We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Folie Douce - La Fruitiere

La Folie Douce - La Fruitiere
Rue de la Boucle, 73440 Val Thorens, France
+33 4 79 00 04 27
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 54 Restaurants in Val Thorens
Price range: $25 - $93
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: La Folie Douce est un concept "Fooding-Clubbing" : un lieu, deux ambiances. Il y a d'abord la brasserie gastronomique La Fruitiere dont l'univers lie tradition et modernite, puis des 14h le bar et son immense terrasse a toit ouvert ou interviennent les fameux PARTYMAKERS qui ont fait la renommee de La Folie Douce de Val Thorens.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nothing special about the food.
Extremely rude staff. They don't really care about anything and it seems like you are just bothering them.
Wanted to use the bathroom: had to pay 30cents! Went to the bar to confirm and they told me it was "house policy" which I did not found normal at all considering we ate there - a quick google search shows that it is actually illegal to do so http://www.sdf75.fr/p2-12-1-cafe.html#toilettes
Maybe good for champagne parties but definitely not worth a stop otherwise - and make sure you have change as they "don't have any" if you attempt going to the toilets!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    10
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This place is unreal!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

After a days skiing drop yourself off the ski lift that stops right behind this place. Get yourself to the bar and get ready for some hard house orchestrated by a quality DJ, then wait for the free champagne to be sprayed from the balcony.

If I had to explain this bar in the French Alps in one word I'd say............UNREAL!!!!!!

Must visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dancing on the Tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Forget the food,
If you looking for some Apres Ski on the slopes this is THE place
Arrive here at 3.30pm after a good day on the slopes,
Grab a beer an I defy anyone not to move at least one part of their body to the beat
Saxophonist - amazing, Singer- Crazy
Get on the tables and dance (they allow it)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Toilets”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been here 3 times and love it, normally in the vip area spending a lot of money but the toilets...... After my small change running out and really needing a visit the took 10 euros off me, bumping into my friend downstairs I got 1 euro, 70c more than needed to be paid and asked for my 10 euros in exchanged (fair enough) I was squared up to but all the staff in the area giving attitude and told no, it was their tip, they work hard?!? Yeah right, saw them outside most of the time dancing!! Sort this out folie douce, the toilet/staff are letting you down, meribel doesn't have this problem!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“nice aprés ski”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice, but rather expensive aprés ski.
You have to pay to use the toilets, which is a disgrace.
Very good music and singer to finish the day....but bring your money with you.
Did not use the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Folie Douce - La Fruitiere also viewed

 

Been to La Folie Douce - La Fruitiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Folie Douce - La Fruitiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.