We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love Jam!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Les Melezes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Les Melezes
Save
You added Chalet Hotel Les Melezes to your Saves list
73220 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“I Love Jam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A friend arranged this entire trip, and didn't he choose well. The hotel was warm, cosy and home from home. I am very sad to have left. Not an emotion I accustom with a hotel, but this one earned it immediately.
The lounge area is full of comfortable seating, a gentle buzz of friendliness pervades the public areas, and that has an awful lot to do with the staff. Always willing to help and advise on anything from cocktail type to weather conditions. A very considerate team with a whole lot of curly hair!
Thank you to all the staff who looked after and befriended us. We felt part of the family and are already missing Les Melezes.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and functional; no frills.
The food was good, the cakes were good and the all day tea and coffee good.
A few minutes walk and ski to the nearest bubble.
A free bus runs to Tigne Le Lac every 30mins and takes about 10mins.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    30
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have just returned from spending a week staying at Chalet Hotel Les Melezes and skiing in Tignes. As my first skiing experience, I can honestly say it rocked! The hotel staff are so warm and friendly and really can't do enough to help you.

The food was plentiful and the wine flowed freely (all included in the catered price). Breakfasts consisted of a help yourself buffet of pastries, fresh fruit, ham, cheese and bread, plus a hot option as well which was freshly cooked to order. We never went out in the morning feeling hungry thats for sure!

Most of the staff are British so are very helpful in giving directions or recommending local attractions etc. The hotel itself is comfortable, not a luxury option by any stretch of the imagination but it is very well priced for what you get. There is a sitting room, a bar, a tv room with satellite tv for guests to use freely. There is free wifi too so you can upload those important photos du jour onto Facebook each evening!

Then of course there is Jam. Jam is the Chalet dog belonging to Ellie and is the most adorable little spaniel, very chilled and well behaved. There is a sauna and hot tub for guests to use too which many members of our group utilised each evening. The rooms are adequate, with either a double bed and single, bunk beds, or single beds catering for varying group sizes. The only down side really was the fact that noise travels quite well so we could hear our next door neighbours talking into the wee small hours which can be a bit of a pain. The hotel is situated in Tignes Les Boisses, so very peaceful and quiet. There are no noisy bars in the tiny hamlet, but there are regular free busses travelling to Tignes Le Lac, and Val Claret for more of a social scene. The nearest ski lift is about 75 metres from the hotel and takes you down into Le Breviere where you can pick up other lifts to some of the larger piste runs. Both towns have plenty of shops to satisfy that shopping urge too, with Val Claret having a younger vibe with lots of fit kids gathering and loud music.

At the end of our trip I sustained an injury which meant a trip to the local hospital, but one of the guys from the hotel staff happily drove out in the mini bus to collect us and take us back to the hotel, plus they helped us out with emailing and copying documents for our travel insurance company. they really couldn't have done more to help us out. I really would recommend taking our Cartes Neige insurance with your ski passes, as they provide most necessary cover to pay to be taken off the mountain in the case of an accident. (It cost us over 500 Euros and they took our skis as a surety until we paid).

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Only recently come back from a short trip and loved every second of it. While is the hotel itself is adequate it has everything need including hot tub, sauna and of course a bar.The staff at Hotel Melezes really make this trip worthwhile. Almost always British they are really helpful, friendly and are eager to help. I had a friend that got ill on the trip and Greg, one of the managers, really went all out to make sure we were given all availble options and kept those of us on the mountain informed of the latest developments giving us piece of mind that things were under control.

Only a few minutes walk from a lift at Les Boisses and a 15 min bus ride to Tignes Le Lac. Good fun for all ages, families and solo skiers. I can't recommend this place enough for it's one-stop shop service, value for money and great skiing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you are looking for a great value hotel in a ski resort this is it. Staff very exceptional and the wine bill was very reasonable but the choice was limited. Food was very edible and filling. The rooms are clean and adequate. Not by any means luxurious but very functionable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Much improved, after refurbishment since our last visit. Staff really helpful, ski rental on site, servicing of our on equipment very reasonable prices. Ie waxing own skis only 15 euros, Bus to the slopes right outside.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Just recently returned from a short break in Tignes. 1Dec 2013- 4 Dec 2013
Had a great 3 days skiing with great weather beautiful sunshine.
The mountains were beautiful so many runs and empty slopes, no queues and fantastic chair lifts system. also able to ski down to Val d'Isere

hotel staff were great and were very helpful
food is very average and could be improved.
We have stayed here 3 times now and love going back.
Hope to return next year.
Thanks to all the staff at the Hotel Les Melezes. and for Jamie our minibus pickup driver for putting up with our racket.
wishing them all a happy xmas and a great winter season

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not long came back from chalet melevez and despite not being able to ski for the first 2 days due to bad weather we had an amazing time. Ellie the manager is such a lovely warm welcoming person and credit to all the staff so who all so lovely. Would definitely stay here again and should hopefully be back in January. Jam the dog is a little cutie too xx

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Hotel Les Melezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Les Melezes

Address: 73220 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel Les Melezes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.