We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent snow experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Save Saved
You added Club Med Tignes Val Claret to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Tignes Val Claret
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   73320 Tignes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 hotels in Tignes
Goiania, GO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excelent snow experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

A very well located hotel. Ski in and out very easilly. All inclusive with the best of gastronomy and honest acooholic drinks. People are very polite and attentious. Rooms large neat and very confortable. Location close to villages big enough for a good shopping leisure. The weather was not very good but fair enough. Very pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    75
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
124
31
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya, Israel
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed at the Club-Med Tignes Val-Claret in a skiing holiday for a week in January , 2014.
The hotel is being rated with 4 tridents by Club - Med.
The hotel is in the town of Val Claret at the altitude of 2100 meters, it is the highest town in Tignes . The hotel location is excellent, right on the ski slopes, allowing ski-in & ski -out. The ski room location is not so convenient; it is located on the ground floor and requires to climb up the stairs to get out of to the ski runs and declining down the stairs back to the ski room.
The hotel has various types of rooms which are suitable for couples and families with children. I stayed in an upgraded deluxe room with a view of the ski resort and the ski runs .The rooms include Kettle and Coffee making facilities, TV , Safe , Hairdryer , Iron, refrigerator and separate shower and toilet .
The hotel was renovated a few years ago and this is evident in the appearance of the rooms, lobby, dining room and all other public areas. The hotel design is quite simple and combines modern design with local rural properties.
The level of the hotel maintenance is very good and also the level of cleanliness in the rooms and public areas.
My accommodation was "all inclusive" I had breakfast lunch and dinner . In addition the drinks at the bar and at the meals were free of charge , except for special wines and luxury alcohol . At the lobby there is also a coffee and tea self service area which is also available to guests free of charge .
Every afternoon , after a day of skiing ,refreshments were served in the lobby for the guests.
At all meals there were varied dishes, plentiful at an average level .
There is also a spa area with sauna Turkish Bath, pool. Massages are available with additional charge.

In summary, this is a good quality hotel with a cozy atmosphere , which is suitable for individuals , couples and families who seek comfort and abundance even if it is at the expense of quality, which is average compared to hotels at a similar level and are not part of the Club - Med chain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great ski resort, nice slopes, ski-in and ski-out right from the ski room. This was our third visit to this Club Med in the last 15 years. But unfortunately it will also be the last at this hotel. And although it may seem (from my review) this is a no-go hotel, we did have a great holiday. But, with all due respect, this is not a four star/trident hotel. Not anymore. Either Club Med should adjust their (own) rating and prices, or they should go for a total makeover and go back to the drawing board, instead of just putting a new layer of paint over an old building.
THE ROOM: new paint, new curtains but nevertheless an old room; reading lights dangling from the wall, tiny bathroom with broken tiles; thin mattresses which don't really yield good sleeping comfort.
RESTAURANT: typical Club-Med buffet style kitchen; usual issue of lukewarm food (except for soups and pasta sauces which are hot). complimentary red, white or rosé wine barely drinkable; it's quite obvious they skimp on the wine, and since they are well aware of it, they also offer a (growing) wine list at premium prices; actually most wines are 50+ euros. Good wines, but way overpriced nonetheless.
SKIROOM: tiny lockers with digital locks that crash every other day (Club med GO's have an emergency code to open your locker upon request though). Skiroom is way too small to host a few hundred ski-hungry people during rush hour.
WELLNESS: sauna only fits 2 people lying or 4-6 people sitting (cramped). Also 4-6 people in the hammam is a maximum. As you can imagine, after skiing a lotta people flock to the welness, only to discover there is a big line to enter the micro-welness center. Also, Club Med, four one-person changing rooms for the whole welness is, as one might have guessed, not enough to accommodate the large number of after-ski-relaxation seekers.
WIFI: yes, it's V-E-R-R-R-Y slow, and the good thing is: you only pay 20€ per week; what a steal ;-).

Bottom line: great ski resort, and very few complaints of the hotel if only they would down-rate (and price) it to 3 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We expected a better service, especially at the front desk. Our room was very small, only 1 closet door, the comum area were good but pool was not hot, 28 degrees, we went one time only . At checkout Club Med made ​​confusion with our romm number and charged us incorrectly, took few minutes and they resolved this issue.

I paid everything at checkout and now, due to confusion of the room number, there is a INCORRECT charge of 158 euros on my credit card. They replied my email saying that this charge was due to a change of room, which we DIDN´T DO. It has been 3 days since my first I still have the charge in my credit card and no final reply from Club Med.

Besides my problem, 6 of our friends had the same problem with their rooms: the HEAT was not working!!! They complained many times at the front desk and only in the last day the problem was resolved. Note that 1 couple could not resolve the issue until the end of the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Having been to a couple Club Med's before we had a good idea as to what this resort would offer. Everything lived up to our expectations, rooms are great and the food as always is beyond believe.

We had ski lessons with Valentine who was brilliant, great understanding of what we wanted out of the lessons whilst making them as fun as possible!!

A special mention to Roxy from Club Med, her friendly nature and smiling face was always welcoming us when we were in the hotel. We shared many meals together which were always a good laugh, she is a real asset to Club Med.

See you soon Club Med!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a party of 8 that went for Christmas week, hotel was lovely but its the staff that really make it, really lovely, helpful and fun. nothing too much trouble.I broke my arm on the first day and they were really concerned and extra helpful. ski-ing was apparently great- but even if you couldn't ski then the spa's worth a visit. food is amazing!!! definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent our Christmas vacation in this hotel and everything was perfect.
Club med team was great, full of energy, Nathalie is concerned about all little details to make your stay a special moment.
Food was really good, above the standard I use to get in Club med those past years.
Rooms are large and well equipped ...out of the bad TV system and the poor quality of the mattress.
Mini club was great, our kids enjoyed every moment there.
Will come back next year!

Room Tip: try to get a room on higher level to avoid the late noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Tignes Val Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Tignes Val Claret

Address: 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tignes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
#10 Family Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Tignes Val Claret 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village of Tignes Val Claret, nestled at an altitude of 2127 meters in the heart of an immaculate paradise, looks out over the magnificent surrounding massifs : Grande Motte, Grande Casse, Mont-Blanc and Grande-Sassière. Devoted to skiing in winter and summer alike, it is one of the legendary resorts for all snow sports fanatics. The Village lets you explore its slalom, mogul runs and snow parks. After a day's intense skiing relax with a sauna, Turkish bath, stretching and Club Med Spa* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Tignes Val Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Tignes Val Claret Hotel Tignes
Tignes Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Tignes Val Claret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.