tip: Duplex suites are very spacious for a couple with two bathrooms and vies over the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

After arriving in the evening at the hotel where no one was at reception to welcome us, we got into our room. Room is nice, but cold. the receptionist indicates to us that the room temperature are controlled by the reception. it is -2 outside, 18 degree celcius in the room. We ask her to set the room to 22 and went to dinner.
It is now 22H24, we are back from dinner, it is -5 outside and 18.7 celcius in the room.
I am going to clam out night back, we can't undress, can't sleep and i will write to the tourism authority tomorrow.
NEVER AGAIN

Room Tip: I have never been so upset, you can't sleep in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdesannicolas, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We acknowledge receipt of your comment on Trip Advisor. Following to your discussion with our rooms division manager on your day of arrival, it is true that we had a technical problem with the temperature.

Our Reception Team offered you to accommodate you in another room, but you refused and decide to stay in that room. There was no objective reason for us to compensate you, as you refused to be allocated in another room, but we've made a 50% deduction on your first night room rate as the temperature went higher in the next couple of hours.

We hope the you'll enjoy the rest of your stay, and hope to welcome you again at Altapura.

I will be happy to upgrade you next time to one of our suites.

Best regards,

Stuart de SAN NICOLAS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We came on the half board rate with a special of ski pass inclusive for 7 nights. Check in was seamless (and we did arrive early - before midday and were checked straight in). Staff were professional and catered to any queries with deft. The hotel is what I would consider designer ski lodge style. Modern and stylish but comfortable and well considered. Breakfasts were abundant in choice with good quality ingredients. In the evenings we ate in the brasserie and as we were on the half board option which allows a generous 61 Euros per person for either lunch or dinner (food only) this enabled us to eat very well - the most beautiful of oysters, quality cuts of meat cooked to perfection in a convivial environment. On the one night it was closed we ate Fondue. A first for us. Rich but worth the calories for one night. I must point out that Alexa the waiter overseeing us that night did an outstanding job of introducing us to the Fondue and representing the Altapura brand. He really was exemplary in every way - as were a few of the other staff members. The location of Altapura is unsurpassed. Ski in ski out. Ski shop in-house. We requested a change of room mid way though to get a different view and were given a great room. There were a few minor issues with turndown, the explanation of half board, a couple of other minor issues which I mentioned whilst completing the online survey. The reply to which was prompt and personal by management. It was evident issues are swiftly dealt with. This is a new hotel which opened early December 2011. Considering the high standards we met it is apparent that this is a well managed hotel and will only get better next season. A complete pleasure to stay at and one we hope to repeat. Oh one final comment - very very comfortable beds!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We have just returned from 5 days skiing in Val Thorens and a had a perfect stay at the Atapura Hotel. Nice suites with balcony. Friendly staff and we felt very welcomed. Good bar and restaurants incl the breakfast

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altapura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altapura

Address: Route du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
#1 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#2 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altapura 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altapura, a hotel in Val Thorens, the highest resort in Europe in the heart of the 3 Valleys, the largest ski area in the world, delights all those who love the great outdoors, winter sports and a fine style of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Altapura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altapura Hotel Val Thorens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altapura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.